We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“colombia memory”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Prado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Prado Hotel
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Barranquilla
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“colombia memory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

excelent hotel, a little bit small rooms but amazing swimming pool, tropical weather... i have been there for 4 days.it was a dream to swimming in the pool between palm trees and exotic flowers. the building is a colonial style hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowlife891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PradoHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Prado Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments about our OASIS PRADO (pool, sundeck, palm trees, flowers), a unique place within the city. We are pleased to see that your stay was a pleasant for 4 days. This space is designed to live the experience, the best service and tranquility of being in a high class category hotel.

We hope continue being your home on a future visit to Barranquilla,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    53
    43
    29
    12
See reviews for
41
50
16
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

The biggest complaint about this hotel is that the rooms could use updating and that is a fair complaint. If this is a concern, ask to see another room until you are satisfied (we did). But, putting that aside, this is an amazing classic hotel in the heart of Barranquilla. In style it is reminiscent to the Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables Florida. This hotel takes up an entire city block and as another reviewer wrote, it is “an oasis” in the midst of Barranquilla. The breakfast was everything you would hope for, white linen service, fresh fruit, eggs made to order, incredible selection of breads. You feel like you have somehow gone back in time to the 1930s. And the pool and courtyard area is spectacular. I love this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JorgeH1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PradoHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Prado Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your comments about our PRADO OASIS, is a pleasure to see your satisfaction. Now we are in a renovation process with all of rooms, so we hope to have them updated for your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barranquilla, Colombia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

I have been here before and I love coming back! This place is a sea of calm in the madness that is Barranquilla.

Although some people would say the rooms need modernising, I kind of dissagree. I love the black and white tiled floors, old woodern furniture, big doors and high ceilings.
Maybe installing a plasma TV would change most peoples attitude to the 'old fashioned' rooms.

I had a problem with my AC, notified reception and within 15mins it was fixed and the room ready again - this kind of service is rare in other places.

I have tried other hotels in Barranquilla, as I am regular visitor, but I have never found anything to match the price, facilities, and service of this place.

I will always have the Prado as my number one, the pool, sauna, and breakfast are unbeatable. I am just waiting for the flatscreens to be installed and then I'll have nothing to moan about!


Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Center O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PradoHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Prado Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest

It is a pleasure reading your comments. The Hotel El Prado is known for keeping the history of the 20's, an oasis of tranquility within the city and excellent service.

Right now we are in a process of modernization, maintaining its characteristics of classic traditional furniture and decoration.

We hope to have as a guest again and always keep offering you the best of our team.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

which would rate 4 stars. The people working here were smiling and helpful, the pool area is relaxing and lovely.
Rooms rate only two stars. This hotel must have been grand once, but the rooms are quite run down. The AC unit was loud and the furniture and bed coverings extremely dated. The bathroom in our room had been remodeled (our friends room's bathroom had not) and was nice, except for the shower head which looked ancient and shot out water in one strong stream like a riot hose. I did not want to spend any time in the room as it was dark and dingy, so free time was spent out by the pool. El Prado is relatively cheap; if it is close to where you need to go, it's fine for a short stay, but sadly, the poor rooms almost cancel out its charms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inside as rooms on the street side are a lot noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PradoHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Prado Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments. We work every day to give our guest our best service.

The hotel was a Grand Luxury hotel, during a long time was not renovated, in this 2014 we are working to make this happens, changing bathrooms, furniture and spaces. Besides the decoration is been renovated (as you said you room has renovated bathroom). We have 193 rooms so is a hard task, but we are putting all of our effort to have all rooms renovated as soon as possible. We are very proud for our OASIS PRADO, the place arround the external pool (gardens, pool and solarium).

We invite you to come soon and see by yourself all those changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

the hotel is a very nice old place has a great pool but...
the roomes are poorly decorted airconditioning is very noisy and service is not very good when we stayed there we asked for a diffeent room because of noise and they asked os to pay an adtional, actually we changed the hotel..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msteingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PradoHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Prado Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. As we can see your stay was last year at July. You are right, during 2013 we start to make a renovation. We change our decoration, change air conditioning and improve our service.

In 2014 strategy is focused to be the best and traditional hotel in the city. We invite you come back and see by yourself all those changes.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barranquilla hotels

Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I were married here just a few days ago. The hotel is a gem and although some rooms are in need of modernization, some rooms are quite nice. The building itself is the perfect backdrop for a wedding. The catering was exquisite. Chef Efren is top notch and prepared awsome ceviche along with beef tenderloin. smoked salmon and sea bass for our reception. Room service is prompt and food quality is high. The property has been state owned and operated for quite a number of years since it was seized from narco traficantes many years ago. This is why it is not as up to date as it should be. Stay tuned as the property is scheduled to be handed over to a Hotelier in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a renovated bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy_bbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PradoHotel, Gerente at El Prado Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Is a pleasure for us to read your lines.

Every day we work to offer the best of our service. Our hotel right now is living new airs of modern and facing all challenges to be the best hotel in Barranquilla.

We hope to have you again to live by yourself the excellence and new age of Prado Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Back in the 70's this was the it hotel! Fast forward to 2000. Looked like it was in mourning! My husband and i went there for a belated honey moon. Only to find there werent any guests that we could see at all! Our room was clean and everything in order but oh, it needed something new to bring it back to life! I agree with the other reviewers that yes it needs renovation.
When we got back, we later found out that the owners of the place were held up for drugs! A lot went down in that hotel! If only its walls could dish out! A lot history.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barranquilla hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
#2 of 58 in Barranquilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla
1.3 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#25 of 58 in Barranquilla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Barranquilla Plaza
Hotel Barranquilla Plaza
#16 of 58 in Barranquilla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
#4 of 58 in Barranquilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.8 mi away
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#3 of 58 in Barranquilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Prado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Prado Hotel

Property: El Prado Hotel
Address: Carrera 54 No. 70-10 | Barrio el Prado, Barranquilla 51846, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Atlantico Department > Barranquilla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Barranquilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Prado Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Prado Hotel is located in the Barrio El Prado, the emblematic area elevated to Heritage, is also the financial heart of business, shopping and nightlife in the city of Barranquilla. The Prado was built in the 20s, with neoclassical architecture spacious Republican , in the face of natural light, tropical gardens and terraces . It was declared a World Heritage cultural sites and national monument , considered one of the most romantic hotels in Colombia .With over 80 years of history around every corner, arch , balcony, floor chess style in its hallways , common areas, and high ceilings, an atmosphere of classic glamor , Caribbean atmosphere and joy of the region itself is lived. Whether your trip is for business or pleasure, each of its 98 private, cozy and spacious rooms are designed for comfort, tranquility and functionality, evoking the splendor of a golden tradition. Many of them have restored delicate marble bathrooms, decor and classic furniture. During your stay, you will enjoy first-class facilities, restaurants serving typical Colombian food and international, widely recognized for its warmth, service excellence and its gastronomic menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Prado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Prado Barranquilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing