We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in Barranquilla
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel has big rooms, clean and new. Food offered in the restaurant is good. However location it is not the best, even it is kind of central. Walking at nights does not make sense because it is nothing near by walking distance.

People at hotel is friendly. Big windows at room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from construction area in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan_Alejandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

In behalf of Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla receive a warm greeting.

We are thankful for your comments regarding our services.

Our hotel is located in prestigious location of the city that guarantees our guests total tranquility during their stay. Anyhow the reference mall in Barranquilla called Buenavista is only five minutes away from the Sonesta Hotel where you can find a several kinds of fine stores and restaurants. Also you can find pricesmart, homecenter, and we are close to the road to Cartagena.

We hope to have your pleasent visit again shortly.

Sincerely,
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 295 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Another business town hotel targeted at the business traveller. Modern, clean, effecient and well designed.
Rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable. Staff need to be better trained. Took nearly an hour to checkin.
The overall facilities are good as is the hotel generally.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griffin257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

In behalf of Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla receive a warm greeting.

We want to offer our most sincere apologies and thanks to your observation we are now taking all the measures needed so this won`t happen again.

We appreciate the time that you have devoted to express your comments, and we`re certain that you will feel the difference in your future stays.

Sincerely,
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Though my business travel took me through rough-looking neighborhoods and poverty was self-evident, the hotel was clean, spacious, and felt secure. The lobby/reception area was open and gave the impression of grand space. The room was a bit different: ceramic tile floors instead of carpet, clean, white decor instead of the usual muted earth tones. The dining room was large and well appointed, the wait staff a bit over attentive. Breakfast was both English style and Continental. Nice pool for lap swimming-just a bit short.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

In behalf of Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla receive a warm greeting.

We are thankful for your comments regarding our services, its proof that we are working in pro of our guests.

Best regards,

Quality Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Sonesta Hotel in Barranquilla in February 2013... I am happy to say that we had a very nice stay. Everything was very good. The only thing I can think of that needs improvement is the service. It took forever to check in for some unknown reason. I already had reservations, so not sure what was the problem. It took awhile for us to get checked in the hotel. The staff was friendly and very quiet overall. The room walls are thin, so prepare to hear your neighbor next door. Overall, nice hotel..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hot-n-Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

In behalf of Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla receive a warm greeting.

We are thankful for the comments of our hotel and we hope your stay was a pleasent one.

We want to offer you our most sincere apologies and we will follow your recommendation to guarantee an exceptional service.

We hope to have your pleasent visit again shortly.

Sincerely,
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We spent 3 days at this nice hotel in a nice area in Barranquilla. The rooms were your typical 3-4 star hotel room. The bathroom was spacious with a great shower! The hotel is connected to a mall with a few shops and a salon. The overall service/hotel staff was perfection. Overall, a really pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Good Morning,

In behalf of Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla receive a warm greeting.

We are thankful for your comments regarding our services and we hope to have your pleasent visit again.

Sincerely,
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

hotel is nice and well located. rooms are very comfortable and food is ok. a great choice for business travellers, not so good for families or singles. Next to a small strip with a club in the top. I would come back here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Good afternoon,

In behalf of Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla receive a warm greeting.

We are thankful for your comments regarding our services. Our hotel is located in prestigious location of the city that guarantees our guests total tranquility during their stay.

We hope to have your pleasent visit again shortly.

Sincerely,
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This us a solid business hotel, not a luxury hotel.

Service is first rate. Food is good. Strong air conditioner. Clean room.

The internet was a little slow. The hotel is located in a nice area of town, but is relatively isolated from restaurants and stores. The Dann is in a better location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walNorthAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Good afternoon,

In behalf of Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla receive a warm greeting.

Our hotel is located in prestigious location of the city that guarantees our guests total tranquility during their stay. Anyhow the reference mall in Barranquilla called Buenavista is only five minutes away from the Sonesta Hotel where you can find a several kinds of fine stores and restaurants.

We hope to have your pleasent visit again shortly.

Sincerely,
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barranquilla hotels
0.0 mi away
GHL Collection Hotel Barranquilla
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
#2 of 59 in Barranquilla
453 reviews
1.8 mi away
NH Collection Barranquilla Smartsuites Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
#5 of 59 in Barranquilla
534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dann Carlton Barranquilla
Dann Carlton Barranquilla
#19 of 59 in Barranquilla
266 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Four Points By Sheraton Barranquilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla

Address: Calle 106 # 50-11 | Villa Santos, Barranquilla 080001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Atlantico Department > Barranquilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in Barranquilla
Price Range: $57 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Barranquilla is a modern hotel with tasteful accommodations. Facilities include a spa and gym while the rooftop pool and Turkish bath offers panoramic views of the Magdalena River. Rooms at the Sonesta Hotel are spacious, with French windows allowing plenty of natural light. All are equipped with an LCD and cable TV, free Wi-Fi and minibar. Guests at the Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla can enjoy sushi at the lobby bar, or dine at the hotel's restaurant. A daily breakfast buffet with fresh fruits, juices and pastries is available. The hotel offers a convenient location next to the Gran Boulevard; the city's largest shopping center. It is also situated only 9 miles from Ernesto Cortissoz International Airport. Free private parking is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing