We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Urumqi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
Ranked #3 of 648 Hotels in Urumqi
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

After traveling in Xinjiang province for a few days staying in local hotels, it was wonderful being at the Sheraton. The air-conditioning was cool and the beds were soft & comfy (a relief after several days of hard-as-rock Chinese beds). The corner room we had was spacious and nicely appointed.

The staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. Security was good at the hotel and all bags were checked before being allowed into the premises.

There is a restaurant within walking distance (The Miraj) that serves excellent Uyghur cuisine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peedeelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria l, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, and share your stay experience with us. Thank you for your recognition of hotel services and facilities, sincerely look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    162
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
11
17
9
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

What a wonderful find in NW China. Great Clean Rooms. Make sure to ask for non-smoking if that is what you need. The dinning is outstanding. The staff is super friendly and most of them speak a little english. There is a modern mall right next door for good shopping. Lots of different resturants. I will stay there the next trip.

Room Tip: 25th floor rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria l, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, and share your stay experience with us. Thank you for your recognition of hotel services and facilities, sincerely look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

My first visit to the Hotel. Stayed here as this is the only hotel approved by my company. A very nice 5 Star hotel in Urumqi. Good security and checks at the Entrance. Room is also the most expensive in Urumqi. In fact it is the most expensive during my trip in China that included Beijing. The design of the Room is excellent and well appointed. Bed is fantastic! The hotel also have excellent Amenity. A big and well-equipped Gym too. The Location is a bit out of way for me to get to attraction but overall it is located in the modern part of the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria l, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, and share your stay experience with us. Thank you for your recognition of hotel services and facilities, sincerely look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Nice room, good location but very pricey! Compare to other Sheratons in China, this is one of the nicer ones. But I guess if you are a business traveller, there's not much choice for 5 stars in Urumqi.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NasiKandarIpoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria l, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, and share your stay experience with us. Thank you for your recognition of hotel services and facilities, sincerely look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed there for 5 nights and was disappointed with the overall service. Firstly we were placed in a room with defective air cond. We were given another room AFTER a second complaint was made, and this was given to us around 10.30 pm. Needless to say, we declined to be moved in our pyjamas.
Secondly, I ordered chicken rice, and it came in COLD (except for the soup). My husband ordered the soup of the day, which was oily and just horrible to taste.
Then my room 'key' had to be reactivated everyday during my stay!
Overall, I find that the staff were very good and attentive, but they lacked good training from management. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, no complaints, unless you have a defaulted shower door, that allows water seepage - or wardrobe doors that requires man-strength to open.
Definitely not worth the price you pay, which was expensive, and I would try other hotels on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OMalleyHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria l, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, and share your experience with us. We think very highly of the questions you have asked, we have communicated with related departments about the detils, please believe that we will improve our service according to your suggestions , and we are looking forward to your visit again to witness our improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA, USA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is my third time staying at Sheraton Urumqi. However, I have just recently tested with gluten sensitivity. Everywhere I go, I dread if there is nothing for me to eat. So, a hotel who understands my need is top on my priority. We liked the spread of breakfast buffet when we were there in 2009 so will I be able to enjoy now when I have gluten intolerant? Well, the Director of Food and Beverages Jeremy Shen went all the way to search the Internet for a gluten free bread recipe and worked with the pastry chef to make fresh gluten free bread for me daily. I couldn't thank him enough. The staff at Cafe Oasis were great! Alvin made sure to bring me the gluten free bread toasted daily with the kind of jam I liked. When I complained to Dora about the Muslim Restaurant's air conditioning was not working well, she suggested that I could order whatever I liked and eat at the Cafe Oasis with open air and piano music. She brought me the menu to select and when I found the dish I ate and like in 2009 was no longer on the menu, Dora got the head chef at the Muslim Restaurant to talk to me. I described what I had, (a grill local fish with local spices), the chef said that he would make it for me the following evening. I liked it so much that I had the same dish again two nights in a row. When I asked about getting the spice for home use (In 2009, the Muslim restaurant manager actually got that special spices for me so I could take home.), Cafe Oasis staff Eva did exactly that. I can't praise enough about what they have done for me. They made my 5 day stay in Urumqi an unforgetable one. Thanks Jeremy, Alvin, Dora, Tom (Muslim Head Chef), and Eva. I will definitely go back to your hotel next time when I visit Urumqi again.

Room Tip: If you are a Starwood Preferred Guest, you should be assigned to the SPG Guests Floor and you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alang-alang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria l, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, and share your stay experience with us. Thank you for your recognition of hotel services and facilities, sincerely look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obidos, Portugal
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

very good surprise at avery high standard. If you forget where you are you feel like in a top city in the world at the hotel. Excelent facilities and good staff. Do not miss the fiteness and spa.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antonio c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria l, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, and share your stay experience with us. Thank you for your recognition of hotel services and facilities, sincerely look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urumqi hotels
4.2 mi away
Hilton Urumqi
Hilton Urumqi
#1 of 648 in Urumqi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel
0.8 mi away
Luxemon Xinjiang Yindu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Urumqi Southern Airlines Pearl International Hotel
6.3 mi away
Tianyuan Hotel
Tianyuan Hotel
#39 of 648 in Urumqi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bayinhe Hotel Zhongshan
Bayinhe Hotel Zhongshan
#32 of 648 in Urumqi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Urumqi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Urumqi Hotel

Property: Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
Address: No.669 Youhao North Road, Sayibake District, Urumqi 830000, China
Location: China > Xinjiang Uygur > Urumqi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Urumqi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Urumqi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Urumqi Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Urumqi is the most premier hotel located in the capital of Xinjiang Region, managed by the famous international Starwood Hotels & Resorts. Hotel offers 398 various choices of guest rooms and suites from 40sqm to 265 sqm. The guest rooms feature well-function bathroom, LCD TVs, high speed internet connection, Rain-forest shower, Ergonomic chair and the famous Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. You can also enjoy the 3,000 sqm luxurious spa and comprehensive health club. Hotel offers a wide variety of specialty restaurants and comes along with over 1,400 sqm meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sheraton Urumqi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Urumqi
Urumqi Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing