We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK For a Domestic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Urumqi Southern Airlines Pearl International Hotel
Ranked #41 of 656 Hotels in Urumqi
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Having read the reviews, I wondered what I would find. As a full time traveler who spends lots of nights in China, I was ready for anything. I found that the Pearl is nice for a domestic hotel. By these standards, rooms are nice, staff is friendly, but few speak any English, and the hotel is near several large shopping areas in the center of town. I found the breakfast to be sub par, and the coffee especially so. The Chinese restaurant on the second floor (not the Muslim one) was good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Urumqi Southern Airlines Pearl International Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 161 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Funny smells, stained floors and carpet, hard beds, and lots of smokers sums up our experience at the Southern Airlines Pearl International. Air conditioning stuggles with the heat and facilities are generally worn and sad. Handed down from Kempinski, the hotel has seen better days and is seriously in need of a refit. However, the staff works hard, the breakfast buffet is okay and for the right price could be a jumping off point for the wonders of XinJiang. However, try not to spend more that one night.

Room Tip: Sun direction should be a big factor in choosing a room at this hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheKrezAbides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on business, executive rooms were comfortable enough but not large. Access to the executive lounge with complimentary wi fi. Buffet breakfast with lots of choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solarsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Being a former Kempinski property, the rooms were spacious and well appointed. However this is now a local owned hotel, so for instance you only get 4 English TV channels and not even a single international news channels.

Internet connection in the room is by cable and later on I’ve found wifi signal in the lobby, but the speed was quite slow. Breakfast was mostly local food but the selection was very large.

As I was just one night and I arrive quite late to the Hotel I didn’t venture outside, but the hotel seems to be surrounded by many business.

Since the only international hotel in Urumqi is currently a Sheraton property, this will be a good option for budget conscious business travelers, since Sheraton rates are more than double that the one’s I got in this property.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prayanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed in 3 similarly priced hotels in Urumqi, and this place was very average.

Location is it's best asset. Right by Parkson Mall and easy to hail cabs.

Facilities are sub standard. There is no air con in the hotel. We were told that air con is not required in the city and we can just open the window. We stood our ground, and requested they resolve this. They could not turn on the air con but just upgraded us to a bigger room and gave us a floor standing fan. Kinda strange behaviour for a 5 star hotel.

They turn off all the lobby lights in the evening to save electricity, so bring a head torch if you're heading out for the evening. Again, a bit strange for a 5 star establishment.

Overall, there are better options at this price in the City, so explore other places before choosing this one.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arwin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

This is one of several hotels I've tried in Urumqi and is the best out of those. It isn't perfect, but for a domestic brand it gives the biggies good competition.

First, I said domestic because, like others have noted, this hotel has had new management for quite a while now, and is known as the CSA (China Southern Airlines) International Hotel, no longer the Kempinski. Just as well, since it doesn't quite have Kempinski standards.

At check-in I was given a room with 2 twins even though I requested a king. Was told none available. Wasn't happy and expected a not-so-fun stay, but fortunately there weren't many other negatives.

Room was a decent size, clean, bathroom with tub and separate shower. Got complimentary fruit platter delivered as I was settling in (no explanation so not sure if all guests receive this). Surprisingly, there were no foreign channels available on the tv.

There is a lobby restaurant to the left and a bar to the right. I ordered a few mixed drinks but the bartender didn't know how to make any of them. He did offer to try if I would tell him the ingredients and portions, I did, and he took notes. Was kind of disappointed I didn't get a discount!

Location is slightly south of center. It is very close to Hongshan (Red Hill), probably walking distance but I cabbed it and it took just a few minutes. The Xinjiang Museum is also very close.

If you like greenery there is a small park just a minute's walk from the hotel, and then the not-so-small People's Park is only about a 10-minute walk away.

For shoppers there is a Parkson department store just a couple of minutes away, on the way to People's Park. On the street parallel to the hotel are a lot of small shops, including an excellent 24-hour market that has foreign food items. I saw more Korean restaurants than expected; not sure if there are many Korean residents or tourists in this area.

Transportation to the airport is very convenient, as they have a dedicated mini van from the hotel that costs only 15rmb or so. This van might also pick up from the airport as well, but I came here after moving from another hotel so not sure about that.

Overall, though it wasn't an international 5-star as advertised, location was pretty good, rooms clean, and the staff are friendly and try hard. I had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BB_in_BJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

I often stay at the CSA International Hotel (formerly Kempinsky) while on business trips to Urumqi. As has been stated in earlier reviews, this hotel is no longer part of the Kempinski chain and is instead owned by China Southern Airlines (CSA). The location of the hotel is excellent, on the edge of the central business district on Youhao Rd., roughly between Hongshan park and People’s park. It is within short walking distance to numerous restaurants, shopping malls, grocery stores, etc. The bus depot for buses to Tian Chi lake at the northern end of People’s park is only 5 min walk away. The two nearby parks are great places for a morning run or walk.

The rooms are very nice and luxurious, bigger than average, some with great views over the parks and city. They are well-appointed and typical of an up-market hotel. The king-size beds are comfortable and the 42” flat screen TV hanging on the wall is great. The bathroom is big and deluxo, with separate shower and bath, and marble tiles throughout. I really liked the big picture window (instead of a wall) dividing the bathroom from the bedroom. This feature is becoming increasingly common in upmarket hotels, and allows you to watch TV and enjoy the view outside from the bath. The one main problem with the rooms is climate control. On a few occasions during the winter/spring, my room was unbearably hot. I complained at reception and they said that heating was centrally controlled and the AC wasn’t turned on until 15 April. The windows only open a tiny bit so there was no way to cool things down, making for a miserable, sweaty sleep. During the summer it is more bearable since they have the AC turned on. The internet connection (10RMB/hr) was relatively fast but this should really be included in the room price. There are rooms on a non-smoking floor available so you don’t have to contend with the smoky stench of most Chinese hotel rooms.

The dinner buffet in the main restaurant is OK but nothing outstanding, and really not worth the high price. The breakfast buffet is a bit better with a combination of Chinese and Western foods, including lots of fruit. The fitness center on the 4th floor was pretty decent, with a few good cardio machines, weight stack machines, and a few free weights – nothing outstanding but you can have good basic workouts there. It was better than most I’ve experienced in China.

Check-in and check-out is typically chaotic, taking a lot longer than it should, especially when things were busy and the staff were in panic mode. Service is generally OK by China standards so don’t expect too much.

Overall the hotel is decent value at about 580RMB and I would recommend this hotel to other business and leisure travellers. However, they really need to sort out their climate control problem before I’ll stay there in the winter months again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urumqi hotels
1.0 mi away
Jinjiang International Hotel Urumqi
0.4 mi away
Luxemon Xinjiang Yindu Hotel
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
#3 of 656 in Urumqi
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel
1.0 mi away
Mingyuan New Times Hotel
Mingyuan New Times Hotel
#47 of 656 in Urumqi
45 reviews
6.9 mi away
Tianyuan Hotel
Tianyuan Hotel
#9 of 656 in Urumqi
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urumqi Southern Airlines Pearl International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urumqi Southern Airlines Pearl International Hotel

Address: No.576 Youhao South Road, Urumqi 830000, China
Location: China > Xinjiang Uygur > Urumqi
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Urumqi
#12 Best Value Hotel in Urumqi
Price Range: $89 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Urumqi Southern Airlines Pearl International Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Urumqi Southern Airlines Pearl International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urumqi Kempinski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing