We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panda Package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Ranked #11 of 2,703 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Panda Package”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We've just had a brilliant day out to the Chengdu Panda base via the Shangri-La Hotel's Panda Package. The car takes you there and picks you up which is much nicer than using a local taxi ( which don't have seat belts). They initially said they would leave us there for 2 hours and that the driver would wait. We thought we would need a lot longer, and we did. It is worth asking them to leave you at the Panda Base for at least 4 hours, we were there for 5 and could probably have stayed longer. We arranged this with the driver, but you could do this with the hotel before you set off. The place opens at 8, we arrived at 8 and were initially worried that none of the panda's were up and out yet. However, soon enough we saw loads, adults and baby pandas - wonderful. You can take a little bus around, we walked everywhere, no problem. There are plenty of decent loos, there is a restaurant and coffee shop too, as well as gift shops as you might expect. The cinema documentary is worth a look too as are the red pandas which seem to roam about the footpaths such that you can get really close to them. The whole place is really neatly kept and a pleasure to spend the day there. We got back to the hotel to find our complimentary toy pandas with their Shangri-La hotel chinese tops on were on our pillows. Excellent day out and well worth the trip over to Chengdu from Shanghai. The hotel itself is excellent. November 2013.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzbudgies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Jazzbudgies, thanks for your review and we are glad to know that you had a wonderful panda journey in Chengdu. The well constructed Giant Panda Museum which is only 45 mins drive distance from hotel is indeed the must-go place where offers visitors the once-in-life rare intimate contacting experience with those lovely pandas. Therefore, hotel designs the Panda Getaway Package to ensure our guests, those panda lovers like you an exclusive hassle-free Panda trip. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    688
    98
    15
    8
See reviews for
150
173
68
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed at the Shangri-la hotel during my recent visit to Chengdu, the capital city of Sichuan known in China as the land of abundance (天府之国) . The hotel is located by the bank of Jingjiang river and mainly caters to business travelers and expats. I was in Chengdu to visit the nearby panda research center and the hotel staffs were very helpful in arranging transportation for my visit. My room was on a high floor with a beautiful city view. The breakfast was sumptuous with both western and local flavors. There is even an Irish pub called Mooney's at the ground floor featuring live performances. I can't really find anything to complain about this hotel except that I wish they'd ban smoking in Mooney's Bar. But that would be too much to ask for in China.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhou Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear zzbar, thanks for choosing to stay with us, and share your feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the Shangri-La hospitality in our hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed here as a base to go and see the Pandas and it is as good a hotel as most I've stayed
in.
I had a suite on the Club floor facing the river.. it was excellent in every respect and the Club
facilities were top notch. All the staff were helpful but now with a weekly flight from the UK
there will need to be more emphasis on as many staff as possible speaking at least some English.. I did manage a hair appointment in sign language!.
All the arrangements the hotel made for me worked perfectly, my guide, Jack, was excellent
and Chengdu City is fascinating, so try and see something of it as well as visiting the Pandas, which needless to say were a delight-a beautiful park setting, a thoroughly professional facility and so many Pandas. Well worth the trip!

Room Tip: I had the river view and liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shabbychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear shabbychic, thanks for your feedback and nice to know that you had a wonderful Chengdu trip, both the accommodation with us and lovely panda tour. We our staff are all proud to be a representative of the property and the city, therefore for better serving our guests from all over the world, we all spend lots efforts in language learning, and hope you could witness the continuous improvements on your next trip. Thanks again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. Amazing facilities, incredible food, lovely staff. Specifically, the hotel's concierge staff were stealer; they were helpful, kind and thoughtful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank AdinaLav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear AdinaLav, thanks for your feedback and gave us the Full Score. Your compliment is the biggest motive force for us to continuously deliver the excellent Shangri-La hospitality, and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel and rooms were decorated to a very high standard. We had a suite on the club floor which was clean and comfortable. Unfortunately it was only serviced once a day so no turn down or fresh towels after an evening shower. Room service food was very slow and cold on delivery. Certainly not 5 star although the prices certainly were.
Service in the foyer cafe was excellent but this did not follow through to the restaurant where the service was bad and the food not great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magifood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear magifood, thank for your feedback and we too disappointed with your imperfect experience. Hotel offers the room cleaning and turn down service once each per day, and extra touchup/towel changing service are always available on 7/24 basis. Please simply contact the call center next time and our room attendants will be more than happy to assist. Besides, the room service issue that you mentioned is already addressed to Food & Beverage management, and hope our efforts on improvement later could win your agreement on your next time back. Thanks again and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked this hotel to use as our base while visiting the Panda Base and it was wonderful. The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful. We had booked a nice room, and were upgraded to one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in. The breakfast downstairs was a feast every morning and had both western and Chinese cuisine. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear John R, thanks for your feedback and nice to know that you had a wonderful trip in Chengdu. It is quite encouraging to know we would be recommended as your preferred hotel in Chengdu, and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great hotel. We had the most enormous suite with a terrific view. As part of the deal we had access to the club floor which was excellent - huge variety of snacks and drinks. The hotel is very well run with the staff extremely helpful and courteous. The restaurant food also tasty and large selection.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiCanadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear KiwiCanadians, thanks for your sharing and give us the full score.Your compliments are indeed encouraging, and we will continuously to strive for excellent Shangri-La hospitality to awaits your back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#4 of 2,703 in Chengdu
524 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,703 in Chengdu
473 reviews
1.4 mi away
The St. Regis Chengdu
The St. Regis Chengdu
#7 of 2,703 in Chengdu
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
#3 of 2,703 in Chengdu
149 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#17 of 2,703 in Chengdu
913 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Chengdu
Hilton Chengdu
#10 of 2,703 in Chengdu
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Address: No.9 Binjiang East Road, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610021, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#2 Family Hotel in Chengdu
#8 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#46 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu 5*
Number of rooms: 593
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri La Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing