We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but Thibk there is better value to be had other places”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Ranked #6 of 2,652 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but Thibk there is better value to be had other places”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed oct 2012 for 2 nights. Breakfast was excellent and there is a Starbucks just outside with a bar/ cafe area next door that looked like fun if you had a group. My issue was with how the front desk handled a pre- paid booking I had. They stated the agent in china ( which is a sub agent of the European one I used) had not paid them yet. Luckily my colleague was with me and lent me the cash (they wanted full room payment) until it was sorted. What happened was my sub agent paid and shangrila could see money. Coming in but it did not hit their account she. I checked in. Really they saw the incoming g money but would not check me in without paying again . This has never happe ex to me in years travelling in Asia and not very customer fridndly. All sorted by evening and they gave me my 2nights paymentI cash back but took ages at the desk with paperwork the hotel is fine and food nice but I think for the money you could stay nicer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiobhanPDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear SiobhanPDublin, thanks for choosing Shangri-La Chengdu hotel, and we are pleasant to know that you like our Food & beverage options and location. For the reception issue that you mentioned, we did review your comments carefully and appreciate if you could provide us more details for our investigation and improvement. I could be reached through shuhong.fan@shangri-la.com, and would like to personally assist you with your next booking. Happy new year and look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    676
    98
    15
    6
See reviews for
116
154
56
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for two nights, and arranged visit to panda farm throgh the hotel, thank god, I did. We had great time to visit panda.

The hotel is at the good location. Service is warm, and welcoming. The people working there, especially girls are very pretty, which Chengdu is famous for beautiful girls.

The food in hotel are extensive and well serviced. We had Xmas lunch at the hotel, that was great meal.

Again, I am impressed by this hotel, if I come back to chengdu, I will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanghaiKevin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

My friend and I had travelled from Chongqing, a nearby city and in Chegdu stayed at the Shang.

Great hotel, nice location and good food. The room was first very cold and then very hot!

The bed was a let down after our previous hotel in Chongqing:-(

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viriya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Viriya S, thanks for choosing to stay with us, and sharing your reviews. We do care what you value most. Your mentions about the room temperature and sleep quality are well noted and will be investigated by our Executive Housekeeper, and we look forward to exceeding your expectation during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olvera, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Can't complain, after a busy couple of days running around, I finally got a good nights sleep when I landed at the Shangri-La. Can't complain about the room or the service and welcome. Breakfast had a great range of tastes from Chinese, Japanese European to American. I picked the worst day to go as it was foggy and could not appreciate the location

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AksaiOiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear AksaiOiler,thanks for your sharing, and we are pleasant to know that you enjoyed our 5-star service and exceptional breakfast options. Chengdu is also called fog city, and here is one recommendation for your next trip to Shangri-La Chengdu Hotel. Looking through the window from hotel rooms on the early morning of winter season, then you may see a stripe of clean fog floated to the bank from the surface of Fu Nan River, with He Jiang Pavilion in river hiding in clouds just like scenes in fairy tales. Thanks again and look forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Mine was a short stay and had a decent room. The hotel is well located, a bit aged though. The staff was very friendly maybe because I was booked through a senior Executive, nevertheless very pleasant and attentive. The Club breakfast was nice, compared to many other International hotels in China. The staff was very attentive.
Mooney's Irish Pub serves good beers and Pub snacks. Unfortunately the sound system is poor which does not do justice to the Band.
I would certainly return and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeinbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhong_Fan, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear mikeinbankok, thanks for sharing your reviews, and we are pleasant to know that you recognised us as your preferred hotel in Chengdu. Besides serving up the live nightly entertainment featuring an international band, Mooney’s Bar and Restaurant also offers oversized portions of ribs, hamburgers, salads and pizzas as well as the best steaks in town, which could be another dining option for your next trip. Thanks again, and hope to see you soon at Chengdu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We spent 2 nights in the Chengdu Shangri-La as part of our recent vacation in China. We stayed in a standard room, located in a corner of the hotel, giving us a sweeping, 90-degree view of the river and city -- probably the best aspect of the room. The bedding and furnishings were comfortable, although the room was a bit small.

This hotel, which includes large conference space in the basement, appears to cater primarily to Asian business travelers. Compared to other hotels where we stayed in China, the English-language capabilities of the staff were weak (perhaps a churlish complaint since they still far-exceeded our Chinese-language capabilities). This resulted in a mix-up at check-in, when the desk clerk evidently was trying to communicate that our room-rate did not include breakfast, but said exactly the opposite, repeating the error when we sought clarification. Similarly, there was great variability among the concierge staff in their English capabilities. That said, we were treated with invariable courtesy and warmth by the staff.

The breakfast buffet was among the best we had during our travels in China. Plentiful and tasty choices, including sushi and other Japanese offerings, along with ample Western and Chinese offerings.

A minor complaint, but an annoyance: The hair dryer is located in a drawer in the bathroom, from which it cannot be removed. The cord is quite short, and it is underpowered. No worse than hair dryers that I've encountered in economy motels in the States, but not what I would expect from a 5-star luxury hotel (contrast this to all of the other 5 star hotels where we stayed in China, where a full size hair dryer was provided in a draw-string bag).

Room Tip: As for a room facing the river, preferably in a corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBA60302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhong_Fan, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear MBA60302, thanks for your feedback for Shangri-la Chengdu Hotel and glad to know that you are satisfied with the location, views and breakfast during your stay with us. Besides, we do appreciate for your soft reminding on our staff’s foreign language ability. The issue will be treated seriously with on-going integrated English training, to ensure that we are well prepared for welcoming more international guests in the future to our blooming Panda city. Thanks again, and look forward to exceeding your expectation during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We are very satisfied with this hotel - the staff were very efficient and helpful. They gave prompt and professional service. The participants to our meeting were equally impressed. They are well equipped for international meetings - the staff all spoke good english and best of all they had foreign exchange service for guests of the hotel. Food was also very good lots of choices both Chinese and international cuisine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank md6750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhong_Fan, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear md6750, thank you for your comments, and we are delighted that you enjoyed our Shangri-La hospitality and exceptional dining options. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,652 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,652 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Niccolo Chengdu
Niccolo Chengdu
#3 of 2,652 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Chengdu
Hilton Chengdu
#5 of 2,652 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.4 mi away
The St. Regis Chengdu
The St. Regis Chengdu
#10 of 2,652 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Address: No.9 Binjiang East Road, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610021, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#1 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#1 Family Hotel in Chengdu
#5 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#41 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu 5*
Number of rooms: 593
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri La Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing