We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here if you don't speak Chinese!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu
Ranked #27 of 2,652 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Don't stay here if you don't speak Chinese!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very nice hotel property, great lobby and rooms - and still a really good Italian restaurant. However, in the bar they don't understand 'Gin & Tonic', in the coffee shop they don't know what a 'Regular Coke' is.
This just confirms the rule 'Stay away from 5-star hotels in China with an Asian national as General Manager'. He has no problem communicating with his staff in Mandarin Chinese - but for international travelers who not yet speak Chinese this adds a level of frustration that we do not expect to encounter in expensive 5-star hotels.
Also annoying not to be able to get brown bread at breakfast - only white bread/croissants etc are offered. When arriving to the airport at 2.30 am in the morning - after a 3.5 hours flight delay from Shanghai - the booked car pick up is not there! The hotel fails to give an explanation why the driver was not at the airport? Did another guest take our car?
Really surprising that the service level not has improved over the past two years.
Obviously too little attention to staff training.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter778899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear skierMilano,
Thank you very much for choosing InterContinental Century City Chengdu. We are delighted to hear that you have great dining experience in our Italian restaurant and as well enjoyed very much on our hotel atmosphere and facilities during your recent stayed with us, also appreciated you have taking the precious time to advise us of your expectation, which is the first step towards improvement of our services.
For your information, service recovery measure has been taken immediately as we are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We would like the opportunity to welcome you back in an effort to provide you the level of service you expect from us.
Jenny Wei
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    266
    51
    16
    7
See reviews for
9
30
15
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here on business for a few days last week. The service from the breakfast staff was exceptional... if you are having breakfast the staff can make you a coffee rather than use the small machine near the buffet. Waffles are amazing make sure you treat yourself and worry about burning it off later!

There is no swimming pool in the hotel but the gym is equipped with a regular 4.5-5 star hotel setup. Decor, bed and pillows are exceptional and it is one of the only hotels I have stayed at in China that has a consistent english TV broadcast and internet connection.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtsaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear mtsaus,
Thank you very much for your detailed review and full support to InterContinental Century City Chengdu. It is glad to learn that our delicious breakfast and excellent services have left you with a great mood in Chengdu. We're thrilled you enjoyed our facilities, especially English TV broadcast and internet. We hope that you will choose our hotel again when you are back in Chengdu so that we may continue to extend our sincere hospitality to you.
Thank you.
Jenny Wei
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere On The Road Between Sydney And Europe
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Although along way south of the city centre in a new area near the exhibition and conference centre, this is one of the best and most comfortable hotels in China, fully living up to the Intercon standard.

The lobby is tastefully grand, with a Chengdu Tea House style, reception is efficient and friendly and the rooms are large, comfortable and well furnished equipped with DVD player, Ipod dock and stereo system. The glass walled bathroom is large, with free standing tub, separate shower, separate WC and automatic blinds for privacy. A nice touch is the incense burner lamp with a choice of fragrances

Breakfast has a wide choice of well presented and comprehensive selection of western and Chinese dishes。Service is generally excellent, efficient and friendly, mostly with good english.

Overlooking what is quite possibly the largest building in the world, and a riverside park in the making, the hotel is within walking distance of the n-s metro line, approx. 30minutes to the city centre and a similar drive time to airport and the panda base. In the immediate environs of the hotel is an instant “ancient” village, with an array of stone houses and narrow laneways, mostly still awaiting tenants, although there are several flourishing restaurants, including a branch of Sunxing, a famous Sichuan restaurant styled as a Chengdu tea house with nightly face changing and Sichuan opera performances.

In short, if you don’t need to be in the city centre and want a comfortable modern place to stay, the Intercon at Century City is quite possibly the best choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepidtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Intrepidtoo,

Thanks for taking the time to share your comfortable stayed at InterContinental Century City Chengdu. We are delighted to heard that your wonderful stayed experience with us, especially you mention of the beautiful facilities, friendly staff and excellent food. It’s wonderful to learned that we are exceeded your expectations and we certainly be proud to have such satisfied guest like you. We would like to thank you again and we can assure you that your comments will not only motivate our team but also encourage them to achieve and maintain as well improve on the service you expecting from us.

We look forward to seeing and serving you again in the near future.

Jenny Wei
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Perfect hotel for business.
Luxury. Good taste.
Just need some more training for staff, but everything else is just perfect. They know it and they are improving it. Location is faraway from city, but near the exhibition center.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Distribution & Relationship Marketing at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Gb G,
Thank you for choosing InterContinental Century City Chengdu as your preferred hotel and we hope you enjoyed your stay with us. It is pleasure and fantastic to read that that you found we are perfect. Also, we feel thankful to for your understanding on our improving service and please rest assured that we are conducting staff training sessions to ensure our service delivered to guest is up to InterContinental standards. We would be grateful if you could allow us the opportunity of welcoming you once again in the future.
Jenny Wei
Distribution & Relationship Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Everything is great except that the wired Internet connection didn't work in my room, told the reception at the morning and they promised to check. But still didn't work and didn't know whether they took seriously my request.
The Location is a little far, consider the traffic condition at Chengdu within this period, if you go frequently to the center of the city, you won't be happy

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shens13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear shens13,
Thank you for choosing InterContinental Century City Chengdu. Sorry for any inconvenience brought to you during your stay. Please rest assured that we have looked into the points you mentioned about our internet and staff service attitude with the relevant department heads. We will continue to work hard and ensure our guests a comfortable and pleasurable stay here with us.If you have transportation needs during your stay, you may contact hotel Concierge. They would like to make your travel be more comfortable. .We are sincerely hoping your return with a happier experience here.
Jenny Wei
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent 4 nights at InterContinental Century City Hotel with my wife (3 nights registered under her name and 1 night under my name). In between the 3/1 night stay, we went to Emei Mountain, and stayed one night in a local 5-stars hotel, which was much more expensive than the InterContinental. The contrast in the quality of the service between local hotel and western hotel made us appreciate much more what we had in InterContinental.
The service was great: we felt the welcome by the hotel staff when we stepped in to the hotel lobby. While we checked in, there were hotel staff came to offer us a refreshment drink, and other took care of our luggage to our room. Because we have been members with the hotel chain, we got also a complementary drink coupon for the hotel bar.
The modern "see through" bathroom makes the room feel larger. The king bed is very comfortable, which was most important element to us. There is also a walk-in closet that is rare in a hotel room.
The breakfast buffet was good but not impressive in comparison to other western hotel we stayed during our trip to China. However, I liked the seating on the left side of restaurant, a semi-enclosed seating fits for 4-6 people, which gives its guests the privacy, and enjoyment of conversation in a quiet and luxury environment (see attached picture).
We went there for work, and had a big Audi and a driver for us during the first 3 days. And then, when we returned back from Emei, we went back to the hotel by Taxi. The door man came to our taxi to open the door for us, but at last second, he changed his mind and moved away to another luxury car arrived just behind us - to serve someone more important than us. Well, it was understandable. For those who want a full attention from the hotel staff, you may consider to book a limo service for your stay. It is less expensive than you may guess.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinT888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Distribution & Relationship Marketing at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Kevin T888,
Thank you very much for your sincere comments after your recent stay at InterContinental Century City Chengdu. The guest experience is something we take very seriously and we very much appreciate you being our guests. It’s great to learn that our hotel‘s environment and service impressed you and your family deeply. Your appreciation upon check-in service and hotel environment, including see through bath room and walk-in closet are honors of us to provide. Please rest assured that we have looked into the points you mentioned about doorman’s service, we will enhance our basic service training. We hope that you will choose our hotel again when you are back in Chengdu so that we may continue to extend our sincere hospitality to you.
Jenny Wei
Distribution & Relationship Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in InterContinental Chengdu. The hotel property is beautiful and everything is in great condition and exceptionally clean.The lobby design was very nice.Breakfast was in the Cafe in the main lobby. A beautiful location and lots of food choices. . We just stayed one night. We went to visit the Panda research Center and enjoyed that tremendously.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericmon928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Ericmon928,
Thank you for taking time to post your review regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Century City Chengdu. It is appreciated that you both mentioned all hotel merits in nice designed lobby, beautiful Café and various food. There is always a lot to do on the way of being a guest loved hotel. We are surely taking every effort to improve to be better and best. we look forward to providing you another exceptional stay.
Jenny Wei
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Chengdu Global Center
5.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#6 of 2,652 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,652 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The St. Regis Chengdu
The St. Regis Chengdu
#11 of 2,652 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#17 of 2,652 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu

Property: InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu
Address: No.88 Century City Road, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610041, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 2,652 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu 5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the best of European tradition and Chinese warmth, the InterContinental Century City Chengdu stands out as an exciting new landmark in the capital of Sichuan province. The hotel offers a full range of guestrooms and suites, an array of excellent restaurant and lounge offerings, a stylish Spa and first-class event and business facilities. Serving as an ideal venue for the business traveller in Chengdu, the hotel is within walking distance of the Chengdu International Exhibition Centre and a 20-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing