We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricy but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Ranked #8 of 2,668 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pricy but worth it”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. Amazing facilities, incredible food, lovely staff. Specifically, the hotel's concierge staff were stealer; they were helpful, kind and thoughtful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank AdinaLav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear AdinaLav, thanks for your feedback and gave us the Full Score. Your compliment is the biggest motive force for us to continuously deliver the excellent Shangri-La hospitality, and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    680
    98
    15
    7
See reviews for
120
159
59
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel and rooms were decorated to a very high standard. We had a suite on the club floor which was clean and comfortable. Unfortunately it was only serviced once a day so no turn down or fresh towels after an evening shower. Room service food was very slow and cold on delivery. Certainly not 5 star although the prices certainly were.
Service in the foyer cafe was excellent but this did not follow through to the restaurant where the service was bad and the food not great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magifood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear magifood, thank for your feedback and we too disappointed with your imperfect experience. Hotel offers the room cleaning and turn down service once each per day, and extra touchup/towel changing service are always available on 7/24 basis. Please simply contact the call center next time and our room attendants will be more than happy to assist. Besides, the room service issue that you mentioned is already addressed to Food & Beverage management, and hope our efforts on improvement later could win your agreement on your next time back. Thanks again and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked this hotel to use as our base while visiting the Panda Base and it was wonderful. The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful. We had booked a nice room, and were upgraded to one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in. The breakfast downstairs was a feast every morning and had both western and Chinese cuisine. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear John R, thanks for your feedback and nice to know that you had a wonderful trip in Chengdu. It is quite encouraging to know we would be recommended as your preferred hotel in Chengdu, and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great hotel. We had the most enormous suite with a terrific view. As part of the deal we had access to the club floor which was excellent - huge variety of snacks and drinks. The hotel is very well run with the staff extremely helpful and courteous. The restaurant food also tasty and large selection.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiCanadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear KiwiCanadians, thanks for your sharing and give us the full score.Your compliments are indeed encouraging, and we will continuously to strive for excellent Shangri-La hospitality to awaits your back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My second shangri-la stay this trip, and my last.

I made the reservations for 4 rooms. I am paying for the rooms. I am the leader of my crew. My crews' rooms were upgraded to suites, I was given the lowest grade of room available. Unbelievable!

I went down for breakfast this morning. The hostess ignored me and sat other guests. When I was finally acknowledged, there were no tables available. Unacceptable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BNiebeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear BNiebeling, thanks for your feedback and we too feel disappointed with your previous experience. The issue has been well addressed to our management, and a series of improvement action will be implemented immediately. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to give us another chance to bring you a true Shangri-La hospitality. Thanks again and wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013, with family in a regular room. We used this hotel as a ''base'' to go around Emeishan and Leshan.

Location: Taxi was easy to get. There are few restaurants literally just 2 minute away from the hotel (even a german beerhouse!). It is also about 10 minute walk from the Lankwaifong of Chengdu (shops/starbucks/western shops).

Room: Spacious room, working aircon + good reliable wifi. Bed is soft- no noise at night.

Bathroom- See pictures- Very spacious-there is a seperate shower + bathtub. Clean towels.

Breakfast: Good variey- although there is definitely more asian food than western. Nonetheless there are boiled eggs/porridge/bread with jam and butter. Staff there speaks basic english (ie tea/coffee/ sugar/milk). BE ABSOLUTELY SURE THAT YOU LET EVERYONE KNOW ABOUT ANY ALLERGIES YOU HAVE- preferably by having someone writing down on a piece of paper (in chinese) what allergies you have and how serious it is.

Gym: 24 hour gym, with 1 tennis court + 1 indoor swimming pool. There is a small outdoor area just outisde the gym. The gym itself is fantastic- about 4 treadmill/ 3 cycling machines along with at least 5 weight machines + free weights!

Restaurant: The chinese restaurant there is great- their evening hours seem to be around 630-9. Food is not too greasy comparing to food outside but price is a lot higher.

Services: is generally well good. Well staffed hotel. Staff at front desk speak good english- there are definitely more chinese than western residents.

Overall for me:
PROS- good service, clean, considered to be the most luxurious in Chengdu, good gym.
CONS- most expensive in this city

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capricorn_always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear capricorn_always, thanks for your feedback and sharing your pleasant experience with us. It is so rewarding for us to learn that our location,rooms,dining,facilities and staff have all met your expectation and made your stay an enjoyable one. We're inspired to be at our best and promise you a great stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
289 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The description if this hotel is below.
I don't like such gi-normous, large hotels, hi rise hotels, ( hotel to me at night, on a high floor, looking out through the glass at this city of 14 million, felt like a stage set from Bladerunner, a sci fi movie) BUT one can only be amazed at how much did "work" in this hotel : water pressure, hot water, easy to use room safe, plugs that worked and could recharge all of your devices at the desk in the room. Excellent bathroom amenities, wake up calls!
Please note that the NYT and Facebook do not work in China.

There are 2 restaurants but we only tried the one that had a buffet that seemed to on onto infinity.
There were so many choices, there was something for every appetite. The dessert buffet seemed unreal, there were so many choices.
We say very few westerners, for the hotel was full of many young locals. But, The staff spoke English.
I believe it is a 30 minute drive or more to the Panda Research Center, where one can view the pandas, and the red panda.



"5-star luxury hotel in Chengdu with 2 restaurants
Location
Situated in the city center, this luxury hotel is close to Sichuan University, Chengdu United States Consulate, and Tianfu Square. Also nearby are Sichuan Museum of Science and Technology and Chengdu City Sports Center.

Hotel Features
In addition to 2 restaurants, Shangri-la Hotel Chengdu features an outdoor tennis court. Other amenities include coffee shops/cafés and a bar/lounge.

Room Amenities
Guestrooms include fireplaces, complimentary wireless Internet access, and complimentary high-speed (wired) Internet access; bathrooms feature rainfall showerheads and makeup/shaving mirrors."

Room Tip: A view of the river?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcopolopaloalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear marcopolopaloalto, we are glad to receive your detailed review and feel encouraged by your satisfaction towards our products and service. Hope your all the best and we at Shangri-La Hotel, Chengdu welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,668 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,668 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Niccolo Chengdu
Niccolo Chengdu
#4 of 2,668 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Chengdu
Hilton Chengdu
#6 of 2,668 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.4 mi away
The St. Regis Chengdu
The St. Regis Chengdu
#7 of 2,668 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Address: No.9 Binjiang East Road, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610021, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#2 Family Hotel in Chengdu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#6 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#44 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu 5*
Number of rooms: 593
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri La Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing