We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth (and in China!)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Ningbo Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 757 Hotels in Ningbo
Certificate of Excellence
Irvington, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth (and in China!)”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I am not sure how I missed the opening of this property in Ningbo for the last two years, but I found my way home yesterday. Sadly my stay was only one night but i am considering how to live her permanently. There was not one thing that was not perfect from the brilliant design and layout of the property to the ever present zen-like aura in every corner.

The room as brilliant! from the cocoon of a bed to the automatic toilet system that at first scares you as you walk into the bathroom by lifting the toilet lid automatically. Do not miss sitting outside in the Dining Room at sunset or evening for the view, breeze and amazing feeling that you will get about never wanting to leave this piece of heaven on earth (yes that would be in China!)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    48
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
54
44
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kunshan, China
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

It was really a nice surprise to stay here. I can agree with all the other reviews. I liked the design of the hotel, it was also very clean and at a quite location. I only stayed there one night, but wished I could stay longer. Check-In was very nice and very friendly, even it took a bit long because the computer was not that fast, but with a short friendly "Please wait a moment' everything was fine. This always can happened and the staff did a very good job to pay attention to the guest. Restaurant food quality is also at the upper level, but I really appreciated the staff service level and attention to the guest. This was really what I enjoyed and I felt like a valued guest. I will come back again for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobtown55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed a night at PH Ningbo and we had just a pleasant time. The staff at Front Desk had a welcoming smile, there escorted us to the room and explained the nice Lake View room. Unfortunately there were no seating arrangement on the balcony with lake view. Cause on misunderstanding at reservation we got one massage per person complementary. The breakfast room is hugh, a little crowded with Chinese People, but ok. Nice and quite Pool area with daybeds, Sauna and Steam room. We got the "Swedish" Spa treatment, which we can highly recommend. The BEST massage I ever get. The staff is really flexible on all needs and more than helpful. Will stay another time and enjoy the delicious Sunday Brunch.

Room Tip: Lake View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronika_Sha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My girlfriend and I enjoyed an almost spiritual experience in this wonderful hotel, which we cannot praise highly enough. It was our first time staying in a Park Hyatt property, but the manner in which they have taken what is a picturesque but not outstanding setting (Dong Qian Lake) and turned it into an outstanding, relaxing yet fulfilling experience is both remarkable and highly impressive.

The group ethos appears to be luxury without ostentation or excess - rather, luxury in keeping with the historical context of the property. Dong Qian Lake is a tranquil lake, along the shores of which there is also a Buddhist temple and an old Chinese water village. Consistent with these surrounds, Park Hyatt have built a large but low-rise Chinese-inspired resort with modern touches - difficult to describe, very easy to enjoy. Simply put you feel as though you have walked into a serene, beautiful Chinese village, but with all the mod-cons you would expect of a world-class five-star hotel, plus unique additional features which are described below.

The highlights of this hotel are:
1. The outstanding indoor pool - the design of which has to be the best I have seen. Mixes elements of Chinese / Thai / Balinese design - a wonderful swimming experience but so becalming its even a place to just go and relax with a book
2. The whole resort manages to feel peaceful and serene even with high occupation - something which cannot be said of many other hotels in the most populous nation on earth. This ambience has been achieved with superb design and the use of water and subtle and soft lighting throughout the property
3. Several interesting facilities which make this hotel stand out from other bland 5-star hotels in China - such as a bar which featured a free Chinese opera performance, a Chinese tea house (set in a restored ancient building on the property), various verandahs dotted about the property so one can enjoy a private and uplifting view of the lake, and finally a restaurant on a boat , which although we didnt try, looked absolutely beautiful at night when lit up
4. Lakeview rooms - definitely take these - ours (on the ground floor) had a huge window with a beautiful unobstructed view of Dong Qian Lake . Rooms are light and airy and feature highly modern technology which is practical rather than pretentious - electrically controlled blinds and sheers which can be shut from your bed, electric toilets, power shower, mood lighting, in-room Nespresso coffee machine, etc.
5. Free bicycle hire which we made good use of to spend a day checking out the local sighs (Xiao pu tuo, Tai Gong Dong, Chinese water village)
6. Complimentary shuttle bus to Ningbo - we made use of this to check out Ningbo city, but frankly nothing there is as nice as this hotel!

The only criticism of the resort would be the food - the western options are very pricey and quite limited. We ate four meals at the hotel and by the third time felt the food was getting repetitive.

All in all, we were thoroughly impressed with what Park Hyatt have built on Dong Qian Lake. We were in awe of the design - if I were to plan a resort, I would do it exactly like this. I highly recommend the hotel for two types of person: 1) the Shanghai resident looking for a peaceful weekend to recharge his/her batteries 2) the business traveller in Ningbo for a few days - avoid staying in the bustling city centre and stay here, as its only 20 minutes drive from the city but infinitely better than most of the city hotels.

Room Tip: -Must choose Lakeview to enjoy the stunning panorama of Dong Qian Lake -Higher floors preferable to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DesiGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hotel is located 30-45 minutes from Ningbo city centre and 3 hour drive from Shanghai.

Facing the beautiful Dong Qian Lake and surrounded by nature, the hotel’s building and interiors are based on traditional Chinese architecture which was not only tasteful but blends in naturally with the surrounding greenery. With many water features and wall fountains and stunning views of the lake, this low rise development spreads over a very sizeable area (if you do not wish to walk much, buggies are provided to take you around). You have choices of restaurants providing Western, Chinese and Japanese cuisine. Prices are a bit on the high side but you would probably end up having your meals here unless you intend to travel back to the city.

Check in was a breeze and the service from the staffs warm and polite.

Room was sumptuous and comfortable. With an open concept room, it felt very spacious and comes with a walk in wardrobe, luxurious toiletries and a wonderful rain shower. The bed, duvet and pillows were comfortable. The views of the lake from the room, especially in the mornings, with the covering mist, were breath-taking. Wifi service was complimentary and good.

The indoor pool was sizeable but you are not able to get any F&B service. It also gets a bit humid when you are out of the pool.

Breakfast was decent enough with a nice selection of Western and local fare. It’s nice to have breakfast overlooking the lake.

This hotel provides a serene, peaceful, quiet, relaxing and tranquil experience, away from the hustle and bustle of a typical Chinese city.

BUT to have the best experience, try to avoid your stay during the weekends or public/school holidays. Then you have a much lesser chance of encountering certain guests with the typical anti-social behaviour (eg indiscriminate smoking, noise, spitting etc )

Highly recommended and I will be back!

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the lake - which is one of the major highlights of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rafalution_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaisalmer, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I did not sleep at Park Hyatt Ningbo Resort and Spa or eat at their restaurant. University of Nottingham Ningbo China (UNNC) choose this venue for their annual 'End of Year Party'. It was advertised as a 6 star hotel, splendid location with a view over Dongqian Lake and a classy venue. Unfortunately did hotel did not live up to its hype in any way.

Let me start with the venue. The hotel is placed in a scenic part of Ningbo surrounded by nature and Dongqian Lake and our expectations were high after countless magnificant parties in Shangri La and Howard Johnson. When we arrived at the hotel we were quickly guided down stairs to a ball room without too much class. Big, simple and not elegant describes the room in short.

The food was at best poor. We were only allowed small bites of meat and were directed towards pasta, a poor selection of salad and a lots of (cheap) Chinese dishes. If this was a 2-3 star hotel I would understand but compared to Howard Johnson's food selection the food was only a canteen worthy.

The ONLY good part of the party was the wine but that does not help the hotel that actually turned of the light when they wanted us to leave. Overall the experience was really, really poor. I really hope that this hotel delivers in other areas but as a party venue for Westerners this certainly failed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodamifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Our family had a wonderful time at this hotel. We got here with the high speed rail and took a taxi (roughly 40 minutes from town, 60 RMB). The architecture, the buildings and setting is just perfect. Food is very good (both Chinese and western), especially the local seafood at the Chinese restaurant. Staff is friendly, courteous and helpful. I highly recommend the lake view room. You can also take a walk outside the compound to "Xiao Putuo" area or borrow a bike from the hotel and ride around
the lake. Overall a very fun vacation for our family.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mich2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ningbo hotels
9.4 mi away
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
#1 of 757 in Ningbo
528 reviews
8.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo
Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo
#2 of 757 in Ningbo
608 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Ningbo Dongqian Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
#4 of 757 in Ningbo
568 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sheraton Ningbo Hotel
Sheraton Ningbo Hotel
#3 of 757 in Ningbo
579 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Westin Ningbo
The Westin Ningbo
#9 of 757 in Ningbo
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Ningbo Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Ningbo Resort and Spa

Property: Park Hyatt Ningbo Resort and Spa
Address: No.188 Dayan Road, Dongqianhu Town, Yinzhou District, Ningbo 315123, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Ningbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 757 Hotels in Ningbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Park Hyatt Ningbo Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Ningbo, a 226-room resort including free-standing villas is located in a serene area on the banks of Dong Qian Lake, one of the most scenic destinations in Ningbo, Zhejiang Province. It is just 2- 1/2 hours' drive from Shanghai, making it the perfect weekend retreat. Offering guests impeccable dining experiences are the hotel's Dining Room, which has an open kitchen concept, the Seafood House, which feature The Pavilion private room, and the ancestral Tea House, which serves a selection of Chinese and Western savoury items. Meanwhile, The Ballroom and seven multi-purpose meeting rooms are a unique alternative for small to medium-size meeting events and also make the perfect venue for once-in-a-lifetime weddings. Leisure facilities include a fully equipped fitness area, an indoor heated pool and an outdoor infinity pool with panoramic lake views. The hotel's Qin Spa has ten semi-private treatment rooms, and offers a combination of Chinese and Western wellness treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hyatt Ningbo Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing