We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking into the Shangri-La took my breathe away.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Ranked #10 of 2,754 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel was probably the most beautiful we stayed at in China. The staff were attentive and very competant. We needed to get some glasses fixed and they called us a taxi and aranged for us to be taken there. Taxis are the cheapest way to travel in Chine....whats with that. We ate all our meals at the hotel as the food was fantastic. The pricing was great and is comparable to what we would have paid for a cheap meal in Australia. Breakfasts were fantastic although if you order poached eggs they will bring it to your table.This seems to be a common practice for most hotels.Shangri-La is situated right next to the river and at night is a beautiful walk around. We explored all the little streets around the hotel and loved it.The view from our room was spectacular especially at night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snapper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 2,134 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel is not in the busiest part of the town but it is next to rows of restaurants and bars where people can relax after a long day of conference/workshop in the hotel. The conference area is large and noisy as the entrance there is often used by everyone to enter the hotel. The room is not decorated in a fancy manner but functional and clean. Food in the restaurant for breakfast and lunch are well prepared with many varieties. The checking-in and check-out process can be long as there are often big tourist groups from Hongkong arriving and leaving the hotel at busiest time of the day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YQTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were in Chengdu for a family wedding. This hotel was recommended to us and did not disappoint. From the moment our taxi arrived and was surrounded by porters for our luggage, to the moment we checked out, everything was excellent. We were escorted to check-in and our luggage swiftly found its way to our room. While we were extremely fortunate to have a free up-grade, nonetheless our experience was sublime. The room was spacious, bed was fine and the bathroom contained everything you would expect even down to a toothbrush and comb (and tv above the bath). The service was what 5-star is reputed to be but often fails in reality. We were greeted and helped all through our stay. The internet provision is in a series of spacious cubicles - almost mini-offices - and the swimming pool is the biggest I've seen in a hotel. The breakfast had an enormous range of provision covering all tastes and ethnic groups. In the room was a selction of tea/coffee with a mini-urn to heat water, and drinking water is provided. Wedding apart, this was the highlight of our trip to China!

Room Tip: The higher the better I suspect. The river view is not particularly inspiring!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Second time there, the family loves the panda base and their are many great things to see within a two hour drive, Leshan Buddha, Mount Emei etc.
Check in is always fast and efficient, check out is horrible, slow and bureaucratic, rooms are very nice, staff are ok but limited English for an international 5 start hotel, concierges are great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nesamoolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie_Meng_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Mr. Neilmclean,thank you for sharing your comments at Shangri-la Chengdu Hotel. We strive to deliver the most comfortable room facility and service for our guests. Your feeback on the disappointed check out experience and language barren has been noted and will be investigated internally& take necessary actions to improve, and we look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Recently completed a two-night stay in a king room on the 30th floor with a stunning view of the river and city. Late night check-in was quick and efficient. Lobby was spacious and brightly lit. Room was large and very nicely furnished. Nice range of television stations that included a good selection of English language stations. Climate controls made for comfortable nights. Overall fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neponset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful decor gorgeous rooms good location. Unexpected luxury in China. Comfortable beds great lighting in the rooms. Don't miss the panda place when Chengdu. Lots of good breakfast options at the buffet in the morning.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAJ_Massachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Been here few times, the hotel is up to now probably the must luxury in town but it's a little bit old, rooms sometimes smell smoke, staff not very familiar with english language (excluded, thanks God, the reception). Restaurants quality are generally speaking good, and there is a nice pub with live music in the B1 floor. For the ones enjoying the night life, the hotel is convenient located in front of the river pubs and besides the Lan Kwai Fong area.

Room Tip: river view is much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miblu73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#3 of 2,754 in Chengdu
655 reviews
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
#6 of 2,754 in Chengdu
240 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,754 in Chengdu
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The St. Regis Chengdu
The St. Regis Chengdu
#8 of 2,754 in Chengdu
373 reviews
5.8 mi away
InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#18 of 2,754 in Chengdu
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu

Address: No.9 Binjiang East Road, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610021, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#2 Family Hotel in Chengdu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#7 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#46 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range: $149 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu 5*
Number of rooms: 593
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri La Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing