We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“below average”
Review of Sichuan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sichuan Hotel
Ranked #155 of 2,754 Hotels in Chengdu
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel has a great location! That is the only thing good to say. The standard rooms were VERY small and very outdated. The beds were essentially like sleeping on boxsprings. We had three extra pads put on the beds, but it did not help. The carpets seemed very dirty. We were on a non smoking floor but no one seemed to care. People would walk up and down the halls smoking. We traveled in March. The inside temperature of our hotel room was 85 degrees. We were so very hot!!! We complained to no avail. They wouldn't even bring a fan to our rooms. They do not turn the air conditioners on until May so BEWARE! We would not stay here ever again. I am sure the Super 8 Motels in the US are nicer than this place!

FYI: You will need a swim cap to swim in the pool.

Room Tip: The only half way decent rooms are the executive suites....and they are very expensive and still not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amyjoy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 293 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

My two night stay in the west wing of this hotel was the most pleasant of my current China trip sö far . Entering the cool air-conditioned room was heaven.. The room was clean with modern decor and an LED TV. The bathroom shower had hot water and the towels appeared almost new. The bed was comfortable. The free wi fi did not work satisfactorily for me. There was inevitably some traffic noise. Laundry wad collected by s smiling housekeeper and delivered on time. Breakfast (mainly Chinese style) included fantastic Sichuan pork noodles freshly prepared by a smiling friendly chef. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanuk6991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had the misfortune to be booked in this hotel for a couple days. The location was fine, but the bed just about killed me. It felt like sleeping atop box springs rather than a mattress. I contemplated sleeping on the floor at one point in the middle of the night, but I found a straight pin in the very worn carpet and decided to just tough it out with the hard-as-a-board bed rather than risk drawing blood.

The breakfast was adequate, certainly enough to get us going for a morning of touring. I was disappointed that I had to sit in the lobby to check my email since there was no wifi in the rooms.

Another thing - if you're hot natured or middle aged and prone to hot flashes, you should be prepared to sweat. Although mild outside, it was humid and so we turned on the AC to make the room comfortable. Unfortunately, it didn't help and just kept recirculating the same warm, moist air. I most definitely would not return to this hotel or recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarrieGF67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel/hotels building (s) from the photographs and descriptions by previous reviewers seems to be the place where we stayed, now called interchangeably the "Tianyi Internatinal" and/or " Sichuan Tianyi" hotel that caters to large events/ conferences/ weddings. It was more in keeping with a Chinese style hotel, harder beds, smoking everywhere ( even in the very slow moving elevators) and an AC system that didnt work until our guide had a shouting match with front desk personnel ( who by the way did notspeak English at all. One of our fellow travellers asked a question, and thought that the staff had turned away to find out the information on his computer as he was busily typing away...Nope, staff couldnt answer, and apparently didnt attempt to find anyone who could, so simply ignored him and resumed their work,). There was extensive construction going on in the neighboring building, and double doors at the end of the floor hallways were actually chained shut, but constuction dust still drifted through. A lof of outside construction nois, even in our 13 th floor room. There were shabby, pulled up carpeting in the hallways and room and hallway wallpaper was stained about 2 ' up with what appeared to be black mold. The rooms themselves ( at least our king room) was large, and the room had one of the see through glass bathroom walls that was covered by a semi transparent pull down pleated curtain. The bathroom drains had a musty, sometimes almost garlicky smell, especially in the early morning. the AC problem, though miraculously fixed after our guide's intervention, coincidentally went out again on the morning we were checking out, and by mid morning the room temperature was hot. Outside temps were only in the 60 degree range. Breakfast was fine and plentiful, on par with other hotels we stayed at. only one English channel TV station was available.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wdee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stay in the west wing and rooms were small but adequate for the price. Bathroom facilities were good with the linen much better than other places that have a higher rate. Breakfast were adequate but the choice is limited. Not a great spread but enough to get you going. Location is the big plus with plenty of retail and fast food places - like a McDonald's where you can get a decent cup of coffee at the Macafe. For half the price you pay at other locations. Plus free wifi. Plenty of high end shops as well small local shops. Great value but not swish.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here as part of a Wendy Wu tour. The bedroom was of a decent size -. Poor selection at breakfast - the only western options were cold hard-boiled eggs or fried eggs. Although they advertise the time breakfast opens it means you can enter but the staff have not turned up and there is nothing there are last day was going to be a long day and our guide said to be in the lobby by a set time but that did not allow us breakfast due to the staff not being ready. The hotel is in a great place for shopping etc but be warned that prostitues operate in the area and outside the hotel, they do not care if you are male or female your be approached. No internet connection if you want anything other than a chinese website.
My experience to China is amongst the worst in the world and totally unhappy with Wendy Wu and the quality of the hotels they choose. Think twice if you book with them

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Solo41-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel. For a start, it’s very well located close to the major shopping zone. Secondly, it’s a low-rise hotel by Chinese standards and had a more personal feel as a result. Our room was on level 2 and we used the stairs. I enjoyed the breakfast room which seemed more traditional in décor than many modern hotels. The breakfast bar offered a good choice of Chinese and Western foods, including coffee and toaster. I loved Chengdu – the pavements are exceptionally wide and feel uncluttered compared to other Chinese cities. So it’s pleasant to walk around. There are many interesting back streets to explore. I found the locals very friendly and happy to be photographed. The place retains genuine traditional Chinese shops, restaurants and food stalls. The room was large and well-presented although the bed was hard by Western standards. We stuck the spare doona on the bed to make it softer. The room has coffee-making facilities and free LAN which worked.

Room Tip: Go low and use the stairs. Avoid the secondary wing which seems to have a poor reputation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanderra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0 mi away
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
#34 of 2,754 in Chengdu
74 reviews
0 mi away
Tibet Hotel
Tibet Hotel
#20 of 2,754 in Chengdu
633 reviews
0 mi away
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
#23 of 2,754 in Chengdu
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#13 of 2,754 in Chengdu
366 reviews
0 mi away
Ibis Chengdu Chunxi
Ibis Chengdu Chunxi
#45 of 2,754 in Chengdu
109 reviews
0 mi away
Fraser Suites Chengdu
Fraser Suites Chengdu
#7 of 2,754 in Chengdu
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sichuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sichuan Hotel

Address: No.31 Zongfu Street , No.47 Bei Xing Street , No.89 Shuwa North Second Street, Chengdu 610016, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#78 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range: $26 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sichuan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sichuan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sichuan Hotel Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing