We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu
Ranked #28 of 2,676 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tip Top”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

A very good and modern hotel. Has all the amenities you would expect from a business hotel with 24 hour Gym facility. Great and modern rooms with very comfortable beds. I am generally not a big fan of InterContinental as I find their hotels to be very varied in terms of standards but this is a very good hotel. Friendly staff, great breakfast buffet and modern and up to date facilities. If you are on business in Chengdu stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredrikWidell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear FredrikWidell,

Thank you for taking the precious time to share your review during your recent stayed with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel services and facilities and we truly hope you will be our big fan of InterContinental by impressing you with our warm hospitality and quality service standards. We look forward for your return to stay with us again at InterContinental Century City Chengdu.

Jenny Wei

Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    266
    51
    16
    7
See reviews for
9
31
15
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
309 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at this lovely hotel for eight nights while attending a tradeshow nearby. What a knock-out --- this place is gorgeous. The lobby is grandiose, and the décor all around is a treat for the senses. Too bad they allow smoking in the hotel (but the lobby is so spacious, it wasn’t much of an issue). My room was large, comfortable, lovely…with a walk-in closet, and I’d made sure to request a no-smoking floor. The bathroom in particular was excellent (glassed in shower, separate tub, small room with toilet). The breakfast buffet, which was included in my room package, was very nice, with an impressive array of juices, lots of fresh fruit, and many other dishes. It was by far my favorite meal of the day. A couple of nights I enjoyed pizza in the hotel’s Italian restaurant. As with everywhere in the hotel, attractive décor. This is the first place I’ve ever seen a menu on an iPad (impressive, but didn’t like it – paper menu is easier and faster than scrolling back and forth, back and forth…). The lobby restaurant selections didn’t seem so appealing to my personal taste. The first time I ate there (other than for bfast), while the lunch buffet was in progress (but not very busy), I ordered something very basic, I believe it was fried rice, and had to wait about 20-25 minutes for my food. Surprisingly slow service. We ate a couple of times at the fancy Chinese restaurant upstairs – which was almost always empty – and there also it took a while to get our food. Strange. (But attentive wait staff in the Chinese & Italian restaurants.) One night I ate in the lounge (basic fish & chips) where a person could enjoy some live music. (Luckily, there weren’t many people there smoking at that time.) The hotel staff was friendly (acknowledged you with a smile) - efficient at the front desk. I speak no Chinese and got along fine. What this beautiful hotel could use is a little shop, typical in many large hotels, that sells souvenirs, postcards, odds & ends you might have forgotten to pack or have run out of (various toiletries), beverages (sodas, juice, water), and snacks. There were no 7-Elevens in the vicinity, and no convenience stores or McDonald’s that I saw, so this would’ve been nice. The hotel was within easy walking distance of Century City tradeshow venue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WItravelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear WItravelingirl,
Thank you for choosing stayed with us at InterContinental Century City Chengdu during your business traveling.
With a passion for delighting our guests, it is always pleasing to hear such of an enjoyable experience.
To be a great hotel and guest love is our primary vision to achieve. We are happy to know that you truly impressed on our hotel's grandiose lobby, comfortable guest room, nice breakfast and even the helpful staff.
Your feedback is very valuable for us and enables us to improve our service quality. We acknowledge your inconvenience due to slow service. Please rest assured that we have look into the points that you mention and a service recovery measure has been taken immediately.
Once again, we thank you for your constructive feedback and look forward to your continuous support for InterContinental Century City Chengdu.
Jenny Wei
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very nice hotel property, great lobby and rooms - and still a really good Italian restaurant. However, in the bar they don't understand 'Gin & Tonic', in the coffee shop they don't know what a 'Regular Coke' is.
This just confirms the rule 'Stay away from 5-star hotels in China with an Asian national as General Manager'. He has no problem communicating with his staff in Mandarin Chinese - but for international travelers who not yet speak Chinese this adds a level of frustration that we do not expect to encounter in expensive 5-star hotels.
Also annoying not to be able to get brown bread at breakfast - only white bread/croissants etc are offered. When arriving to the airport at 2.30 am in the morning - after a 3.5 hours flight delay from Shanghai - the booked car pick up is not there! The hotel fails to give an explanation why the driver was not at the airport? Did another guest take our car?
Really surprising that the service level not has improved over the past two years.
Obviously too little attention to staff training.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter778899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear skierMilano,
Thank you very much for choosing InterContinental Century City Chengdu. We are delighted to hear that you have great dining experience in our Italian restaurant and as well enjoyed very much on our hotel atmosphere and facilities during your recent stayed with us, also appreciated you have taking the precious time to advise us of your expectation, which is the first step towards improvement of our services.
For your information, service recovery measure has been taken immediately as we are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We would like the opportunity to welcome you back in an effort to provide you the level of service you expect from us.
Jenny Wei
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here on business for a few days last week. The service from the breakfast staff was exceptional... if you are having breakfast the staff can make you a coffee rather than use the small machine near the buffet. Waffles are amazing make sure you treat yourself and worry about burning it off later!

There is no swimming pool in the hotel but the gym is equipped with a regular 4.5-5 star hotel setup. Decor, bed and pillows are exceptional and it is one of the only hotels I have stayed at in China that has a consistent english TV broadcast and internet connection.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtsaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear mtsaus,
Thank you very much for your detailed review and full support to InterContinental Century City Chengdu. It is glad to learn that our delicious breakfast and excellent services have left you with a great mood in Chengdu. We're thrilled you enjoyed our facilities, especially English TV broadcast and internet. We hope that you will choose our hotel again when you are back in Chengdu so that we may continue to extend our sincere hospitality to you.
Thank you.
Jenny Wei
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere On The Road Between Sydney And Europe
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Although along way south of the city centre in a new area near the exhibition and conference centre, this is one of the best and most comfortable hotels in China, fully living up to the Intercon standard.

The lobby is tastefully grand, with a Chengdu Tea House style, reception is efficient and friendly and the rooms are large, comfortable and well furnished equipped with DVD player, Ipod dock and stereo system. The glass walled bathroom is large, with free standing tub, separate shower, separate WC and automatic blinds for privacy. A nice touch is the incense burner lamp with a choice of fragrances

Breakfast has a wide choice of well presented and comprehensive selection of western and Chinese dishes。Service is generally excellent, efficient and friendly, mostly with good english.

Overlooking what is quite possibly the largest building in the world, and a riverside park in the making, the hotel is within walking distance of the n-s metro line, approx. 30minutes to the city centre and a similar drive time to airport and the panda base. In the immediate environs of the hotel is an instant “ancient” village, with an array of stone houses and narrow laneways, mostly still awaiting tenants, although there are several flourishing restaurants, including a branch of Sunxing, a famous Sichuan restaurant styled as a Chengdu tea house with nightly face changing and Sichuan opera performances.

In short, if you don’t need to be in the city centre and want a comfortable modern place to stay, the Intercon at Century City is quite possibly the best choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepidtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Intrepidtoo,

Thanks for taking the time to share your comfortable stayed at InterContinental Century City Chengdu. We are delighted to heard that your wonderful stayed experience with us, especially you mention of the beautiful facilities, friendly staff and excellent food. It’s wonderful to learned that we are exceeded your expectations and we certainly be proud to have such satisfied guest like you. We would like to thank you again and we can assure you that your comments will not only motivate our team but also encourage them to achieve and maintain as well improve on the service you expecting from us.

We look forward to seeing and serving you again in the near future.

Jenny Wei
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Perfect hotel for business.
Luxury. Good taste.
Just need some more training for staff, but everything else is just perfect. They know it and they are improving it. Location is faraway from city, but near the exhibition center.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Distribution & Relationship Marketing at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Gb G,
Thank you for choosing InterContinental Century City Chengdu as your preferred hotel and we hope you enjoyed your stay with us. It is pleasure and fantastic to read that that you found we are perfect. Also, we feel thankful to for your understanding on our improving service and please rest assured that we are conducting staff training sessions to ensure our service delivered to guest is up to InterContinental standards. We would be grateful if you could allow us the opportunity of welcoming you once again in the future.
Jenny Wei
Distribution & Relationship Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Everything is great except that the wired Internet connection didn't work in my room, told the reception at the morning and they promised to check. But still didn't work and didn't know whether they took seriously my request.
The Location is a little far, consider the traffic condition at Chengdu within this period, if you go frequently to the center of the city, you won't be happy

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shens13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear shens13,
Thank you for choosing InterContinental Century City Chengdu. Sorry for any inconvenience brought to you during your stay. Please rest assured that we have looked into the points you mentioned about our internet and staff service attitude with the relevant department heads. We will continue to work hard and ensure our guests a comfortable and pleasurable stay here with us.If you have transportation needs during your stay, you may contact hotel Concierge. They would like to make your travel be more comfortable. .We are sincerely hoping your return with a happier experience here.
Jenny Wei
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Chengdu Global Center
7.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,676 in Chengdu
480 reviews
7.0 mi away
The St. Regis Chengdu
The St. Regis Chengdu
#7 of 2,676 in Chengdu
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Chengdu
Hilton Chengdu
#6 of 2,676 in Chengdu
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower
5.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#8 of 2,676 in Chengdu
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu

Property: InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu
Address: No.88 Century City Road, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610041, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 2,676 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu 5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the best of European tradition and Chinese warmth, the InterContinental Century City Chengdu stands out as an exciting new landmark in the capital of Sichuan province. The hotel offers a full range of guestrooms and suites, an array of excellent restaurant and lounge offerings, a stylish Spa and first-class event and business facilities. Serving as an ideal venue for the business traveller in Chengdu, the hotel is within walking distance of the Chengdu International Exhibition Centre and a 20-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing