We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Hotel For Business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Barranquilla
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really Nice Hotel For Business”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The hotel is located in an upper middle class neighborhood and felt safe to walk outside. Rooms are spacious, baths large with walk in showers (no tubs), fast WiFi and good AC. They have a small roof top pool area that was busy at night. There is a breakfast area that served meats, cheeses, breaks and a limited menu of cooked foods. The TV only had one english speaking channel (CNN). The hotel was adjacent to a small mall area that has restaurants, shops and a discotheque that were filled with friendly locals every night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel33624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Good Morning,

In behalf of Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla receive a warm greeting.

We are very thankful for all your nice comments, although let us tell you that we have a cable tv installed in all of our rooms and there are a variaty of english speaking channels such as FOX, Sony, Warner Brothers, CNN, Discovery Channel, Home and Health, and others.

Perhaps the channels were in commercials when you turned to them, and those are in spanish presenting a bit of a confusion.

We hope to have you with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    109
    40
    12
    6
See reviews for
54
62
13
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile


This is one of my favorite hotels!  I stayed here 3 times last year during a few of my business trips to Barranquilla ---one of those occasions was for a month.  Rooms are spacious and very clean. Great bathrooms, also very clean and modern. 

The staff is extremely pleasant.  Every member greeted me by name every morning and every evening as I walked past them. I can't say enough about the staff!!! Friendly, courteous, all smiles! 

The complimentary breakfast is amazing! What a spread! Eggs, cereals, oatmeals, buñuelos, arepas, empanadas, bollo, all the typical foods of the area. Loved, loved it!

Rooftop pool is very small, but it was never packed.  They also have a nice rooftop sitting area in the other side of the pool.  It has tables, chairs, umbrellas, and a fantastic view of Barranquilla. 

I would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed June 2011
Helpful?
Thank 4ssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Good afternoon,

In behalf of Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla receive a warm greeting.

We are thankful for your comments regarding our services. Our major purpose is to work with dedication and commitment to guarantee an exceptional service for our guest.

We hope to have your visit again.

Sincerely,
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I was very excited about my stay at this "wonderful" hotel. They were very friendly with the reservation and very accomodating as I had an early international arrival (8am). Upon arrival my room was ready and I was very happy about the hotel choice. The location is excellent and close to many things in Barranquilla. Front desk people, bellman, housekeepers, etc were very nice and friendly. Quite dissapointing was the service by the pool, the reception lady at the pool was all the time on the phone more likely having a personal conversation, I guess thats why she didnt offer us towels, menus, etc. I ordered a few things from the menu, took my order and came back 20 minutes later to tell me that they didnt have what I was ordering, or the order will come incomplete. I think I made them feel bad so they send me an amenity to my room but that didnt content me anyway. I was expecting Sonesta Miami service in Barranquilla but I guess I was wrong. Way to go Sonesta!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTsobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Good Morning,

In behalf of Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla receive a warm greeting.

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We want to offer you our most sincere apologies for the pool service. We guarantee you that we will keep on working to offer an exceptional service for our international guests and to maintain the Sontesta service that makes us different from all the hotel in the world.

We hope to have your pleasent visit again shortly.


Sincerely,
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I will start from first to last.

1. I sent an e-mail to the motel asking about car service and I was told they did not have one even though it was listed. Two weeks prior to my arrival I called and was able to confirm they do have a car service and he was waiting for me at the airport. Nice vehicle as compared to the taxi's.

2. Check-In was a little long but I think my 6 hr flight and ride to the hotel was just wearing on me.

3. Room- HUGE! I got an over-sized King, one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on while in a hotel. Shower- HUGE. The shower was almost too big (as a joke). It had a rainfall shower head, hot/cold water, and the one wall was all glass. AWESOME! Safe inside the room was nice. TV was a large 42" LCD. No problem with WiFi. Had a mini fridge with overpriced items, but all hotels do that. I made room for my own sodas. Coffeemaker had the wrong type of coffee and filter and $2.50 for the 1 serving was a little ridiculous.

4. Breakfast Buffet - The first day all the cold seemed a little cold. But plenty of everything. Fruit, breads, cereals, juices, meats, spanish cuisine. They offered an omlette bar for fresh made omlettes. I was not too happy when I went to the egg area the first day because they scrambled the eggs with peppers and I just dont like peppers. The second day the food was hot and the eggs were normal. I had a two egg omlette as well and it was terrific.

5. Room Service- Had a hamburger with mushrooms and a cheese sauce and WOW was it amazing. I know I was hungry but I was ready to order a second one if I had more of an appetite but the burger was huge and came with fries. Room service was fast and efficient.

6. Mall connected to hotel- Enjoyable. Not too many stores but I had lunch at the little hotdog/hamburger joint and used the ice cream parlor another day. The ATM was safe to use. Lots of security/Police in the hotel lobby and mall.

7. Hotel Entry restroom- Overpriced. Food was decent but just too costly. Go outside and enjoy the country.

8. Security- Always visible. Security posted at hotel entrance at all times. Honestly, it was a safe area. Feel free to walk to the two malls nearby if you want the exercise and if its nice outside.


Overall- Loved the place.

Room Tip: If you want a bed that fits 4 get the king. LoL it was HUGE
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Good afternoon,

In behalf of Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla receive a warm greeting.

We are thankful for your comments regarding our services, its proof that we are working in pro of our guests.

We hope to have your pleasent visit again.

Sincerely,
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

It was a pleasant surprise the one year old hotel, located in a cute small shopping mall near the confluence of the Magdalena River and the Caribbean Sea...
Very modern, with exceptional service from the front desk team to the bell boys & beyond, the breakfast conveniently located in an open 3rd floor offers typical Colombian dishes to charge your morning for whatever endeavors you’ll engage.
Extra clean and spacious rooms, the hotel in conveniently located far from the noise but close enough from everything...
On an incredible bad note... they charge about $2.50 for the "courtesy" coffee in the room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Good afternoon,

In behalf of Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla receive a warm greeting.

We are thankful regarding the comments of our hotel. We want to offer you our most sincere apologies for the missunderstanding about the room coffee.

We will keep on working to maintain the service that makes us different.

Sincerely,

Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I recently stayed here for 3 nights. The room was quite large and very clean. The bathroom was modern, with a big rainfall-type shower. The bed was an oversized king which was very comfortable.

Overall, I had only 2 small gripes regarding the room: 1) the towels -- we only got 2, and they weren't of the caliber you'd expect from this hotel. However, the wait staff was quick to bring more when I called. 2) The coffee maker -- it was a traditional drip coffee maker, but they provided pellet-type coffee pouches that were designed for a different coffee maker. That was a pretty obvious gaffe. Using the pellets generated brown translucent water that looked like the river I grew up next to in urban new jersey. The good news is the breakfast buffet had exsquisite coffee, so the room unit wasn't important.

The rooftop gym and pool were very nice. As is the case in most South American hotels, the gym is thin on equipment, and is basically there so they could say they have a gym. That being said, everything worked in the gym and it actually had some free weights. Its good enough for a couple days.

The hotel is part of a multi-purpose structure that has a small indoor mall below. The other end of the structure has a fun rooftop restaurant-club. Nice if you want to go out, but don't want to deal with taxis.

Overall this is a very good choice in Barranquilla...I'd definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Try to stay on a higher floor. The third floor has a banquet facility, and you can hear parties for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waterski1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Good afternoon,

In behalf of Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla receive a warm greeting.

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We will follow your recommendation about the coffee marker to guarantee an exceptional service for our guests.

We wish you could visit us shortly so we can give you again the attention you deserve.

Sincerely,
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed here for business and it was good enough. Here are pros/ cons:

Pros: Nice, clean, rooms. I believe all rooms have tile flooring. On the first floor there is a small, new "mall" type area with some restaurants, and shops.....nothing special but you do have as a choice. This small corridor of shops/ restaurants leads to an elevator that will take you to a pretty cool lounge/ restaurant/ bar that is on a roof top.

Cons: Service was ok, a little far from my meetings.

I would try again. As the title says this hotel was a good option! Before this trip I had stayed in the old, traditional Prado Hotel, which was also a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perudallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Good afternoon,

In behalf of Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla receive a warm greeting.

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. As far as your service remarks, we promise, that in your next visit we will be more agile so we can fulfill all your expectations.

Sincerely,
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barranquilla hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
#1 of 58 in Barranquilla
423 reviews
0.0 mi away
GHL Collection Hotel Barranquilla
1.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
#4 of 58 in Barranquilla
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
NH Collection Barranquilla Smartsuites Royal
0.7 mi away
Dann Carlton Barranquilla
Dann Carlton Barranquilla
#19 of 58 in Barranquilla
251 reviews
2.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla

Property: Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla
Address: Calle 106 # 50-11 | Villa Santos, Barranquilla 080001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Atlantico Department > Barranquilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Barranquilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Barranquilla is a modern hotel with tasteful accommodations. Facilities include a spa and gym while the rooftop pool and Turkish bath offers panoramic views of the Magdalena River. Rooms at the Sonesta Hotel are spacious, with French windows allowing plenty of natural light. All are equipped with an LCD and cable TV, free Wi-Fi and minibar. Guests at the Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla can enjoy sushi at the lobby bar, or dine at the hotel's restaurant. A daily breakfast buffet with fresh fruits, juices and pastries is available. The hotel offers a convenient location next to the Gran Boulevard; the city's largest shopping center. It is also situated only 9 miles from Ernesto Cortissoz International Airport. Free private parking is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing