We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good travellers stopover.”
Review of Hoi Tak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hoi Tak Hotel
Ranked #50 of 651 Hotels in Urumqi
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good travellers stopover.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed two nights at the Hoi Tak Hotel. Rooms are a little old and probably not up to the hype of the hotel's advertising, but they are comfortable. Beds are hard but not so that you can't sleep. Bathrooms are dated and a makeover is due. However the service is good and the breakfast varied and interesting. The food is all Muslim style so it is not easy to find Western breakfast cereals and the like. Wifi not available but you can get cable internet in the rooms. Great central location right across the street from a central park area where people exercise in the mornings. Air outside is foul, not surprising given this is China's most poluted city, especially once the heaters for the city come on in late October. Overall, a typical Xinjiang hotel promising much but delivering less.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    126
    38
    7
    5
See reviews for
5
11
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macao SAR CHINA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Overall we had a nice stay. The room was spacious, clean, good service. I was surprised to read in the other reviews that they had no AC. There was one AC/heater in the room that worked perfectly well. Only the sanitaries are a bit dated but work well. The toilet flush is not very powerful and sometimes you might get nervous that it won't all go away but it did the job.
The international buffet is nice, curiously with a lot of seafood.
Good gym and swimming pool.
This is what I expect for a 4-5 stars in mainland China.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fititiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The Hoi Tak is the most commonly used hotel in Urumqi. It's nice, but a little on the older side. There is no wifi throughout the place, but cable internet is available in room at no additional charge. Breakfast buffet is standard fare. The bed is rock hard, which earns five stars from me! Service is prompt and attentive. The fitness facility leaves much to desire, which seems par for the course among Chinese (non-international brand) hotels. Older, well-used equipment in a small non-air-conditioned room.

The hotel is well placed to the People's Square across the street, great for people watching. But it is unusually difficult to get a taxi, which I have heard also from other guests.

All in all a decent place for the price, as good as you will find in Urumqi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandSaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed in 3 hotels in Urumqi and this was, but quite a margin, the worst hotel in Xinjiang and Gansu let alone Urumqi. Stay elsewhere, this place doesn't deserve your hard earned cash.

The location was initially good, being right in front of People's Square. However, it turned out to be a tricky location to hail a cab.

The facilities, at this price, are poor. The lobby is tired and unimaginative, and the original room we were given on the 28th floor looked like it was lifted from the 70's.

The service is, quite simply, awful. There is no concept of customer service.

There is no air con in the hotel. We were told by the supposed assistant manager that air con is not needed in Urumqi, and that it's usual to open the window to cool the room in this 5 star establishment. The ambient room temp at this time was 28 degrees.

After being firm with the supposed assistant manager, we were given another room on the 27th floor, which did not face direct sunlight, but was a smoking room. Again, we were advised to open the window as air con is not required.

They sent a maintenance guy to back up the supposed assistant manager, who also explained aggressively that air con is not required in this city. We told them our previous hotel in Urumqi had air con, to which he accused us of lying. Remember, this is a 5 star hotel with numerous awards (dated 2008 alas).

We asked for a city map at the reception. We were told, rather rudely, to go back to our room as there may be one there. They were unwilling to share their only copy on the reception desk. I know of no other 5 star hotel that orders their guests back to their rooms, or only keeps one copy of a city map at the front desk. Remarkable.

Do yourself a favour. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arwin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covilha, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I stay at this hotel year after year as i need to be in Urumqi for business. i don't know what is going wrong there but the AC was completely of during 2 weeks in August.
I don't think i will return there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roketas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
504 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I spent my last few days in Urumqi returning to a well known but older city hotel,after leaving a very modern one.Remembering my original visit ten years before time had stood still in this hotel,however it makes up for everything because of the attentive service and good feelings projected to visitors by the hotel staff.I had checked in early at 10am and a lovely room with a bay window overlooking the Party Square was available.The rooms also have had little modern upgrades and are still comfortable and functional.One sad point is that the carpets in public areas and the bedrooms need a good cleaning and this is my only negative point.

There are numerous facilities,varied restaurants,cigar bar,wine bar and a semi disco dance floor with entertainment that attracts beautiful women in local costumes eager to dance the night away,a very friendly and happy environment,Above the lobby the buffets are plentiful,hot and well cooked even a massive array of pastries and cookies,you could not ask for more.The rates are more than reasonable and the service is excellent,when I visited a few weeks ago there was a promotion of local red wine and it was excellent and at a bargain price.Not many Western faces when I was there but smiling faces from strangers have a habit of making you feel cosy and welcomed.

Room Tip: They are very willing to show rooms before commitment,so ask them...................
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank talentpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
285 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

This hotel is as you might expect in China, undeserving of its stars but nevertheless perfectly acceptable in the circumstances. The rooms are well stocked but not spotless. The bathroom is dated and looks a bit grubby. Everything is a bit old and worn by international standards. The staff tries to help but no one has a clue! Breakfast is above average and nothing to rave about. Check everything is working in your room before you unpack. Several rooms had air conditioning which was not working and necessitated a change so rather inconvenient if you have unpacked.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vbm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urumqi hotels
0.1 mi away
Bayinhe Hotel Zhongshan
Bayinhe Hotel Zhongshan
#34 of 651 in Urumqi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
#3 of 651 in Urumqi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Orient Dynasty Hotel
Orient Dynasty Hotel
#172 of 651 in Urumqi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mirage Hotel
Mirage Hotel
#58 of 651 in Urumqi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.8 mi away
Luxemon Xinjiang Yindu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi Tak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi Tak Hotel

Property: Hoi Tak Hotel
Address: No.219 Jiankang Road, Urumqi 830002, China
Location: China > Xinjiang Uygur > Urumqi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 651 Hotels in Urumqi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hoi Tak Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hoi Tak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing