We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great service, fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Ranked #11 of 2,730 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here as part of travels around East Asia, we stayed in some amazing hotels whilst doing so however this one was up there in terms of service and quality of the hotel rooms and building. Location is great, next to the river and local coffee shops, restaurants etc. We booked with Horizon club access which for the money paid was incredibly good value for money. The Horizon club itself is welcoming, spacious and the food/drink options are plentiful. We very much enjoyed our stay! Excellent all round and very good value.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Horizon Club floors, great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear James G, thanks for sharing your review with us and give us the FULL score. Shangri-La well-honored Horizon Club offers tailor-made, hassle-free travel experiences, to those guests just like you who appreciate an attentive and personalized level of service. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,024)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 2,024 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

Excellent! One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at! I've been staying here every 4 weeks for 1 or 2 nights each visit for over 4 years, these people are always smiling and helpful. This hotel is also in walking distance to bars, restaurants, night clubs, convenience stores and a short taxi ride to major shopping malls and parts of historic Chengdu, also a close distance to the Panda Bears.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, digital marketing manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Mark W, thanks for staying with us and sharing your feedback. Your compliment is the most motivation for us, to continuously deliver excellent Shangri-la experience, and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I'm relating an incident happened to my female co-worker during her stay in this hotel.

At the end of a day during her stay, she came back to her room only to find a woman's underwear being left in her room. It was un tagged nor inside any laundry basket.

This would be one of the strangest thing to happen in any high end hotel of this calibre.

Upon questioning, the hotel management attempts to explain that the garment was sent to the wrong room by their housekeeping. A very feeble attempt to provide any explanation which we can't accept as valid.

So do note that things do happen even at hotel in this category too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Singapurunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, digital marketing manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Singapurunner, Thank you for your feedback on your colleague's stay experience.We regret and apologize for the slip in our housekeeping standards for the incident mentioned. I trust that our Director of Rooms, whom was instrumental in being in contact with your colleague and your good self, had made the required service recovery。 This incident has also been a topic of discussion with our people concerned and we will improve earnestly to prevent a repeat occurrence.Thank you for indulging us on this occasion, whom you have been gracious with our Director of Rooms. We look forward to welcome your colleague and you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is fully equipped with all the facilities. It's located in the cnter of Chengdu which closes to bars, restaurants and the office buildings. Room service is good too even though it's quite expensive but it's worth a try. Recommended for business trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JannyCoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear JannyCoyote, thanks for staying with us and share your feedback. The ideal location of hotel is easily access to major commercial center and places of interests in town. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I'll keep this review short. The views and rooms are amazing. The breakfast buffet has everything and its even a street block long! I wouldn't say it is in the most convenient place but it will do! I really enjoyed my stay at the Shangri-la. I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palmtree31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Palmtree31, many thanks for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed in ths hotel 5 nights. There is nothing bad to say about it: luxurious lobby areas; nicely appointed rooms; amazing large swimming pool; great gym. The breakfast buffet was so diverse that even after 5 days I still didn't get to try food from all stands available. The hotel location is very good with various dining options within walking distance, including couple of Sichuan hotpot places. The service is impeccable.
I am a quite tough reviewer but i just couldn't find anything to complain about in this hotel. I would happily go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank axc4466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, digital marketing manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear axc4466, thanks for your review and compliment, which means a lot to us. We will definitely strive for excellent Shangri-la hospitality, and look forward to seeing you back soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Shangri-La hotel experience starts the minute they either pick you up from the airport or when you walk in the door. The reception you receive is warm and genuine from the porters and Guest relation officers. Checking in, being escorted to your room is effortless and proficient. Nothing is too much for the staff who greet every request with a smile. The rooms are well appointed, immaculately clean and very comfortable. Every amenity is operational and well maintained. Room service is fast and efficient and the food is both varied and superb. Superb hotel, superb staff, value for money and customer attention is second to none - home from home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Managerr at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Scott C, thanks for your feedback and give us the full score. We at Shangri-La Hotel, Chengdu welcome you back “home” soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#3 of 2,730 in Chengdu
601 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,730 in Chengdu
504 reviews
1.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
#4 of 2,730 in Chengdu
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The St. Regis Chengdu
The St. Regis Chengdu
#8 of 2,730 in Chengdu
335 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#17 of 2,730 in Chengdu
925 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,730 in Chengdu
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu

Address: No.9 Binjiang East Road, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610021, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#2 Family Hotel in Chengdu
#8 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#46 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range: $148 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu 5*
Number of rooms: 593
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri La Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing