We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in the main hotel not the west wing”
Review of Sichuan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sichuan Hotel
Ranked #158 of 2,783 Hotels in Chengdu
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We were booked in the West Wing as part of a Wendy Wu tour. We were told there were no double rooms available, only twin beds. Went to the room which was very small and had a tiny shower room. As we were told there were no rooms in the entire hotel we asked the rep about changing to the main hotel. This was done for £19/night.
Main hotel had nice rooms with good sized bathrooms. Breakfast had a good variety

Room Tip: Main hotel is much better than west wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 293 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

The room was comfortable although the bed was very hard (in line with most Chinese hotel beds), the facilities in the room were good including a room safe. The room was non smoking but quite clearly had previously had smoking persons in there as it smelled of stale smoke and was musty. As we were only there for one night we didn't complain about the smell in the room in order to be moved.The breakfast was basic but sufficient.

Room Tip: Insist on a no smoking room and if it smells of smoke ask to be moved before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed in this hotel as part of a Wendy Wu tour.It was not as good as our previous hotels,which was a pity as we were here for three nights.One complaint was the bathroom which needed refurbishment,eg,mould in the corners of the shower.Beds were the most comfortable we had slept in,and had no complaints about traffic noise,even though our room [402] overlooked the road,after about 11pm it all went quiet.Our main complaint is that the dining room was closed for decorating,so we had to trek to another hotel nearby for breakfast,Wendy Wu must have known this,and should have booked us into another hotel.On the plus side it is close to the city centre,with Starbucks,KFC,and McDonalds if you are suffering withdrawal symptoms.Cash machines are just outside hotel and easy to use.But dont forget you are in China,so have to take the rough with the smooth.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

First english communication terrible. 10% staff that able to communicate in english. I feel sorry or that. Most of their rooms are smoking but i was told that my room is non smoking but i still smell the cigaret imagine what would be the smoking room smell? I was there late night was so tired but end up by changing room twice. While i requested to have non smoking room early 3 day in advance before i arrive. However the location is good.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Angousspheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I love chengdu .sichuan hotel is a good place
Food there are spicy ppl like to play making on the street ,one of my favorite city in the world .the price of the hotel is good and nice condition I will go again

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lilmumu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Another stop on our Wendy Wu tour.
Staying at the Sichuan Hotel Chengdu (west wing) was a disappointment.
Roosm were very small, carpets dirty. You had to be quick under the shower as the shower drain didn’t work very well. So a very quick shower or else you flooded out the bathroom. The toilet ran all night, and after complaining the next morning it was fixed (until we used the toilet again) and yes you guessed it ran all the next night too!!
Beds hard as per normal for China.

The hotel is on the corner of a busy intersection, so rooms can be noisy. Plenty of shops just outside the hotel (supermarket, pharmacy, post office etc). as well as restaurants etc. Standing on the steps at night watching the traffic is very entertaining to say the least. There doesn’t seem to be any traffic rules at all in China, how they miss one another is beyond me.

I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone, but if you are in Chengdu and you want to see the Panda Research Station, then I suppose it’s adequate.

Room Tip: Find another hotel, but if you must stay here, make sure you are high enough up so you don't get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brandiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our room was quite small but adequate. Bed linens were good and the bed was comfortable. Wifi was available in the room. Bathroom small but fine.Breakfast was mostly Chinese food. This hotel was within easy access of main shopping streets.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pollyoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0 mi away
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
#35 of 2,783 in Chengdu
75 reviews
0 mi away
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
#25 of 2,783 in Chengdu
346 reviews
0 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#14 of 2,783 in Chengdu
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Fraser Suites Chengdu
Fraser Suites Chengdu
#13 of 2,783 in Chengdu
518 reviews
0 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#2 of 2,783 in Chengdu
596 reviews
0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#1 of 2,783 in Chengdu
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sichuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sichuan Hotel

Address: No.31 Zongfu Street , No.47 Bei Xing Street , No.89 Shuwa North Second Street, Chengdu 610016, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#80 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range: $27 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sichuan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sichuan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sichuan Hotel Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing