We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Well located hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Ranked #4 of 2,567 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Well located hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is one of many Shangri-la properties I have stayed at in China. This one has the same level of good service with an outstanding breakfast buffett. I also liked spaciousness and the view from my room. The front desk staff were professional at check-in. The area around the hotel has some interesting restaurants. Overall a good stay and I recommend it to business travellors.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scapaflow40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhong_Fan, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear scapaflow40, thanks for sharing your experience at Shangri-la Chengdu Hotel. Ideally located in the city center, the hotel is only a 5 mins drive to Chunxi Road pedestrian precinct, 25 mins to the Shangliu international airport and 45 mins to the nearby scenic spots such as Qingcheng Mountain, which making it the ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    656
    95
    13
    6
See reviews for
104
145
52
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I booked this hotel because it had good reviews on Trip Advisor and it was highly recommended by a friend of mine as a terrific hotel with a great location. From the moment we walked in the door, the service was excellent. We had a beautiful room, fantastic buffet breakfast, an overall pleasant stay and checked out of our room to go see the Pandas knowing that we'd be back later to retrieve our luggage. As luck would have it, I was bitten by one of the Red Pandas and I had a horrible experience with the staff at the Zoo. I called the Shangri-La in a desperate attempt to have someone help me with the zoo and whatever medical care I would need. They promptly got on the phone with the zoo, had me come back to the hotel and took me to get medical care. Peter Deng from the Shangri-La was a angel, personally taking me to a CDC location where I could get rabies vaccinations. He sat there and translated everything, waited until I was attended to, met with the people from the zoo to have them pay for the medical care and then to top everything off, took me to the airport for my flight. As if that wasn't enough, he contacted the Shangri-La hotel in Guilin (where I was going next) to make sure they were aware of what happened to me in case I needed further medical care. I walked into the Shangri-La in Guilin at 11pm and there was someone there to greet me that asked how my leg was and if I needed anything. The service that Peter Deng and the Shangri-La provided was so exceptional that I can't recommend this hotel enough. By the way, the location of the hotel really is terrific, you can walk right out the door along the river to plenty of restaurants. I'm so glad we chose to stay at the Shangri-La!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jb1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhong_Fan, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear jb1029, thanks for your review on Shangri-La Chengdu hotel.. We are pleasant to know that you are quite well and we were able to release your difficulty on your trip. Thanks again and look forward to welcoming you again when you back next time to Chengdu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel was probably the most beautiful we stayed at in China. The staff were attentive and very competant. We needed to get some glasses fixed and they called us a taxi and aranged for us to be taken there. Taxis are the cheapest way to travel in Chine....whats with that. We ate all our meals at the hotel as the food was fantastic. The pricing was great and is comparable to what we would have paid for a cheap meal in Australia. Breakfasts were fantastic although if you order poached eggs they will bring it to your table.This seems to be a common practice for most hotels.Shangri-La is situated right next to the river and at night is a beautiful walk around. We explored all the little streets around the hotel and loved it.The view from our room was spectacular especially at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snapper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel is not in the busiest part of the town but it is next to rows of restaurants and bars where people can relax after a long day of conference/workshop in the hotel. The conference area is large and noisy as the entrance there is often used by everyone to enter the hotel. The room is not decorated in a fancy manner but functional and clean. Food in the restaurant for breakfast and lunch are well prepared with many varieties. The checking-in and check-out process can be long as there are often big tourist groups from Hongkong arriving and leaving the hotel at busiest time of the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YQTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were in Chengdu for a family wedding. This hotel was recommended to us and did not disappoint. From the moment our taxi arrived and was surrounded by porters for our luggage, to the moment we checked out, everything was excellent. We were escorted to check-in and our luggage swiftly found its way to our room. While we were extremely fortunate to have a free up-grade, nonetheless our experience was sublime. The room was spacious, bed was fine and the bathroom contained everything you would expect even down to a toothbrush and comb (and tv above the bath). The service was what 5-star is reputed to be but often fails in reality. We were greeted and helped all through our stay. The internet provision is in a series of spacious cubicles - almost mini-offices - and the swimming pool is the biggest I've seen in a hotel. The breakfast had an enormous range of provision covering all tastes and ethnic groups. In the room was a selction of tea/coffee with a mini-urn to heat water, and drinking water is provided. Wedding apart, this was the highlight of our trip to China!

Room Tip: The higher the better I suspect. The river view is not particularly inspiring!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Second time there, the family loves the panda base and their are many great things to see within a two hour drive, Leshan Buddha, Mount Emei etc.
Check in is always fast and efficient, check out is horrible, slow and bureaucratic, rooms are very nice, staff are ok but limited English for an international 5 start hotel, concierges are great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nesamoolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie_Meng_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Mr. Neilmclean,thank you for sharing your comments at Shangri-la Chengdu Hotel. We strive to deliver the most comfortable room facility and service for our guests. Your feeback on the disappointed check out experience and language barren has been noted and will be investigated internally& take necessary actions to improve, and we look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Recently completed a two-night stay in a king room on the 30th floor with a stunning view of the river and city. Late night check-in was quick and efficient. Lobby was spacious and brightly lit. Room was large and very nicely furnished. Nice range of television stations that included a good selection of English language stations. Climate controls made for comfortable nights. Overall fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neponset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,567 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,567 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.7 mi away
Niccolo Chengdu
Niccolo Chengdu
#3 of 2,567 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. Regis Chengdu
The St. Regis Chengdu
#11 of 2,567 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#10 of 2,567 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Chengdu
Hilton Chengdu
#6 of 2,567 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Address: No.9 Binjiang East Road, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610021, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#1 Family Hotel in Chengdu
#1 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#3 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#41 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu 5*
Number of rooms: 593
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri La Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing