We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel in Urumqi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Xinjiang Tumaris Grand Hotel
Ranked #255 of 656 Hotels in Urumqi
Reviewed June 21, 2013

While on a tour of the Silk Road countries with friends we stayed at the Tumaris hotel in Urimqi China. Not knowing much about the hotel I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean and comfortable with all of the usual amenities like en-suite shower / bathroom, coffee/ tea making facilities, TV though mostly Chinese stations, room service etc. Some of the breakfast dishes were unusual for a Brit but very nice and you could have as much as you wanted. In general the staff were helpful and courteous but not surprisingly there were some communication problems with English. If you want to pay the bill with cash they would only accept high denomination Dollar bills, Chinese currency or plastic. All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edmond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Xinjiang Tumaris Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 35 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are OK
Service is poor and slow
Very expensive compared to equivalents
Non-smoking floor rooms are all drenched in smoke and I couldn't breathe due to dust
Bathroom drains don't work
The furniture is not particularly pleasant and quite overbearing

Breakfast has large variety but poor quality
And is not organised very well

TV in the room did not work. But it was large screen.

Internet is cable only and no wifi

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walknico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel is located close the Grand Bazar, looks nice from outside and has great architecture in the lobby. However, the service is lousy. Upon arrival it took more than ten minutes until the reception staff took notice ofus. (one staff on the phone, one playing with her mobile, one just sitting there doing nothing) Communication was difficult in English and even in Chinese. (better you can speek Uigur)
We had a confirmed booking for a room with three beds. The receptionist told us that the room is not available and offered a suite with two beds and advised they would put an additional bed into the room. We were in the room for more than half hour and nobody came to take care of the third bed. So we called house keeping. When the staff arrived we had to convince them to put the bed in. (initially tehy said that it is not possible)
About the room: The room interior looked dated, the arm chairs and sofa wereworn and the room was dusty.
About room upkeep: When we came back to the room about 7:30 pm, the room was partially done. (bathroom was ok, but beds not done, still alot of dust around). The next day we came back at about 7:00 pm the room was not at all done.
About breakfast: The breakfast buffet was ok regarding quality and different types of food. However, on the second day they did not serve breakfast on time. The advertised starting time was 7:30 am. However, the light in the restaurant was switched on at about 7:45 and most staff arrived around 8 or even later. This is no good when you (as we did) have planned to leave early for a trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DieterRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Walking into the lobby of the hotel, you'll be bowled over by the ostentatious Uighur-style architecture of the building, which makes for a great photo souvenir. We arrived at what seemed like the busiest time of the day for the hotel and were made to wait awhile for the reception staff to process our booking.

Tumaris is located in the heart of the main Uighur neighborhood and is situated within walking distance of the city bazaar and the Erdaqiao shopping area. The neighborhood is home to a variety of good Uighur restaurants. However, if you're not up to a night in town, the buffet dinner in the lobby restaurant is a steal and offers a wide spread of Uighur food, including cooked-to-order kebabs, for only 59 RMB. Get there early though as the restaurant fills up quickly with locals.

After a week of staying in badly-run Chinese hotels in other parts of Xinjiang, Tumaris was a welcome. Our room was clean and well-maintained, although just a tad too dim for our liking. Having stayed at numerous hotels across China, we were pleasantly surprised at how soft the beds were. The pillows are also very comfortable, making for a good night's sleep.

Breakfast was a pretty impressive spread by China's standards and featured two sections - a Chinese-style breakfast with the usual pickled vegetable dishes and a non Chinese-style breakfast with Uighur and Western dishes like kebabs, boiled eggs, french fries, bread and fruit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road are noisy and the traffic kept us awake all night, even though we were on the...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed twice on different nights in the same week. First time in the section overlooking the back, more quiet, second time overlooking the avenue, nice view but intolerable noise. Rooms are dirty, dusty, carpets are old, musty, gives you an unpleasant feeling. Once the toilet was leaking, in the other the shower. Connected desktop PCs in the room! Breakfast large in quantity and variety but poor in quality. Service knows no foreign language, but concierges try their best (as compared to front desk who does not).
Location is good close to market, good local restaurants, quick and cheap taxi ride to center and northern parks.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YDz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We selected this place as Elong showed the opening date as 2007. In fact it is run down and lacking maintenance and renovation, especially the bathrooms. We had a suite with two bathrooms, which was nice to have. The room had a fridge, which was empty and not working. No water or tea in the room, but a water heater. The room had a mini safe box, which was difficult to operate, because the instruction was partially wrong. The staff is of no help as they don't speak English and don't seem to have a clue - and friendliness seems to be completely unknown to them. Breakfast buffet was basically ok, but no black coffee (the manager was not in and is the only one, who can do it), no juices, most dishes empty and not replenished.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank raben74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed one short night (left at 5:30am Beijing time) as part of a tour package organized by Old Road Tours (formerly Abdul Wahad Tours). Location is good, in the Uighur part of town, walking distance to the Grand Bazaar. Because it was part of a package I can't speak as to value for money.

Good things:
- Location
- Non-smoking rooms that really seem to be non-smoking
- Beds are comfortable (for China)
- Air conditioning works well
- Very glorious lobby, with a grand staircase, although elevators and usable spaces are not laid out particularly well

Bad things:
- Wireless internet only in lobby (and we were able to connect only with a Mac - my PC never connected)
- Hotel staff not very responsive (regardless of what language we used, including fluent Mandarin and Uighur)
- Electric switches not reliable - almost none of the lights worked in our room
- Cleanliness and maintenance leaves a lot to be desired - shelves were incredibly dusty, glass mirror was broken
- We reserved a room with a king or queen size bed (traveling as two married couples) and we were told they only had rooms with two single beds. (This also happened at the other Uighur hotel we tried in Turpan, so it might be a characteristic of all Uighur hotels.)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wigglyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urumqi hotels
0.9 mi away
Xinjiang Hongfu Luxemon Hotel
1.3 mi away
Bayinhe Hotel Zhongshan
Bayinhe Hotel Zhongshan
#65 of 656 in Urumqi
33 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Orient Dynasty Hotel
Orient Dynasty Hotel
#229 of 656 in Urumqi
41 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
#3 of 656 in Urumqi
314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green Tree Inn (Urumqi South Xinhua Road Business Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xinjiang Tumaris Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xinjiang Tumaris Grand Hotel

Address: No.618 Xinhua South Road, Tianshan District, Urumqi 830002, China
Location: China > Xinjiang Uygur > Urumqi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 656 Hotels in Urumqi
Price Range: $49 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xinjiang Tumaris Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Ctrip TA so you can book your Xinjiang Tumaris Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing