We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The one big let down of our tour!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Western Royal Palace Hotel
Ranked #1,040 of 2,748 Hotels in Chengdu
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed here for only 1 night (thank goodness!) in the middle of a Wendy Wu Tour of China. What can I say that hasn't been said?! For a start I had trouble leaving a review as it's on TA as 'Talace' but everything that I've seen elsewhere (including in the hotel) says 'Palace'? Well either way...a Palace it is not!!! Our room was not very clean, the bathroom was very dubious and the carpet was disgustingly stained and sticky! We decided not to ask to change rooms as others in our party were saying their rooms were the same. Also some of the occupants of other rooms on our floor (opposite us) looked very very dubious and unfriendly and as we had fellow travellers in the rooms on either side we decided that there was safety in numbers and we'd stay put!! The corridors were dark dingy and not for loitering in, as was the entrance lobby. The breakfast room reminded me of the little staff cafeterias tucked away in the basement of large hotels
in England! The food was just awful, we didn't bother attempting to eat it as up til then we had kept really well and healthy!!!. The tour guide actually told us not to expect much! In our whole tour this hotel would be my only negative complaint of Wendy Wu. I can only think they use it because of it's location (you have several hours free in Xian and it is well located near the square, museum, shops etc, but even that is not reason enough to stay there!). There must be other nice hotels that are well located in Chengdu....PLEASE book one of those not the 'Palace'! Yuck!

Room Tip: If staying more than one night....perhaps don't!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onhols4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 44 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2011

Difficult to find this hotel on the web, as it seems to be called Palace by some and Talace by others. Is this to prevent anyone tracking a review down? Dingy, dirty, smoky entrance to this hotel, and the room we were given was even worse. Tiny, dirty window and filthy carpet. Wouldn't dare put my bare foot on the floor. We were moved to another room on the 9th floor and this had been refurbished and was much, much better. Breakfast terrible. Buffet, but very little choice, cold bacon, stewed, cold tea. Great location, just across the road from the main square, and walking distance to main shopping centre. McDonalds and Starbucks 5 minutes walk away across the square. McDonalds coffee half the price of Starbucks and just as good!

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room - 9th floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jog888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Hotel overlooks the main square with the huge Mao marble statue. Excellent hotel, large room, big bathroom, small fridge, good value at 480 rmb for bed and breakfast. Some western bits of breakfast as well as the usual Chinese. Some English speaking staff, all helpful with writing down names of places in Chinese. Some noise at night and early morning as they are building a new Science and Technology Museum right in front. But then they are building everywhere in China. Wonderful tea-house in People's Park, 5 minutes walk away. The main shopping and restaurant area on the other side of the square.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrejusFrejus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed April 7, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed January 7, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed May 9, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed July 31, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.5 mi away
Fraser Suites Chengdu
Fraser Suites Chengdu
#7 of 2,748 in Chengdu
509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#13 of 2,748 in Chengdu
360 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,748 in Chengdu
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,748 in Chengdu
523 reviews
1.6 mi away
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
#35 of 2,748 in Chengdu
73 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#18 of 2,748 in Chengdu
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Royal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Royal Palace Hotel

Address: No.8 Xiyu Street, Qingyang District, Chengdu 610015, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,040 of 2,748 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range: $40 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Western Royal Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Western Royal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing