We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu
Ranked #26 of 2,639 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Third visit to this location and was fortunate to stay on the club floors. Although a little out from the city centre, the hotel is great and nothing is too much trouble for the ever attentive staff. Look forward to my next visit.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank N_C-ABZ-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear N_C-ABZ-UK,
It is always our honor to welcome you back with us at InterContinental Century City Chengdu. We are delighted to learn that you truly enjoyed the overall experience. Thank you for sharing your inspiring review with us and we do hope to be able to welcome you back not far in the near future.
Jenny Wei
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    265
    50
    16
    7
See reviews for
9
29
15
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights due to its close proximity to the industrial development area. Hotel has a grand lobby, was upgraded to the club level due to the platinum status. Good business hotel, decent service, room is clean, huge and well equipped. Location is not near the city centre and getting a cab in the evening to the city might be a problem due to traffic jam. Will only recommend this hotel if you want to be close to the conventional centre or the industrial development area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear catherine l,
We want to take this opportunity to thank you for your continuous loyalty to IHG as a platinum member and share your feedback regarding your recent stayed with us. We were pleased to be able to offer you an upgrade during your stay and extremely glad to hear that you enjoyed tremendously. Thank you once again for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Century City Chengdu.
Jenny Wei
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I stayed in this InterCon briefly, on business, 19th & 20th December 2013. I spend a good deal of time in hotels all over the world - large and small, grand and plain - and the quality of service, food and accommodation varies hugely, and not always in concert with the cost or reputation!

With that in mind, I compliment the InterContinental Group and in particular, the designers, managers and staff of the InterContinental Century City, on a really fine hotel, in every respect. From the warmth of the welcome, the huge range of facilities, including the 'village' that constitutes part of the hotel site, food, architecture and atmosphere. If I were to chose one superlative, it would be the staff, who, without exception, were brilliant. Well done.

Room Tip: My only criticism, which may be 'cultural', is associated with smoking. Smoking is still co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilandLidia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear PhilandLidia,
We sincerely appreciate your kind review regarding your recent stayed with us at InterContinental Century City Chengdu. It was our pleasure to be able to provide you with such a good experience. We will certainly share your review with all of our colleagues and we truly hope being able to welcoming you back with us again.
Jenny Wei
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Initially a beautiful hotel, but the cracks soon become apparent. The whole lobby area including the main restaurants and only bar are part of a huge atrium which appears to be totally lacking any form of heating and presumably air conditioning. In November, this meant that food on the buffet was cold, hot dishes prepared in the kitchen soon cooled down, and most people -staff and customers (including Chinese locals) sat eating and drinking in their overcoats. By contrast bedrooms were overheated and the controls had been disabled centrally. We turned ours off and eventually got the temperature down to 21C after 3 days. When the weather turned and we wanted some heat, it would not turn back on, and as most of the staff have very limited English, it took a further day to get 2 electric heaters delivered to the room. The staff and service will get better with time, but the building itself needs some fundamental rethinking which is a shame, as it is beautiful. There are better hotels in Chengdu - we also stayed at the Shangrila which is a true 5 star world class hotel by any standard.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Manager at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at InterContinental Century City Chengdu. Your feedback is valuable for us to improve our guest satisfaction and we regret for the inconvenience cause due to the central heating system. We will continue to conduct staff English training and look forward for your next visit with us to witness the best of our true InterContinental service.
Angela Wen
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
116 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Intercontinental chengdu does what it offers very well, it is a good business hotel next to a convention centre toward the edge of the city. It does feel a little impersonal and over scaled as most convention hotels are and therefore may not be the best choice for leisure visitors, albeit the colossal global centre is 5 mins away.

Rooms in the hotel are well furnished and very large. We had breakfast in the club lounge which was excellent.

My only disappointment with hotel was lack of pool facilities for such a high end and large hotel. With intercontinental global centre opening they will need to be their game to attract visitors.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKlondon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Manager, Web Interactive Marketing at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at InterContinental Century City Chengdu. We are pleased to hear that you had a great time at our Club lounge and stay experience. For your information, if you are caring for health conscious and we do also have a Chinese Gongfu - "Tai-Ji Quan" practising at the Lobby daily from Monday to Sunday, excluding Saturday. We looking forward your next visit and stay with us not far in near future.
Angela Wen
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel has no air conditioning and the room is at 25.7 degrees celcius. Management says they are in the transition to winter schedules so their air conditioning is shut down. If you are like me who sleeps at 21 celcius, then you won't be able to sleep right now in this hotel. They don't even have enough electric coolers for every room. So you are out of luck if you are late in requesting one. Food is good at the buffet. Don't try the French restaurant at the 5th floor, they don't know what they are doing. Just outside of the hotel there are some nice restaurants. Unless you have to attend a show (Century Exhibition Hall) I would suggest that Shangri-la is much nicer where I stayed twice previously and the difference is heaven and earth.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VancouverTenpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear VancouverTenpro,
Thank you for taking the previous time to share with us of your concerns. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience caused due to the climate change. We would like to assure you that we have highlighted your feedback and appropriate corrective action has been taken. We hope you may give us an opportunity in the future to display our high level of services and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Jenny Wei
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

One of the top hotels that I have stayed at. Lobby and service are excellent. Rooms are very large with top line furnishings. Magnificent bed and pillows. Bathrooms are huge. Hotel is connected to conference centre. The buffet breakfast and lunch were very impressive, with such an assortment of dishes that you could eat for a week without problem. Just sorry I couldn't try the dinner buffet.

The location may not be as convenient for tourists, but it certainly is an excellent choice for business travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLam2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear RLam2010,
Thank you for taking the time to share your inspiring review regarding your recent stayed with us at InterContinental Century City Chengdu.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we have made your whole stayed experience a memorable one. We are delighted to have your praise as the top hotel that you have ever stayed. We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they can deserve.
Please do visit us again soon for another memorable experience stay.
Jenny Wei
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
5.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#6 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,639 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The St. Regis Chengdu
The St. Regis Chengdu
#14 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
3.7 mi away
Renaissance Chengdu Hotel
Renaissance Chengdu Hotel
#11 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Chengdu
Hilton Chengdu
#4 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu

Property: InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu
Address: No.88 Century City Road, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610041, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 2,639 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu 5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the best of European tradition and Chinese warmth, the InterContinental Century City Chengdu stands out as an exciting new landmark in the capital of Sichuan province. The hotel offers a full range of guestrooms and suites, an array of excellent restaurant and lounge offerings, a stylish Spa and first-class event and business facilities. Serving as an ideal venue for the business traveller in Chengdu, the hotel is within walking distance of the Chengdu International Exhibition Centre and a 20-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing