We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Ranked #6 of 2,652 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Golden, Co
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Overall, this is one of the nicest hotels in the world. I travel extensively and this is a top rate hotel no matter where you might put it. The rooms are nicely appointed, the staff is truly attentive and willing to help in every way. I couldn't recommend this hotel more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Rob T, thanks for choosing Shangri-La Hotel,Chengdu and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed the staying with us. Your compliment means a lot to us, and we will continuously strive for excellent service and products for our guests. Thanks again and welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    676
    98
    15
    6
See reviews for
116
153
56
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, AUS
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Cannot speak highly enough about this hotel. Service was outstanding everywhere from airport pick up to check in and check out again. The Cafe Z and Mooney's Irish pub were a welcome relief from the hustle and bustle. I even left some returned laundry hanging up in the closet and the hotel have offered to post them back to me. This must be the best place to stay in Chengdu, China.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Horizopn club room if you can. Afternoon drinks and canapes are complimentary and the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, digital marketing manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Nick T, thanks for sharing your stay experience with us, and the horizon club in particular. The signature Horizon program is well honored among business travelers, by offering personalized service and exclusive privilege. Besides a spectacular view all over the town from 36&37 floor height, the horizon lounge also serves complimentary breakfast, evening cocktail, beverage all the day, meeting room usage and so on, for those horizon guests. Thanks again and look forward to seeing you soon in Chengdu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Really loved the ambience, cleanliness, rooms and staff service. I would definitely would like to stay there again. Location too is quite good with so many food and pub joints around the hotel. The Hotel faces beautiful river and number of sightseeing spots are close by with less than 15 min taxi drive.


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear A TripAdvisor Member, thanks for your review and we are glad to know that you satisfied with the stay in Shangri-La Hotel, Chengdu. Besides the convenient access to those various surrounding venues, inside hotel also have multiple Food and beverage options. Eg. International delicacy in Café Z, Sichuan & Chinese cuisine delights in Shang Palace, and the hottest nightlife spot in town-Mooney’s Restaurant & Bar. Thanks again and hope to see you soon in Chengdu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

One of the best hotel I ever stayed.Excellent personnel,excellent food,very comfortable rooms ,a real pleasure to be guest on this hotel.Everything I needed was solved easy and the best is the feeling you are not a stranger ,I'm feeling like home every time I'm there ,so friendly and helpful people and so professional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Laurentiu I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Laurentiu 1,thanks for your review and we are glad to know that you felt at home during the stay with us. Your full score is the most motivation for us, and we will continuously to deliver legendary Shangri-la hospitality to our guests. Thanks again, and look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have stayed in most if not all luxury hotels in Chengdu and since a few years ago only go to Shangri-La. Great location and excellent service as in other Shangri-La hotels. You can cross the street and take a walk along the river in a clear night, which is the best of Chengdu in my view. I also like its fitness facilities, which is bigger and better equipped than other hotels. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopGun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, digital marketing manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Justin T, thanks for your comments and full score. To ensure our guests able to keep the fitness on their travel, hotel offers a superbly equipped Fitness Centre, including an indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath, whirlpool, and massage facilities. The gymnasium is equipped with an array of cardiovascular equipment along with satellite television. Your recommendation is sincerely appreciated and we look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is one of the best hotels in China. The Cafe-Z, lunch and supper, is fantastic. My children really loved the breakfast. The staff is top notch! We will continue to stay when traveling to Chengdu.

Room Tip: If you ask for more complimentary water, they will give it to you. Their complimentary water is just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Robert M, thank you for your review! We are glad that you appreciated the food and service here. Wish you and your family had spent a great time with us! We look forward to seeing you back soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights during our trip .The hotel is very well located with local bars and restaurants across the river , and more luxury places next door . We were upgraded to an horizon club room which was a bit small but had everything you could want in it . The horizon club lounge is very good with a good choice of nibbles etc and the staff were very attentive and friendly . We would recommend this hotel if you are visiting Chengdu ( probably to see the pandas ) and if you are planning to visit the panda reserve then go around 8 am because at this time of year and the heat it's the only time you will see them outside .

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Daniel H, thank you very much for your review of our hotel! We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and services here and appreciate your recommending our hotel! We wish to welcome you back soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,652 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,652 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Niccolo Chengdu
Niccolo Chengdu
#3 of 2,652 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Chengdu
Hilton Chengdu
#5 of 2,652 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.4 mi away
The St. Regis Chengdu
The St. Regis Chengdu
#11 of 2,652 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Address: No.9 Binjiang East Road, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610021, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#1 Family Hotel in Chengdu
#5 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#42 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu 5*
Number of rooms: 593
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri La Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing