We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have no reason go anywhere else!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hello Chengdu International Youth Hostel
Ranked #7 of 410 Specialty Lodging in Chengdu
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Trust us on this one: if you are in chengdu - stay at sim's cozy!
Great rooms, amazing staff, nice bar...
The hostel is not in the center of the city but all the buses are 2-5 min walk from the hostel.
You will not regret it.
Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerenandguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 320 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed at sim's for three nights from 11-14 April. I was a little apprehensive staying at a hostel being a mature female solo traveller but I ended up choosing Sim's on people's recommendations and as I found it hard to select a hotel which catered well for foreigners with. English speaking staff. I was pleasantly surprises at the quality of Sims'. I emailed the hostel after i made my booking to select a room which suited my needs and they catered for them really well. My bed was comfortable, I had a real feather Doona and the softest pillows of any place I'd stayed at in China.! sure the room was basic but I booked a family room for the extra space and it had a TV , although the DVD player didn't work and the volume was limited on the tv. my room was on the third floor and very quiet.

There was a real diversity of nationalities and ages staying whilst I was there. I didn't feel out of place at all and the staff although all young catered for all my needs and not in a condescending way.

I organised an airport pick- up and was well looked after by the staff who manned the tour desk. Evan was a standout staff member, he organised the panda tour for me, a driver to take me around the city sights for an afternoon and a visit to the Sichuan Opera which was great fun and well worth the effort. Evan ensured that the three of us who went to the Opera returned safely and were accounted for at the end of the night. They will also help organise tours to Tibet and minority villages etc.

The bar staff were also really good and friendly. I would definitely stay there again even though I usually prefer a higher level of creature comfort when I travel because of the ambience and service they provide. I felt safe and comfortable at Sim's. They know what travellers want and provide it exceptionally well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 505AngelaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This place is huge, I was told 106 rooms in total. All spread out over two 5 story buildings, courtyards and several smaller buildings.

Despite this it does feel 'cozy' with many smaller spaces to congregate in. The staff are exceptional and the food is good value with a good mix of western and Chinese.

Great place to connect with other travellers as Sims have thought of everything when it comes to travel advice and information.

We had an en suite room which was spacious and quiet on the 5th floor. I wouldn't say the hostel was to a high standard of clean as some of the communal tables and floors where at times in need of a clean. Though at least it didn't smell and no rubbish left lying around.

Overall I would recommend to those who like a hostel experience, as this is one of the better ones.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wylma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were travelling around Sichuan with our two kids aged 9 and 11 and Sim's was a great place to have as a base. The laid back atmosphere and the western food ensured that even if we draged the kids to Mount Emei and other places we were sure that at least they would do so on a full stomach. If you are planning an intense trip as we did and want to keep your offspring fed and in good spirits Sim's is just the place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t0iv0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed at sims for 4 nights in a single ensuite room. Price was very reasonable and room although basic had everything you could need. Location is easy to find from train station and although on a busy road the atmosphere they've created with the garden is perfect for a lazy morning, afternoon or evening. Staff were amazingly helpful with telling you how to get to places and buses around the city are pretty much on the door step. The bar/restaurant they have on site is also excellent and pretty cheap - it also has amazing vegetarian options (i cannot love you enough for that sims!) with a lovely rooftop to while away the evening on. I would highly recommend Sims to anyone and if ever in chengdu again you can be sure ill be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolsRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This place left me in two minds.... First the good- The staff here are fantastic! great english and are always willing to help out, thats about it for the good unfortunately : (
The Bad- while i was there they where renovating, now i realise that these things have to be done but the place looked like a war zone 24/7. My room took about 5 minutes to get to from the front gate, this place is all over the shop and it took us 20 minutes to find our room. The floors in the room are concrete which makes for a cold room is winter and they where also a little pokie.Im not a fussy man and I hope that this place has scrubbed up well but some of these issues a renovation would be able to fix. 2 stars out of 5... sorry sim's....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clint V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed in June 2012 for 3 nights. We traveled throughout China, backpacking, for several weeks and my husband and I both enjoyed this hostel the most out of all the hostels we stayed at over the course of our trip.

I definitely understand why the word "Cozy" is in the name of this place. Although it's situated in the middle of a fairly busy street, essentially a concrete jungle, it is set back from the road and is not what we were expecting. Nice greenery, very quiet ... it really feels like a retreat at the end of a busy day site seeing.

We stayed in a family suite, to have our own private room/bathroom. The room was very clean and spacious.

We ate breakfasts in the restaurant at Sim's and always enjoyed our food.

Finally, the staff at Sim's was extremely helpful. They always had tips, maps, etc. to help you get to where you needed to go. We also arranged a tour through Sim's to go to the Chengdu Panda Base and it was fantastic, highly recommend it.

My only complaint is it was a bit hard to notice the hostel from the street, didn't have the greatest signage from the street, and as we arrived late at night it made it difficult to see where we needed to go.

Room Tip: If you're traveling as a couple, you might as well upgrade to the private room with private bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ains19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.1 mi away
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
#34 of 2,747 in Chengdu
73 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chengdu Flipflop Lounge Hostel
0.6 mi away
Chengdu Lazybones Hostel Templeside Poshpacker (Wenshuyuan)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Chengdu Lazy Bones Backpackers Boutique Hostel
3.2 mi away
Lazy Inn Hostel
Lazy Inn Hostel
#12 of 410 in Chengdu
11 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mix Hostel
Mix Hostel
#3 of 410 in Chengdu
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hello Chengdu International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hello Chengdu International Youth Hostel

Address: No.211, North Section Four, First Ring Road, Jinniu District, Chengdu 610081, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 410 Specialty Lodging in Chengdu
Price Range: $11 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOP FIVE Reasons to Choose Hello Chengdu International Youth Hostel 1. Professional Travel Desk and Tibetan Travel Counter We provide the best travel information of any hostel in Chengdu, or even in China. There is a team, with English and Japanese speakers, with experienced travel advisers providing you professional service and all the information you need for traveling around Sichuan, Tibet or other places in China. We do not only provide for all our customers, but also other travelers who are not staying in our hostel-Book a bus, plane or train tickets to anywhere in China-Book tours or arrange cars -Get travel information 2. A base to meet travelers Our hostel is the biggest one in southwest of China with a maximum capacity of 200 people. It is a great place to meet fellow travelers. 3. There is no place like home, and we try our best to make our customers feel at home. We offer a range of activities as well as big festival parties. There are two lovely gardens in our hostel as well as a bar and outdoor terraces. 4. We put our customers firstIf you book your stay at our hostel for more than one week (consecutively), we will have special offers. 5. All in one facilityWe have some great facilities, which will make it hard to leave. - Our restaurant provides Sichuan Cuisine, western and Japanese food, good quality and reasonably priced-Our bar provides all kinds of alcohol with cool music; laid-back atmosphere and staff are always willing to chat with you. Costumers may change the music to suit their tastes. -Our travel desk providing efficient travel information, arranging tours/ transport (Panda, Opera, etc.), and booking train, plane and bus tickets. -Our large seating area includes outside terrace and plenty of indoor sofas where you can relax and use WIFI-We have DVD room with thousands of English, Chinese, Korean and Japanese DVDS to watch -We have a Foreign Language Library where you can swap books -We have two big quiet gardens with a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere -Game area includes pool table, ping-pong table, table football, and a newly installed basketball arcade machine. -We have heating system in our dormitory and private rooms to keep you warm during your winter traveling. We are the only hostel in Chengdu with such a reliable heating system.-Discounts on food at the restaurant when you give us some suggestions on our new Sichuan dishes. -Discounts on movie tickets at local cinemas and at local restaurants when you purchase from us. -Many different room types to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hello Chengdu International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sim`s Cozy Garden Hotel Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing