We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, location, and amenities!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dann Carlton Barranquilla
Ranked #19 of 59 Hotels in Barranquilla
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I have been to the Hotel Dann Carlton in Barranquilla numerous times and always feel at home. Its a safe, smart, and great choice in Barranquilla.

From the second you arrive the bell boys (botones) are very friendly and attentive. They are always willing to go out of their way to arrange a trip to local destinations or just give you advice on where to find something in Barranquilla. The girls in reception are very nice and helpful at getting you acquainted with the hotel and its amenities.

On one trip one of my fellow travelers hurt themselves at a local bar and the staff was immediately offering to help with a doctor, medicine, extra pillows and ice. We ended up needing the help and it was a relief to have people there willing to help, even if it was not there job.

There are plenty of associates that speak great English and can help those whose Spanish is lacking. The reception can also arrange for a translator to travel with you if needed.

The Dann is across the street from the very popular Buenavista shopping mall, which has a movie theater, dining options, supermarket, and tons of stores. It is located in the good side of town that is safe to walk around at all times, and is minutes away from the closest beaches.

I just saw some new pictures online of the hotel and it looks like they have remodeled their guestrooms, lobby, business center, and gym. It has a modern and clean look, while still showing off the bright tropical colors that are synonymous with Colombia.

Finally, I really enjoy a good meal and a few drinks at the top of the hotel in the revolving restaurant(El Giratorio). Nothing like watching the sunset over the Caribbean high above the city.

Room Tip: There are several room options from basic king bedrooms to suites. Ask to see one or two different o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oceantravelFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 266 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

Nice option but nothing special. Brekfast poor in fruits and low calorie options. Pricey for what it offers. Nice swimming pool, sauna ok and a usable gym. Internet service was usable and free.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenatoFuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

A/C did not work properly in room 1005. Finally realized for A/C to work thermostat had to be set on "heat". Beds were super firm almost board like. No face cloths in bathroom. Had to have broken security latch on door fixed.
Comes with free breakfast bar that was mediocre at best.
Nice mall right across the street but this adds to noise from buses and taxis. Better food for the price in the Food Court of the mall verses the hotel, recommend the "Buffalo Grill" there.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the backside away from the highway for even less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msmintn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

I recently returned from a 3 night stay at the Dann Carlton. I was impressed by the room size and the amenities (new flatscreen tv, marble bathroom, in-room safe). The staff was nice enough, and I was impressed at how quickly they came to the room when we had questions / issues (our lights and air conditioner were problematic). On the downside, the room thermostat was impossibly complex, and the hotel gym was in very poor condition. For people interested in a good workout, I recommend the gym across the street in the mall. Finally, the kingsize bed was really firm, similar to sleeping on a platform bed. Overall I'd rate it as 4 stars, good but simply not 5 star caliber.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waterski1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Very nice lobby with fantastic staff at check-in. Rooms are very spacious and clean, beds are a little too firm. Great breakfast, and again the staff was wonderful. Right across the street from a huge mall. Restaurant on top floor was very nice, but quite pricey. I'd definably stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 294SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days a couple years ago at Xmas time it was 55.00 a night
we thought it was the best deal I am very blowin away with prices there now wow. its nice but for 221.00 are they nuts dec 2006

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnut100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We stayed one week in Barranquilla June 2010 (me and three other friends). This was my first stay at this hotel, however, I have stayed at a another hotel (hotel Winstor) in Barranquilla on a other trip I made. Comparing, I think this hotel was much better and the location is good. There is a mall right a cross the road, and the view from the room (we stayed at the 11th floor) was actually quite good. The pool area was nice.

I do think that this is the best choice if you are to choose hotel in Barranquilla. Not to expensive either.

We had to pay extra for the internet, and that was a little bit strange...

Lastly, Barranquilla is not the city you want to visit if you dont have to. It was pretty much no other thing to see than the hotel :-) Go to Santa Marta or Cartagena.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristinSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barranquilla hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
#2 of 59 in Barranquilla
452 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
#5 of 59 in Barranquilla
534 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Collection Barranquilla Smartsuites Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla
Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla
#15 of 59 in Barranquilla
295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#28 of 59 in Barranquilla
88 reviews
2.1 mi away
El Prado Hotel
El Prado Hotel
#20 of 59 in Barranquilla
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dann Carlton Barranquilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dann Carlton Barranquilla

Address: Carrera 52b - 10, Barranquilla 080005, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Atlantico Department > Barranquilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Barranquilla
#6 Luxury Hotel in Barranquilla
#6 Business Hotel in Barranquilla
Price Range: $57 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dann Carlton Barranquilla 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dann Carlton Barranquilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dann Carlton Barranquilla Hotel Barranquilla
Hotel Dann Barranquilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing