We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great insight into Caribbean culture- Worth visiting if you are in Barranquilla”
Review of Museo del Caribe

Museo del Caribe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
142 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great insight into Caribbean culture- Worth visiting if you are in Barranquilla”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I had not been back to Barranquilla since 2001 and I was quite impressed with this new museum. It does a very good job of covering the ecology, history and culture of the Caribbean coast of Colombia. It is a modern museum and incorporates technology throughout (videos, audio recordings). It is definitely helpful if you know Spanish to understand everything although they do provide bilingual tours for an additional fee. Barranquilla is not known as being a touristy place and I would not travel out of my way to visit this museum, but if you happen to be in Barranquilla, this is a great place to visit

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank skupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    225
    53
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super nice caribean Museum”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

It is a very beatifull museum where if you have time and some body who speakes your language, much better if he or she is an experienced professional tour guide who really knows this place, that could be a wonderfull experience in order to know the history of the caribian colombian coast, what cook, how the dance and what they sing, plays and dance, what Gabriel Garcia Marquez has done to be so special and a lot more.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank durantourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic glimpse into Carib-Colombian culture”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

From the outside the museum building seems a little out of place... Set in an open and empty square this cubed building offers little personality but upon entering your hit with the newness of the place. Admission Was just a few dollars, and for what you get it seems more than a fair deal.

Over 6 floors you can be guided or self-led through various exhibits. There is an interesting and beautiful presentation of the life, work and stories of Gabriel Garcia Marquez. I loved the interactive floor that featured local foods,traditions,languages and a brief study of Carib coast native cultures. The ending of your visit leaves you movin' and groovin'...carnival style!

I really enjoyed the variety of focus of each floor, leading from great writers and poets to the diverse ecosystems, local foods,tribes people and of course music. This feels like a hidden gem, especially in a city that doesn't see a lot of tourists! You should expect to spend 1-2 hours here, it's a little dark inside so your camera might not be that useful to you, however, the neighborhood surrounding the museum has some lovely old buildings (the old customs house is the most notable)

Insider tip: if you don't speak a lot/good Spanish, we highly recommend paying for a guided tour in English. There are no alternate translations provided in any of the exhibits.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank arowetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“VERY INTERACTIVE, GOOD TO UNDERSTAND THE PEOPLE AND TRADITIONS”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Good to understand the culture of the northern part of Colombia.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank ALEXAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, FL
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed September 25, 2010

I'm not much of a museum person, but i loved Museo del Caribe. It was very clean and all the exhibits were interactive. We passed a few hours there and would have stayed longer had we not been super hungry for lunch! I would recommend it to all!

Helpful?
1 Thank paulettejanep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo del Caribe also viewed

Barranquilla, Atlantico Department
Barranquilla, Atlantico Department
 
Barranquilla, Atlantico Department
Barranquilla, Atlantico Department
 

Been to Museo del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing