We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yes, Terrible !”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sichuan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sichuan Hotel
Ranked #325 of 2,652 Hotels in Chengdu
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yes, Terrible !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

About two weeks into our twenty-eight day tour with Wendy Wu and we were put into the Sichuan Hotel, Chengdu and I believe it was the West Wing, although we didn't have this confirmed until arrival. Perhaps the other wings were better as there appeared to be another entrance to another Sichuan Hotel. Our entrance was on the corner of two busy streets and the location was good, within walking distance of vibrant areas. However, it was the worst hotel of the whole tour, so tired and grubby and our shower overflowed into the bathroom. Another couple also had the same trouble so we were moved to another floor after complaining, and we found ourselves on a floor where smoking is permitted and we were right above the busy corner and lower down. As is very common in China, the beds were very hard. The breakfast was very limited, the usual orange cordial and not juice, some cereal, cold eggs and coffee etc. Staff were not interested and may have cleared the tables eventually.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    166
    60
    21
    6
See reviews for
14
18
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle NSW
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

This hotel is in downtown Chengdu, very close to the action. Short walk to markets, Peoples Park and the big square. The hotel has plenty of 'old world' charm but is looking a bit tired. The bathroom was booged up with loads of sealant and the ceiling was mouldy and water damaged. Place needs a refurbishment to lift standard. On the whole though it was quite clean and well serviced. Downstairs dining room provided adequate breakfast. Stayed in the South Wing and never did find the other wing (where the currency exchange was). Post Office across the street was very handy, although you may need some assistance from a local guide getting served. The men's gaming club (turn left and go down about 10 doors) is worth a look, especially on a weekend. Further on is the land of mobile phone shots.
If you're stuck for a fun activity, find the People's Park and have your ears cleaned by a scary man using a long, sharp probe! The be sure to get a toffee drawn on a stick and watch the men painting the Chinese characters in water on the paving stones.

Room Tip: Side rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biggles81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

This was the second hotel that I stayed in on a wendy wu tour. The rooms by the main road are VERY noisy. Better pack ear plugs. The rooms on the other side are less noisy. I stayed there twice and both rooms I had had stains on the carpet! Could do with new carpets! Food is a mixture of western and Chinese. The beds are hard ss is normal in China.Shops just out side the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not by the road or if you get a room by the road, prepare for noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dipsygreencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

The Sichuan Hotel was the first hotel that we had stayed in that was clean, dry and pleasant and we had been in China a week by this time. This hotel is perfect for a trip in China as you spend little time in the room and when you do go back to the hotel, it is clean and dry and comfortable (well as comfy as chinese beds get as they are normally quite hard). A pleasant relief!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaeRae99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

I am staying in the west wing sichuan hotel on 26 Dec 09 - 02 Jan 10. Reception staffs are friendly, rooms are clean, though abit small, but i find it worth the price., It is located not very far from the shopping area, with a few minutes walk to reach the mall..Nearby there are stores similar to 7-eleven, very convenient..Opposite the hotel there is this store selling take away burgers, nuggets etc, called Lepapa..

some bad points:
-rooms facing the street will tend to hear alot of car horns, sometimes might also smell the cigarette smoke..(probably the room we staying are not non-smoking room).
-Breakfast are very oily and salty ,and is almost the same dish everyday.

Overall, i am still very satisfied with this hotel. and will come back again next time i come to chengdu. - yalzhinn

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

Staff were helpful and had enough English to manage. Single room was small and a little musty, but good value having booked through elong.net for just 218Y a night. Free internet, HBO/CNN on the tele, great location close to good food and markets.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.4 mi away
Haiyatt Hotel
Haiyatt Hotel
#50 of 2,652 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chunxi Fang Old Chengdu Inn
Chunxi Fang Old Chengdu Inn
#289 of 2,652 in Chengdu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chengdu City Center
0.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
#19 of 2,652 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Niccolo Chengdu
Niccolo Chengdu
#3 of 2,652 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sichuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sichuan Hotel

Property: Sichuan Hotel
Address: No.31 Zongfu Street (Main Building), No.47 Bei Xing Street (South Wing), No.89 Shuwa North Second Street (West Wing), Chengdu 610016, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#168 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sichuan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sichuan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sichuan Hotel Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing