We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu
Ranked #21 of 2,781 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Highly recommend this hotel.. Beautiful rooms and good housekeeping. Language could be an issue at times sp at the lobby bar, porters and concierge staff but their supervisors can always help. Try Intercon if you happen to be in Chengdu next time.

Stayed: November 2012
Thank AllyAhmed_Maldives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your recommendation after staying at Intercontinental Century City Chengdu. There is always a lot to do on the way of being a guest loved hotel. We are surely taking every effort to improve to be better and best. We are right here waiting for your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 727 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

Before I write anything about the Hotel please contact Giulio Martinatto (Guest Relations Manager) and James (Concierge) for anything and everything you want in Intercon. We couldn't have got a better person to help us with facilities, food (we are vegetarians) and transportation. Extremely patient and friendly.
We stayed in the Hotel only for a day first and then on return from Jiuzhai for 2 days.
We were upgraded to a better room and treated really well. We had odd flight timings and Giulio made sure we get packed breakfast at 4 in the morning. Well trained staff, beautiful deco and ambience. Communication is always problem in China but both of them made sure we had Travel cards of Hotel with us where ever we wanted to go.
James suggested a Vegetarian place (Vegetarian Life Style - Separate review) after my husband exchanged 40 odd e-mails with him. It was out of the world dining and all credit goes to James.
Hotel Rooms were fantastic. I was celebrating my B'day and when we got back to Hotel we had a surprise gift (panda teddy) and huge cake waiting in the room.
Don't miss there buffet breakfast as they have everything under the sun. Too Good.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large with good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zipza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear guest, what a delightful review! We are definitely proud to have such dedicated staff and satisfied guest. At the same time, it is our responsibility to improve all staff service to exceed all guest expectations. Don’t miss other stars of our staff when you come to us next time! We look forward to welcome you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

A new hotel, however staff non existent, or unable to understand English.

One chooses to stay at an American brand for the home comforts, but also to have one's mother tongue spoken by all. Order coffee at breakfast, and you get tea??? where are the toilets, and a supervisor has to come over. Help with bags at checkout, no porters anywhere, called my own taxi...

Come on guys, get it together!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandAonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear guest, welcome to InterContinental Century City Chengdu! Thank you for your review after your stay with us. The issues you pointed out have been submitted and improved. It is our hope you will enjoy with us when you come next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Arrived one evening, and my company had dropped the ball with reservations. Staff was very pleasant, but gave me a room I did not care for. Next day they changed rooms for me and left a nice bottle of wine as a thank you.

Restaurant was nice, had both the breakfast buffet as well as dinner. Not overpriced when compared to usual 5 star venues. Good food.

Staff in lobby and restaurant were top notch. Some spoke better english than others, but everything worked out well. Selection of nice places to eat and shop out the back door.

Hope to stay here every trip to Chengdu

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear guest, it is always our honor to welcome you back at InterContinental Century City Chengdu! Surely our staff will be proud of themselves to have you served well. It is also an encouragement for us to improve better. Let’s meet again here, hopefully soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights. Hotel is located in a very newly development part of the city, not really far from Sichuan University where I need to do some work at. Hotel has this amazing lobby. Room is big and comfortable, truly 5 star facilities, bed is big and comfortable. Bathroom is big with huge spa bathtub. Hotel has very nice gym and swimming pool. Breakfast and lunch buffet are great! a lot of choices. Lunch buffet also has some tasty Indian curry, just so tasty. Service in general are pretty good, but there are some unfriendly staff around. Hotel also has a bird cage at dinning area, this big bird was caged in the lobby. I don't understand how this bird cage could improve my dining experience, in fact probably make me feel really uncomfortable. There are some restaurants and shops behind the hotel, you could go out from backdoor. All in all it was great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melbcollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for staying at InterContinental Century City Chengdu and post your review afterwards. It is appreciated that you both mentioned all hotel merits in service, foods and rooms and suggestions for us to improve. As members of our “staff”, these birds learn to welcome guests in an interesting way. In case of guest safety, birds are caged for watch. We hope to create a leisure atmosphere close to nature. We look forward to your next trip with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Spent 4 days at the Intercontinental Hotel in Chengdu. Hotel staff was very friendly. Hotel very nice. Great lobby I loved the music and tai chi in the lobby every morning. Breakfast was great and the evening buffet well stocked. Hotel had a nice open lobby bar. The 2 pc band was very pleasant. One night a patron convinced the band to let him sing. I thought OMG but he was awesome blues singer. Very entertaining. Bartender from Australia was a pleasant fellow. Eva was a great waitress. My basck was bothering me. Had a visit to the spa and Rose fixed it. Great room, Great food, Great staff ......Great hotel.

Room Tip: Traffic around the hotel like in the rest of Chengdu was nuts. Plenty of cabs at the hotel, don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziggygt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear guest, what an inspiring review! Thank you for staying at InterContinental Century City Chengdu and share your experience and feelings. We are pleased to know you enjoyed living in our hotel and relax well with hotel band, tai chi performance and spa. It is our earnest hope that you will come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Smooth check in and check out - the room was stunning though it may be due to being upgraded to get a non smoking room. Lounge bar was good for a snack and drinks - with live music. Efficient business centre and reliable wifi - essential when you are there for work. Only slight negative is the limited breakfast (impossible to get hot bacon) but guess it reflects the majority of client taste

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear guest, welcome to InterContinental Century City Chengdu. It is pleased to know that you enjoyed our foods, service and room during your stay. Regarding to breakfast, hot bacon is available for on-site cooking if you prefer. Hope you will enjoy on your next trip to us. We are sincerely welcoming your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Chengdu Global Center
7.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#1 of 2,781 in Chengdu
709 reviews
5.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#9 of 2,781 in Chengdu
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
The St. Regis Chengdu
The St. Regis Chengdu
#7 of 2,781 in Chengdu
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower
0.7 mi away
Hilton Chengdu
Hilton Chengdu
#12 of 2,781 in Chengdu
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu

Address: No.88 Century City Road, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610041, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 2,781 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range: $137 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu 5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the best of European tradition and Chinese warmth, the InterContinental Century City Chengdu stands out as an exciting new landmark in the capital of Sichuan province. The hotel offers a full range of guestrooms and suites, an array of excellent restaurant and lounge offerings, a stylish Spa and first-class event and business facilities. Serving as an ideal venue for the business traveller in Chengdu, the hotel is within walking distance of the Chengdu International Exhibition Centre and a 20-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing