We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel I Have Stayed in Mainland China”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo
Ranked #10 of 788 Hotels in Ningbo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

As in the title, this hotel is truly the best I have stayed in mainland China, not one of. The towel and tea served in the check-in and out are really considerate. They even up-graded my two rooms to suites realizing that we are a family. We headed to Pu Tuo Shan in the early morning and ordered the breakfast boxes the night before. They arrived three minutes late, but it was not big deal since usually restaurant does not open until 6:30 and this hotel opens at 6. The location of this hotel is also very good, right next to the moon lake park and the ancient library both of which happen to be the best see in Ning Bo. The only downside is that the swimming pool seems not for the hotel guests only, I went there at 8 pm and it was super crowded. Even so, it is still very clean there. I will definitely choose this hotel next time when I get to Ning Bo.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youhanguc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Youhanguc,

On behalf of the staff and management of Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate your kind and positive words, they are a great encouragement everybody involved in working here to make sure your stay is as pleasant and memorable as possible.

Our swimming pool does get very busy especially at weekends and holidays, we do welcome guests from outside of the hotel to enjoy the facilities we have to offer. I apologize most sincerely for the inconvenience this may have caused you.

We thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo and look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 654 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having always thought HoJo was a down and out place from my childhood I have never stayed at one for a LONG, LONG time... Then yesterday we pulled up here and was told "don't worry this is not USA" . Well they were correct and in fact the hotel is nice and the rooms are clean but the service here is way GOOD! They are so nice and attentive it's like all the staff went to "NICE" school. What a nice experience after having been on the road over a month and staying in both good and bad hotels. Top 1 or 2 for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jongoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear guest Jgoodma,

On behalf of the staff and management of Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo, I thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are most appreciative of your kind and positive words, they are a great encouragement to everybody involved in working to make your stay here as pleasant and memorable as possible. We do hope your experience here exceeded your expectations and memories of HoJo experiences of the past.

We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is almost perfect. For me, at least. We have stayed in many hotels in China and this is a real standout. The staff are remarkable in their attention to guests' needs or even perceived needs. The food in the Lotus Garden restaurant is superb with extraordinary and diligent staff. Very lovely people, for whom, it seems, nothing is too much trouble. It is difficult to fault anything here. The location is very central and walking to the city centre is a pleasure. The rooms are excellent. Bathrooms, whilst a little short of shelf space are luxurious. I have had a couple of better breakfasts in China, but breakfast is still very good. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vonGawne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Sir,

On behalf of the staff and management of Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo, thank you for taking the time to make a review of our hotel, your kind and positive words are of the utmost encouragement to everybody involved in working to make your stay as pleasant and memorable as possible. We thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo and look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Forget your preconceived notions of Howard Johnsons - HoJo in China is 5-star all the way. The one in Ningbo in particular stands out because of its great service. Stayed here recently for a couple of nights and while the hotel itself wasn't particularly unique in its architecture or layout, it's a hotel I highly recommend because it ticks off all the most important things I look for in a city hotel.

It's very clean. The amenities and hardware in the rooms are all of solid quality whereas many hotels skimp on the actual furniture, etc. in the room. And of course as many people have mentioned, service that goes beyond a typical business hotel. They serve you tea at the check in / check out, choice of pillow, etc. and overall very pleasant and friendly staff.

Again, can't go wrong with a solid hotel like this one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsaojam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed here once on my 1st business trip to Ningbo. My experience with this hotel was really superb. Check in was very smooth a I was immediately escorted to my room by a angel who explained me everything. Breakfast room and choice of food was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodlover61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

One of my good factories told me I was being booked in a Howard Johnson so my expectations weren't so high but I was pleasantly surprised and will gladly say that HoJo Ningbo is 5 Star in every way. Great rooms, unbelievable service, gym, indoor lap pool, great restaurants etc etc. WOW!! Next trip to Ningbo this is a no-brainer. If you find yourself going to Ningbo, do yourself a favor and book here!

Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
Thank Orang_County_greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

If someone says Ningbo I reply Howard Johnson. That place was my best experience from the whole city. I had a superior room with excellent view (if we can say so the air was so polluted that visibility was quite low). Regarding hotel – room perfect, food – DELICIOUS the best breakfasts I ever had in China great combinations of China and International cuisine. SPA – I took a foot massage every day and quality was marvelous. I can only suggest staying there (for business or with your family).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ningbo hotels
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
#6 of 788 in Ningbo
615 reviews
0 mi away
Novotel Ningbo East
Novotel Ningbo East
#11 of 788 in Ningbo
69 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pan Pacific Ningbo
Pan Pacific Ningbo
#7 of 788 in Ningbo
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
#1 of 788 in Ningbo
571 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo
1.1 mi away
The Westin Ningbo
The Westin Ningbo
#3 of 788 in Ningbo
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo

Address: No.230 Liuting Street, Ningbo 315010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Ningbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ningbo
#5 Business Hotel in Ningbo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ningbo
Price Range: $78 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo Hotel Ningbo
Howard Johnson Ningbo
Ningbo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing