We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not too bad but could use improvement” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luxemon Xinjiang Yindu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Luxemon Xinjiang Yindu Hotel
Ranked #6 of 648 Hotels in Urumqi
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“not too bad but could use improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

A family of four stayed in a suite on the old side of the hotel. My understanding is that there are not suites on the newer side but the rooms may be better. The stay was satisfactory and almost a good deal at RMB1,100/night. BTW, the suite is actually a suite with a door to the bedroom.

We found the AC not working on our first morning there. It was explained to us that the building AC was turned off if it was not too hot, particularly at night. In subsequent days, we found this consistent. Although it may be cool outside, the heat generated by humans, TVs, and other appliances are likely to make the rooms uncomfortable. Apparently the management did not take this into account. It appears management does not place much faith in the power of the thermostat. It would be nice if they simply set the thermostats in the common areas to what they want and let the guests do what they will in their rooms.

The location is good and provided a good base for getting around. However, for the price paid in a less than big city (by China standards), the experience was barely satisfactory. The same price paid in Wuhan or Chengdu, for example, will yield much better service. The public areas were good too. There seems to be less smoking in public areas as it appears China is becoming less tolerant of this behaviour.

The staff spoke enough english to communicate the basics. Much more than that, nearly fluent chinese is required. The concierge was not very helpful even in chinese. In Beijing, a concierge would draw detailed instructions on a map that allowed you to navigate the public transportation to the most obscure location. In Shanghai, there would be a travel agent inside a comparable hotel. Nothing like this happened here.

The breakfast was also satisfactory for western style offerings and pretty spectacular for the Asian breakfast. The dinner buffet was not so great on either side. The Cantonese, Shanghai, Beijing restaurants are a better choice but we only did the Shanghai one as the others had high minimums and only offered private rooms. The "food court" was a lower cost alternative and also pretty good. The coffee in the morning was sometimes fresh brewed sometimes nescafe.

When getting coffee in the lobby, you might consider sticking with the brewed variety. It is more than passable. I always asked for fresh milk as I noticed that there was condensed milk sitting near the coffee in the morning. Once we ordered cappuccino - a big mistake. We pointed out that they delivered americano with whipped cream (or something like it) and this is really not too close to what most called a cappuccino. The manager was less than gratious in our polite return of the undrinkable beverage. He seemed to understand that this was not a real cappuccino and that they modified it to local taste (we were clearly not locals). Rather than simply taking it back, he seemed to think that we might like it the way it is if he just explained the difference.

Not having stayed elsewhere in Urumqi, I cannot really compare to other hotels. It is out there as Urumqi is closer to the capitals of most central asian republics than Beijing.

Room Tip: The older side of the hotel is fine. I can only assume the newer area is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    110
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
5
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed at the Yindu last month. Btw, for those who read pinyin Chinese: this "Yindu" does not mean "India" but rather "Silver Capital." The room was very nice…we stayed in the middle gold tower and it seemed like our floor was empty but for us. The front desk was very helpful for travel requests, phone cards and general help and directions. The breakfast buffet was nice, just please turn down the "Best Hits of Kenny G" music.

A nice touch: I noticed an American flag flying in front of the hotel along with the Chinese and Uyghur flags. When I asked I was told they try to feature the flag each stay of a foreign guest, hence the Stars and Stripes. The hotel is within walking distance of the provincial museum, well worth a visit. Other sights (not many in Urumqi) are a taxi away. By the way, not easy to get a taxi in Urumqi, we took numerous "black cars," that is, unlicensed drivers and it worked out fine. Just negotiate the fare upon entering since there are no meters. The spa is under renovation, massage etc. available in a temporary setup in the low priced tower. Lobby is quite nice with a large moated area and lots of koi fish swimming about. Wired inet in the rooms was free.

Room Tip: Gold tower is nice and not too pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gonezen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed in 3 similarly priced hotels in Urumqi, and this was by quite some margin the best choice.

The location is good, right on a busy junction with cabs aplenty. 10 mins walk to Southern Airlines Pearl Hotel and Parkson Mall.

Service is very good. The front desk were very accommodating in onward travel enquiries. The security staff patrol the entrance and lobby. The concierce was naturally helpful.

Facilities are good. The lobby is great, and the breakfast options are plentiful with a nice atmosphere.

Overall, recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arwin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
161 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed here after reading pretty good reviews and getting a good 'no refund, pay in advance' deal with breakfast. Staff are very helpful and courteous. Check-in was smooth. Allocated a room in a separate building (not in the main tower), it was fine generally. It was a non-smoking room but there was definitely a smell of cigarettes in the room, not surprising I guess and not too strong, it was OK. Room had reasonably large twin beds, quite hard (but good for me) and with nice clean and comfortable sheets. Room has a desk with internet cable (no wifi), flatscreen TV (a couple of English speaking channels - HBO and CNN), minibar/fridge, two complimentary bottles of water, safe, aircon, heating (hard to control and too hot even though outside it was -10C so I turned it off and slept comfortably), wardrobe, bathrobes/slippers. Bathroom had free toiletries (condoms for sale!) and shower (quite weak) over a bathtub. Breakfast was extensive but was advertised as 'American' but to me it was more local and looked more like dinner to me (I still have very European tastes!), however, there was fruit, cereals and bread/pastries which did me fine. I never really worked out the location of the hotel, I was only in Urumqi overnight, I don't think it was particularly central but I'm not too sure about that,

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poliwhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

Despite having prepaid for a room with king sized bed, we were told on arrival that we can only have a room with twin sized beds. Took us a long time & a lot of insistence to get what we pay for.. No explanation or apologies were offered.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boshim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,671 reviews
320 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 643 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

Check -in was smooth, and the lobby is large, with an enormous koi pond surrounding the entire lobby lounge area. The room is ok, but the toilet is small for china standards, but at least it's a standing shower and not a bathtub. There is CNN and HBO, among the other chinese channels. The chinese restaurant serves average food for dinner, and the breakfast buffet though looking like it's got everything, lacks quality. When one logs onto the internet, there appears to be a fee, but when you call to get your username and password, they say the fee is waived, so I don't know if this is standard or depending on the room rate you pay

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

I was in Urumqi just after the riots last year and stayed at the Sheraton.Admitadly it was a difficult time with a lot of security in place and tenseness between the Uighers and Han Chinese following the tragic circumstances.Then all hotels were very quiet and the Sheraton was like an empty mall.I recall a bland,tired Club level room,poor F+B services and a sense of "I wish there was something better - but where?".The only advantage of the Sheraton is its location in the main shopping district.Well for my visit last week I was talked into trying the Han Chinese operated Yin Du by a local friend and after careful advance research (including Tripadvisor) decided to back the view taking my party of fifteen for three nights.From the moment we checked in I knew it was the right decision.The foyer area was full of activity and was bright and inviting.The rooms are twice as good as what the Sheraton charges more for! Great city views,smartly decorated rooms,very acceptable bathrooms.Internal hotel services (ie laundry) were very reliable.Not a lot of English is spoken in China's wild west but the staff worked most things through.On the second floor the Chinese restaurant (the cheapest of the hotels three - two others are exhorbitantly overpriced selling imported seafood in the middle of the desert!) and the Muslim restaurant were both excellant and great value.The negatives are the indoor pool in the basement of an adjacent building which was small and looked dangerously unhealthy;the Club lounge operates at odd early closing hours and has a very limited offering - basically its throwing money away - better to use the lobby bar or go elsewhere. Apparantly a Hilton will open in Urumqi in 2010 in a new developement but until it does Yin Du is without doubt the best five star offering in town.I was apprehensive and came away well satisfied and in fact delighted.I would return happily.The Sheraton is a typical US chain relic - avoid.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urumqi hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hilton Urumqi
Hilton Urumqi
#1 of 648 in Urumqi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
#3 of 648 in Urumqi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bayinhe Hotel Zhongshan
Bayinhe Hotel Zhongshan
#32 of 648 in Urumqi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Urumqi Southern Airlines Pearl International Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hong Fu Hotel
Hong Fu Hotel
#76 of 648 in Urumqi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxemon Xinjiang Yindu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxemon Xinjiang Yindu Hotel

Property: Luxemon Xinjiang Yindu Hotel
Address: No.179 Xihong West Road, Shayibake District, Urumqi 830000, China
Location: China > Xinjiang Uygur > Urumqi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 648 Hotels in Urumqi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Luxemon Xinjiang Yindu Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Luxemon Xinjiang Yindu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing