We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK for short stays in Urumqi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Urumqi Southern Airlines Pearl International Hotel
Ranked #40 of 656 Hotels in Urumqi
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Being a former Kempinski property, the rooms were spacious and well appointed. However this is now a local owned hotel, so for instance you only get 4 English TV channels and not even a single international news channels.

Internet connection in the room is by cable and later on I’ve found wifi signal in the lobby, but the speed was quite slow. Breakfast was mostly local food but the selection was very large.

As I was just one night and I arrive quite late to the Hotel I didn’t venture outside, but the hotel seems to be surrounded by many business.

Since the only international hotel in Urumqi is currently a Sheraton property, this will be a good option for budget conscious business travelers, since Sheraton rates are more than double that the one’s I got in this property.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prayanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Urumqi Southern Airlines Pearl International Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 161 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed in 3 similarly priced hotels in Urumqi, and this place was very average.

Location is it's best asset. Right by Parkson Mall and easy to hail cabs.

Facilities are sub standard. There is no air con in the hotel. We were told that air con is not required in the city and we can just open the window. We stood our ground, and requested they resolve this. They could not turn on the air con but just upgraded us to a bigger room and gave us a floor standing fan. Kinda strange behaviour for a 5 star hotel.

They turn off all the lobby lights in the evening to save electricity, so bring a head torch if you're heading out for the evening. Again, a bit strange for a 5 star establishment.

Overall, there are better options at this price in the City, so explore other places before choosing this one.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arwin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

This is one of several hotels I've tried in Urumqi and is the best out of those. It isn't perfect, but for a domestic brand it gives the biggies good competition.

First, I said domestic because, like others have noted, this hotel has had new management for quite a while now, and is known as the CSA (China Southern Airlines) International Hotel, no longer the Kempinski. Just as well, since it doesn't quite have Kempinski standards.

At check-in I was given a room with 2 twins even though I requested a king. Was told none available. Wasn't happy and expected a not-so-fun stay, but fortunately there weren't many other negatives.

Room was a decent size, clean, bathroom with tub and separate shower. Got complimentary fruit platter delivered as I was settling in (no explanation so not sure if all guests receive this). Surprisingly, there were no foreign channels available on the tv.

There is a lobby restaurant to the left and a bar to the right. I ordered a few mixed drinks but the bartender didn't know how to make any of them. He did offer to try if I would tell him the ingredients and portions, I did, and he took notes. Was kind of disappointed I didn't get a discount!

Location is slightly south of center. It is very close to Hongshan (Red Hill), probably walking distance but I cabbed it and it took just a few minutes. The Xinjiang Museum is also very close.

If you like greenery there is a small park just a minute's walk from the hotel, and then the not-so-small People's Park is only about a 10-minute walk away.

For shoppers there is a Parkson department store just a couple of minutes away, on the way to People's Park. On the street parallel to the hotel are a lot of small shops, including an excellent 24-hour market that has foreign food items. I saw more Korean restaurants than expected; not sure if there are many Korean residents or tourists in this area.

Transportation to the airport is very convenient, as they have a dedicated mini van from the hotel that costs only 15rmb or so. This van might also pick up from the airport as well, but I came here after moving from another hotel so not sure about that.

Overall, though it wasn't an international 5-star as advertised, location was pretty good, rooms clean, and the staff are friendly and try hard. I had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BB_in_BJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

I often stay at the CSA International Hotel (formerly Kempinsky) while on business trips to Urumqi. As has been stated in earlier reviews, this hotel is no longer part of the Kempinski chain and is instead owned by China Southern Airlines (CSA). The location of the hotel is excellent, on the edge of the central business district on Youhao Rd., roughly between Hongshan park and People’s park. It is within short walking distance to numerous restaurants, shopping malls, grocery stores, etc. The bus depot for buses to Tian Chi lake at the northern end of People’s park is only 5 min walk away. The two nearby parks are great places for a morning run or walk.

The rooms are very nice and luxurious, bigger than average, some with great views over the parks and city. They are well-appointed and typical of an up-market hotel. The king-size beds are comfortable and the 42” flat screen TV hanging on the wall is great. The bathroom is big and deluxo, with separate shower and bath, and marble tiles throughout. I really liked the big picture window (instead of a wall) dividing the bathroom from the bedroom. This feature is becoming increasingly common in upmarket hotels, and allows you to watch TV and enjoy the view outside from the bath. The one main problem with the rooms is climate control. On a few occasions during the winter/spring, my room was unbearably hot. I complained at reception and they said that heating was centrally controlled and the AC wasn’t turned on until 15 April. The windows only open a tiny bit so there was no way to cool things down, making for a miserable, sweaty sleep. During the summer it is more bearable since they have the AC turned on. The internet connection (10RMB/hr) was relatively fast but this should really be included in the room price. There are rooms on a non-smoking floor available so you don’t have to contend with the smoky stench of most Chinese hotel rooms.

The dinner buffet in the main restaurant is OK but nothing outstanding, and really not worth the high price. The breakfast buffet is a bit better with a combination of Chinese and Western foods, including lots of fruit. The fitness center on the 4th floor was pretty decent, with a few good cardio machines, weight stack machines, and a few free weights – nothing outstanding but you can have good basic workouts there. It was better than most I’ve experienced in China.

Check-in and check-out is typically chaotic, taking a lot longer than it should, especially when things were busy and the staff were in panic mode. Service is generally OK by China standards so don’t expect too much.

Overall the hotel is decent value at about 580RMB and I would recommend this hotel to other business and leisure travellers. However, they really need to sort out their climate control problem before I’ll stay there in the winter months again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2008

This is a very strange hotel. Firstly, although it is called 'Kempinski' the Kempinski group of hotels want nothing to do with it and it clearly does not live up to the standards of those hotels.

Check-in is a bit chaotic as most staff are not great at English. The rooms vary a lot, but are generally quite nice and comfortable. Internet access is free in the room which is a bonus compared to most upper level hotels. The best thing about the hotel is its location, being right next to a large shopping mall with a good supermarket and just a 5 minute walk from the entertainment street.

On the down side, the service here is pretty pathetic. I have spent in excess of one month staying in this hotel over the course of several trips and have not once had the serving staff collect a single plate from my table at breakfast. The serving staff are usually unfriendly and uncooperative throughout the hotel. I would not recommend ordering anything in the lobby bar unless you have a couple of hours to spare. The breakfast is OK and the evening buffet fine. For some reason they seem to like putting fish in tiny bowls under the buffet table then not feeding or cleaning them. Over the course of a week you see the fish getting desperate for air and food then dying and being left in the bowl to fester. And don't even think about trying to use the gym. The equipment there is quite nice looking but I have yet been able to use it due to the staff using the gym as a place to sleep. Doesn't matter if it is day or night, there are staff sleeping on the chairs and floor inside the gym.

Despite all its drawbacks it really is not a bad place considering the remoteness of this location. The hotel is not as nice as the Sheraton on the same street but the location is slightly better and the internet is a massive improvement over the Sheraton, as is the price of the room.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lima1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

I stayed in a suite while attending a board meeting in Urumqi. This hotel was selected for the meeting in part because there were several non-Chinese attendees, so an international class hotel was needed.

For a hotel affiliated with an international chain, the Keminski Urumqi does not meet the basic requirement of having staff in most departments who speak English. No-one I tried to get service from at the front desk or the concierge desk spoke English (or German, Kempinski being a German company). I would have been at a loss without help from the bilingual staff of the company sponsoring the meeting.

Also, the hotel has a distinctly two-three star feel, for example in the bare-bones restaurant where breakfast is served, and in the uncarpeted lobby.

This led me to check whether this hotel is in fact a Kempinski. I found that it is not mentioned on Kempinski's global website (which lists all the other Kempinskis in China). After returning home, I called Kempinski's US reservations number. The phone was answered by someone who, from his accent, was in Germany. I explained that I wanted to make a reservation but could not find the Urumqi hotel on K's website. He replied that "We cannot make a reservation there -- we have no control over those people." I doubt, therefore, if this really is an internationally-affiliated hotel any more.

The suite itself was adequate, although the executive club lounge, access to which comes with the suite, no longer serves breakfast as is the norm elsewhere. The Internet connection worked OK. The HVAC was quiet and effective. The bed was comfortable. Everything was clean. However the (former) minibar was empty, and in general the layout had several quirks which I usually associate with the thought that this was probably the architect's first attempt at an hotel. The bathroom, for example, was separated from the bedroom by a very large picture window (clear glass) with a venetian blind which housekeeping raised and lowered twice a day just as if the window looked out onto the street. There was both a walk-in shower and a bathtub with a shower, and you have to walk through the shower stall to get into the bath, which is in a kind of glass-walled box of its own. The only closet in the entire suite (which included a very large living room) was a tiny one just inside the main door, i.e. in the living room, too small to hang up even the contents of one person's carry-on. Etc., etc.

I see that there's also a Sheraton in Urumqi, so I guess that this would be a better bet for the international traveler.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Westonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We had a 50 square metre, spacious room with king sized bed and a window in the bathroom - imagine that! Although the room needed some bits of maintenance, such as a thorough carpet cleaning and a chaise lounge that need some repair to the upholstery, we really loved the very well-trained staff at the hotel.

Everyone we dealt with was so helpful. They well all the way to help us with everything - never leaving any issue unresolved - from great room service and concierge service, to assisting us in resolving a question about our train tickets, which was definitely not a part of their responsibility. All staff did their best to communicate with me in English even though my friend was Chinese.

The food in buffet restaurant in the Lobby for breakfast and lunch was fresh, delicous and contained a variety of Western and Chinese food choices - a great bargain for 68 rmb.

I highly recommend this hotel - a little oasis in a harsh and difficult region!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RozW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urumqi hotels
1.0 mi away
Jinjiang International Hotel Urumqi
0.4 mi away
Luxemon Xinjiang Yindu Hotel
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
#3 of 656 in Urumqi
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel
1.0 mi away
Mingyuan New Times Hotel
Mingyuan New Times Hotel
#45 of 656 in Urumqi
45 reviews
6.9 mi away
Tianyuan Hotel
Tianyuan Hotel
#8 of 656 in Urumqi
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urumqi Southern Airlines Pearl International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urumqi Southern Airlines Pearl International Hotel

Address: No.576 Youhao South Road, Urumqi 830000, China
Location: China > Xinjiang Uygur > Urumqi
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Urumqi
#11 Best Value Hotel in Urumqi
Price Range: $89 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Urumqi Southern Airlines Pearl International Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Urumqi Southern Airlines Pearl International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urumqi Kempinski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing