We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great airport hotel”
Review of Tianyuan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tianyuan Hotel
Ranked #7 of 663 Hotels in Urumqi
Reviewed April 29, 2012

One of the best Chinese airport hotels, with large clean rooms, and a great choice of places to eat lunch and dinner.

Arrival. The hotel has a shuttle bus from the terminals, which takes about three minutes. In summer, it will be just as long to walk to the terminal as the road layout doesn't take into account the access to the airport.

There is an ATM and self service checkin machine in the lobby.

Rooms. Huge, and very clean. Rooms are either twin or king size. The king size rooms have one design quirk - the bathroom is virtually open plan with the bedroom, with a huge glass window into the room, and no door. Just make sure you know your room guest well before you stay here! I understand the twin rooms are different. The airport has flights right throughout the night, but I wasn't disturbed throughout the two nights I was there.

Location. Right by the terminal, and probably 20 mins from town centre. No problems getting taxis.

Food and drink. The airport hotel has an excellent choice of places to eat. I had a banquet lunch in the hotel which was very very good. In the basement of the hotel there is a KTV and Sauna, and two more fast food style diners. These are very popular with airport staff, which points to good value and good food. I had dinner in one (on the left) which was tasty, with enough variety to suit western and local tastes.

Checkout. Was impossibly slow as I asked to pay three rooms on one card. Took them 40 minutes. I should have learnt by now to keep things simple.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheDiplomat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 55 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

Located just opposite Kashi Airport (but still a 10 min drive, as you have to go all the way around several blocks to get there), this is a very convenient hotel for a night stop. Superior Twin Room comes with 2 Queen beds, so big enough for 2 adults and 2 children. We couldn't figure out how to use the TV though and check-in was painfully slow at 10.30 pm. However, rooms are clean and free shuttle bus to/from airport was useful. Breakfast wasn't great - very oily, cold Chinese dishes, stale toast bread and little fruit. All in all, not bad, although nothing special.

Room Tip: Superior Twin rooms big enough to sleep 4. Paid RMB 850 incl. breakfast and taxes etc on Ctrip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bamboo401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I was overnighting on the way to Kashi and not expecting much - but ended up quite pleased with the hotel. The rooms were well appointed, clean, large and with comfortable beds. When I say comfortable, these were truly above average for Chinese standard, but a ways to go before the Westin Heavenly Bed. The check in staff was a bit disorganized when we got there, but we got in ok eventually. Breakfast was one of the best I've had in a Chinese hotel- lots of fruit choices, reasonable Western pastries and breads and plenty of Chinese options. Really quite good. The hotel is a bit pricey for China but not bad overall. You are literally at the airport, just 5 minutes from the terminal which is visible from the hotel. You really can't go wrong with this one.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

this is my second stay here and i will be here for 3 nights this week, instead of going downtown for a hotel, this is the perfect location for the business traveler who requires immediate access to airport travel.
In my particular case i am spending time in the Xinjiang region with flights to Hetian, Akesu, and Kashi, so Urumqi airport is the hub in Xinjiang province to reach these cities by air.
The hotel is actually a stones throw away from the airport terminal # 2, and were it not for all my luggage i would have walked to the hotel instead of the shuttle.
The shuttle actually runs every 15 minutes, and its a few minutes ride.

The rooms are very comfortable, well lit, clean, and amazingly quiet in spite of its proximity to the airport runways. There is no waiting time at the elevators unlike other hotels in China especially during the peak rush hours.

The water in the shower only got lukewarm, and there is no bathtub, which i assume is expected of an airport hotel.

There is no mini bar although there is a mini fridge, which was not working. There is however on the ground floor a small shop which has the basics.

The amenity which i would like to see offered is some english newspaper like the China Daily, and also English TV stations like CNN, and HBO or the like. Perhaps in Xinjiang its not permitted at this time, maybe due to the 2008 riots.

The AC in the room was excellent although a little noisy. The room is well insulated and must have good soundproofing which is helpful and relaxing after a full days work.

The breakfast buffet for a westerner needs some improvement in the area of fresh vegetables, and cold cereal varieties like sugar frosted flakes. Also fresh squeezed orange juice would be better in place of orange flavored drink.

All in all its an excellent hotel for the price, and location for the business traveler who is focused on Urumqi airport to get around and about, and i would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sukyevd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Tianyuan Hotel - Perfect hotel for transfer nights.
We stayed in the Tianyuan Hotel only for one night.
The hotel is the best choice e.g. if you have a transfer night at Urumqi Airport.
The hotel is very close to the airport and offers also an airport pick-up service.
Standard rooms are big and clean.
Internet, TV and a huge shower is available.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beberlin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

This new Hotel (has been open one year) is the best choice if staying at Urumqi airport. We acutally stayed at this hotel 3 times instead of staying in the town and were glad we did. The staff are excellent, (some speak English) very helpful and friendly. The restaurant serves excellent breakfast buffet. There are a choice of restaurants for lunch and dinner, with a choice of buffet or al a carte. Rooms very comfortable, top class sevice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rolling_Clv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urumqi hotels
Hilton Urumqi
#1 of 663 in Urumqi
101 reviews
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
#3 of 663 in Urumqi
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Urban District
Home Inn (Urumqi Xibei Road)
Taxinan Hotel
#43 of 663 in Urumqi
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tianyuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tianyuan Hotel

Address: No.1341 Yingbin Road, Xinshi District, Urumqi 830026, China
Location: China > Xinjiang Uygur > Urumqi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 663 Hotels in Urumqi
Price Range: $66 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Tianyuan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing