We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Tree Inn (Urumqi South Xinhua Road Business Hotel)
Ranked #225 of 662 Hotels in Urumqi
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Of course when you're paying in the 200rmb a night range you're not going to get luxury, and in Urumqi as a foreigner your options are limited. Green Tree is in a good location, the rooms are clean and well equipped, if not beautiful (there are some cracks in the plaster on the walls) and the staff are helpful and non-stanoffish. Since they're a chain you pretty much know what you're going to get. Our only complaint was that our room was a bit small, but we weren't spending a lot of time in the room anyhow. This is a basic 3 star Chinese hotel. People with experience traveling in China and know what to expect from Chinese hotels won't be surprised -- pleasantly or unpleasantly -- by their experience here.

I made reservations ahead of time on the Green Tree website and although our train was late coming in, Green Tree called and made sure we still wanted the room and held it for us until we finally arrived at around midnight.

I have 2 small kids so hostels aren't always an option anymore. For travelers that are on a budget but don't want the hostel atmosphere Green Tree is a solid choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JessLWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 73 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

Friendly staff at check in with basic English.
Rooms are small but ok in standard.
Enough for 1 or 2 night stay.
Location is not bad just south of the main shopping and action areas.
We ended up here as everywhere we went before was full, but overall a good stay.
Air con, basic minbar with no fridge, tv with loads of those great Chinese channels if that is your thing :-)

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Stu531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Being the only option on Agoda, and highly rated on Trip Advisor, no one could be blamed for giving this Hotel a try for their first night in Urumqi. But, if you choose to stay longer, it's your own fault. Many hotels in this neighborhood, and rates entirely negotiable on arrival. Green Tree a chain hotel and billed as business class: two red flags in the world of Chinese hostelry. Rooms are small -- with bed against the wall and minimal closet space. Maintained ok, but like most things Chinese is showing premature age. Thankfully, room is not carpeted. Had an even-numbered room (quiet side) which had new windows that blocked all street noise. Bed a little firm, but not a bad sleeping environment. Cable internet good and free, TV channels all Chinese. No restaurant or anything else . Minimal English spoken. Hotel is located in a good area of town where you can walk around to find a better hotel for your next night. Checkout at 2 p.m. Cab from airport to Green Tree was $7 fare and took about 30 minutes coming in at night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Stayed here one night prior to heading to Kazakhstan. Staff spoke minimal English, but was very helpful. Helped me find the bus station and wrote the address in Mandarin for me. Also recommended a great Uighur restaurant down the block. Room was in decent shape, paper thin walls so you here your neighbors and their activities quite clearly, bathroom left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wandering_roadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Located close to erdaoqiao market and some of teh mosquees.
Staf do not speak English . Are very helpfull and friendly.
Convenient room and bathroom. worth for the price.
IThere is a canteen for breakfast (buffet for "cny) and diner (buffet fro 69 cny) very close to hotel advices by the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mayimei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed September 20, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 27, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludwig5119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urumqi hotels
0 mi away
Jinjiang Inn Urumchi Hongqi Road
2 mi away
Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel
1 mi away
7 Days Inn Hotel Guangming Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hilton Urumqi
Hilton Urumqi
#1 of 662 in Urumqi
98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanting Express Urumqi Changjiang Road Yutian Street
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
#3 of 662 in Urumqi
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Tree Inn (Urumqi South Xinhua Road Business Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tree Inn (Urumqi South Xinhua Road Business Hotel)

Address: No.295 Xinhua South Road, Tianshan District, Urumqi 830004, China
Location: China > Xinjiang Uygur > Urumqi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 662 Hotels in Urumqi
Price Range: $23 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Tree Inn (Urumqi South Xinhua Road Business Hotel) 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Green Tree Inn (Urumqi South Xinhua Road Business Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing