We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla
Ranked #6 of 59 Hotels in Barranquilla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

this hotel is a nice hotel, I stayed here 2 times, first was on a tour had a great room (suite with 2 balancies), big bathroom. second time had a smaller room but it was good too. would stay here again, but I have relatives that live there so I can stay with them, I stayed in November the second time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1,872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJo-Versalles, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

In behalf of our Howard Johnson family I'd like to thank you for the time spent writing your comments, it's highly appreciated that you've enjoyed your stay in our property.

We hope to have the pleasure to service you once again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 321 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

Very nice Hotel and wonderful helpful staff. Had a great room for $110 with a big King size suite. Seperate living room off of the bedroom with a big screen TV. Very Very clean and a big bathroom. The lobby and restaurant were very nice. Good food for the money in the Resturant with a very good staff. The staff at the desk were very very helpful as were the door man and the bellboys. NIce outdoor pool upstairs. The city is not much to look at. The street are bad and the place is pretty dirty certainly compared to Medellin which is great. I took a 1 hour ride around town just to see it. Was 20,000 Pesos ( About $12 US ). Everyone seems very nice. More of a industriail town and not a tourist town.

Room Tip: I had the King Suite and paid US $110 including tax a night. Very quiet. Great room ( 308 ) except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horses3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

If you are shopping for a decent hotel with a spa sauna and a swimming pool and a huge size room at a budget price this is the place for you. The breakfeast buffet is very good with local cuisine offerings and fresh tropical fruit unique to the area. Colombian coffee and an AREPA (corn griddle cakes) can really fill you up for an active day about town. The best time to travel to Barranquilla is in February when the local CARNIVAL is in full swing. I was really impressed by the spacious room size for the price. Normally such a room would cost twice as much almost anywhere else. But this is Colombia and you can extend your vacation stay by finding a good bargain and have money left over to do other things like go shopping or eating out at fancy restaurants it go SALSA DANCING! The staff was most courteous and helpful and even the taxi drivers were very nice to me, even returning me back to the hotel to pick up my suit that I inadvertently left in the room closet when the bell hop checked my room and radioed the taxi after I left. I was never in any danger of being robbed and they went out if their way to insure my security of my person and personal belongings. But that is not to say that something bad can't happen to you! As in any big city there are dangers but if you are reasonably cautious and have a guide that you pay to take care of you while about town, you will be just fine. Usually you can ask the front desk clerk for a recommended guide or just ask a taxi driver to show you about all the local attractions in town. Speaking Spanish is a must though but there are hand held translator computers available that can prove usefull if you do not speak Spanish. Don't forget to pack sunblock as the tropical sun will give you a nice tan or sunburn if you are unprotected. Have fun and enjoy your stay and try some of the seafood dinner plates at the hotel, fish with a nice glass of white wine and bread always goes well together. I especially recommended the ALMOHABANAS soft cheese bread puffs and the PAN DE BONO bread rings with your morning cup of Colombian coffee. Try new things and experiment a little, you simply don't know what you are missing until you try something new that you have never experienced before, and you may just love it! This is Shakira's hometown and you might just get a chance to see her in person while in Barranquilla, Colombia!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Premanandaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I just spent three nights on two separate stays last week, because I couldn't find any other hotels (literally) due to the two games the Colombian Football (Soccer) team was playing in Barranquilla, for the World Cup Qualifying. There were more than 15,000 fans from all over the country in town, so I could find a room in the places I usually stay in.

I almost never have such neutral experiences, but I have to say the first two nights were in the older part of the hotel, which has older rooms and less convenient setting. I'd say it's more or less a 2-star experience, but being fair, just good enough. When I came back for the 3rd night, I had already spoken to the manager to give me a better room (bigger bed and room), which she kindly did. This one was a lot better, near the pool and a lot more modern and neater. Nevertheless, I had to walk a bit more from the elevator and up one floor to ghet to this newer part of the hotel. It was better, but to be honest, if you can pay a little more, I'd advise you to stay at the other better reputed hotels.

PROS:
- Friendly Staff
- Good Breakfast and food options

CONS:
- Location
- Restaurant service (waiters)
- 2-star setting for the price of a 3-star

Room Tip: Choose the 802,803, etc, located on the 3rd floor... sounds weird but that's what it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColombiaJuanSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

1st room a disaster,made me think I was in a oversize closet,terrible bed,one hard mattress on wooden slats,bathroom, size of a postage stamp..didn't even have a glass to drink out of..no chair in the room,changed to better room following day for additional price..There are better hotels in Barranquilla for the same price..I would have changed hotels the second day if I had not prepaid in full... On the plus side, staff very friendly..

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lear555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

I stayed in the Howard Johnson Versalles in Barranquilla, Colombia. Unfortunately, it was one of the worst hotel experiences I have had. Many things in the room did not work, there was a large amount of noise EVERY Morning after 6 am, and I even found a large syringe in the gym! Every time I would complain, they would promise to fix the problem, but it would either take hours, or never happen. I think for $85 per night, I could expect a quiet night's sleep, and maybe coffee in the room every day.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raleighman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank N1332SMsebastianr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barranquilla hotels
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Barranquilla Smartsuites Royal
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
#3 of 59 in Barranquilla
456 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#31 of 59 in Barranquilla
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
#5 of 59 in Barranquilla
538 reviews
2.6 mi away
GHL Collection Hotel Barranquilla
0.3 mi away
El Prado Hotel
El Prado Hotel
#20 of 59 in Barranquilla
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla

Address: Carrera 48 70 188, Barranquilla 083001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Atlantico Department > Barranquilla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 59 Hotels in Barranquilla
Price Range: $48 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing