We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not easy to better in this price range.”
Review of Tibet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tibet Hotel
Ranked #18 of 2,730 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is a very well appointed hotel with excellent rooms that most people would not need to upgrade - indeed up with the best standard rooms I have ever stayed in. My total experience was very good and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porthmellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 626 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed two nights nov. 2012. Terrible noise from what sounded like heating. Had to move room in the middle of the night. Complained the next morning but no one paid a blind bit of notice. Avoid 10th floor like the plague. Moved to 11th and all was well. No apology from anyone the next morn.
Submitted by L McGowan, Ireland.

Room Tip: Avoid 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConneryIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Rooms are more like suites with the bathroom, toilet and shower room concealed behind a separating wall. Kingsize plus beds with sumptuous furnishings. Restaurant and room service excellent and efficient. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hampshiretraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed for a few days over National Holiday.

The Good:
* Pretty clean - Room was a little musty, didn't bother me but did bother my wife.
* Great shower - Both my wife and daughter commented that the shower was the best they'd used in all of China. Lots of water pressure, consistent and plenty of hot water.
* Service - Very friendly, good English, very helpful if you asked.

The So-So:
* Carpet - Always a test for a Chinese hotel. Many of the Western branded hotels will have clean carpet (think Marriot or Sharaton). Almost EVERY Chinese branded hotel will have filthy stains all over the carpet. The Tibet had at least tried pretty hard to clean the dirty spots. It wasn't filthy like most Chinese hotels, but it certainly wasn't clean.
* Beds - The beds were softer than most Chinese hotels. Probably a great compromise for their mix of guests.

The Bad:
* Breakfast was TERRIBLE - Even setting aside that the food was pretty bad, they were out of EVERYTHING. No glasses for the juice, cheese plate was empty, no butter, ran out of cold milk, orange juice and mango juice, coffee machine was out of order and 1/3 of the hot dishes were empty all the time. I know it was Chinese National Holiday and that they were pretty booked, but there is no excuse to be out of much of your food ... we got to grabbing what we could when we could. The omelettes were pathetic - we ordered veggie omelettes and between the 4 omelettes, we found about 3 onions slices, a couple pieces of tomato and a single red pepper (this was counting ALL the veggies on all the plates). I would have been SERIOUSLY upset if I had paid for breakfast instead of having it included. They need to fire whoever is running the kitchen (or not running the kitchen as the case may be).
* Elevators - Half the elevators were out of service. The sign indicated they'd been out of service for over 1 month. When it got busy, in the morning in particular, it became regular practice to wait over 5 minutes for an elevator.
* TV - Only 2 channels of English TV, CNN and HBO. That would be acceptable except for the fact that they volume on the HBO channel was so low that it could not be heard. Hope you like CNN and only CNN.
* TV - Power on TV went out the morning we were checking out. After monkeying with it a bit, I found that the outlet was bad. Strung the power cable from the TV to the outlet by the desk and had CNN again.
* Location - Not a bad walk from the subway, but not close to anything else.

All in all, it wasn't bad. If I hadn't read so many glowing reviews, I probably would not have been so annoyed. You'd have to be crazy to pay for breakfast, but otherwise service was good. Being the only hotel I've stayed in Chengdu, I wouldn't tell a friend to avoid it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lafbizguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Like other contributors we stayed here on route to the Pandas. What an impressive marvellous hotel this is. All mod cons but decorated tastefully. This has to be one of the most delightful hotels that we have ever stayed in.

Choice of 6 pillows and tv revolves so that you can view it either in the bedroom or the bathroom - pretentious, certainly not.
Highly recommend

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfrescodave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Only stayed here one night during a trip the Chengdu Panda Breeding Park. The rooms were very impressive and comfortable, with extra facilities not often found in other hotels. From the hotel, you can walk to some attractive parts of the city near the river.
The breakfast was good and the staff were helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burt68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here one night having been to Chengdu Panda Sanctuary. Found the hotel very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was good with separate bath and shower and the room was roomy with air conditioning. The bed was very comfortable and on the whole we were very pleased with this hotel. Excellent facilities in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.1 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,730 in Chengdu
352 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#17 of 2,730 in Chengdu
925 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,730 in Chengdu
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#3 of 2,730 in Chengdu
601 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
2.1 mi away
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
#22 of 2,730 in Chengdu
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tibet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tibet Hotel

Address: No.10 Renmin North Road, Jinniu District, Chengdu 610081, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#20 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range: $64 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tibet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotwire so you can book your Tibet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chengdu Tibet Hotel
Tibet Hotel Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing