We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff is what makes ths hotel the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Ranked #6 of 2,639 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The staff is what makes ths hotel the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Physically, the hotel is beautiful. The Lobby Lounge is great with good jazz. The Shang Palace serves excellent Szechuan cuisine and a delightful dim sum Sunday brunch. The breakfast and lunch buffets are abundant. The workout facilities and pool are awesome. But the real reason to stay at the Shangri La is the staff. In our 6-night stay, we got to know the evening manager, Nicholas; several concierge staff including Sky; and especially customer service representative Eva Yin. All were generous, kind and amazingly helpful in all kinds of ways. They are the reason we had a lovely time in Chengdu, and the reason to stay at the Shangri la.

Room Tip: Presumably the river view rooms are larger and nicer but we didn't want to pay the extra amount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mermaid528_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    669
    96
    14
    6
See reviews for
108
149
56
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

After a taxi ride of about 40 minutes from the airport we arrived at the hotel with pretty high expectations based on what we read on tripadvisor. The lobby was really impressive and there was a lot of staff to help us. I booked a room for the three of us but for the extra bed they charged a very steep fee.

However going op to our room, we found that carpets in the corridors looked a little bit shabby. Also our room was small compared to the other hotels we stayed in.

Concierge was great. They were really helpful with taxi's and made sure that we would get to the right place. We loved the panda's. In summer go early to see them in their outside enclosures. It really makes all the difference. We also loved Jingli street: may be a lit bit tacky, but we loved it.

In the Lan Kwai Fong area around the corner of the hotel is a Starbucks and some restaurants we enjoyed. Don't go to the italian restaurant opposite the entrance of the hotel were all the taxi's arrive: worst pizza ever. But the best food option is the buffet in the Shangri-la itself! We really loved the big variety of well prepared food.

What we really didn't like was the feeling that this hotel was not about hospitality but about money extraction: a steep fee for the extra bed, ridiculous over-priced tours to the panda's (that we didn't take because it is very easy to get their by taxi) but also having guest pay extra for a swimming cap that is mandatory for the pool. Before they would let our 9-year old daughter swim, I had to fill in a elaborate form waiving all responsibilities of the hotel.

Although we really enjoyed Chengdu, the shabby corridors, the relatively small room and the nickle and diming, made that were disappointed about the Shangri-la.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripleDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Yes objectively, it is a 5 star hotel. it has everything you would expect of a real 5 star. I think that says it all.

Against my expectations, it is a 3 star (it met my expecations). But I thougth for almost $400/night in China, it's not such a good value. I might try something else next time.

What we think stand out from this hotel is its breakfast. Both me and my husband loved the breakfast (this is rare, because we usually prefer different things). There are so many different varieties and everything is well done and presented. We think it has the BEST breastfast we have ever had among all the 5 stars we stayed at over the years for work and for leisure.

What I think fell slightly short of this hotel is its location: quite far from everything. We tried to walk around and find a good restaurant outside, but there was none (except the one accross the street that has every small item costing more than $40). we had to return to the hotel and ate there - food were ok, but just ok. very bad value when you consider quality and price. Another things is the decoration is a little "old style" instead of the clean "modern style" we prefer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zc12_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed overnight for a quick work trip. The hotel is located in a central part of Chengdu overlooking a river and right next to a famous restaurant built on a bridge spanning said river, conveniently located about a ten minute walk to Sichuan Conservatory of Music where I was lecturing.

The hotel facilities and amenities are very nice and up to par with most Shangri-la hotels, but the rooms are starting to show a little age, it's probably time for a bit of updating. The bathroom is quite nice though.

Still, a very nice hotel, probably the best in Chengdu at present.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HandOfGuido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
259 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Very central and convenient location. Went for this property because of the reviews of Tripadvisor. We arrived fairly late and I was so happy that I got an upgrade because I just joined the "Golden Circle" loyalty program. The suite was on the 5th floor, a fairly strange location overlooking an ugly roof. All lights in the "suite" were cheap energy saving bulbs that put the room in a fairly dim and unfocussed bluish glow. On top of that it was ice cold since the room has not been in use for some time.

Furniture and fixtures were poorly finished and not up to Shangri La as I know it. The marble floor apart from being ice cold was also broken and it was unpleasant to walk around with out shoes.

Public areas are great and want me to come back. Just not keen to get an "upgrade"

Room Tip: Don't go for the upgrade, you will not get a suite but a low floor service apartment with no vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernlicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed here for seven nights in August, 2012. Room was great, with a huge, plush bed, and big bathroom with separate shower and tub. Chengdu is HOT in the summer, so the AC is a must, and the AC in this room was really quiet, and could be adjusted as I desired.
The hotel spa has a 25 meter indoor pool, perfect for lap swimming, as well as dry and wet saunas, full aerobic and training equipment and a very nice locker room.
I only ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant (Cafe Z) but is was a huge spread of food, with everything imaginable for breakfast laid out.

Room Tip: River side, and stay away from the elevators, they make a bit of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very nice hotel but service totally unable to meet the customers' need.
In China there is much better service for half of the price paid:
- staff unavailble to translate in chinese the name of one famous place of Chengdu;
- taxi not availble for at least 20 minutes, any help from the staff and I found it alone in less then 30".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 55a_______________m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,639 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,639 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Niccolo Chengdu
Niccolo Chengdu
#3 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hilton Chengdu
Hilton Chengdu
#4 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#16 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Address: No.9 Binjiang East Road, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610021, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#1 Family Hotel in Chengdu
#5 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#42 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu 5*
Number of rooms: 593
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri La Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing