We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Homeland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Homeland Hotel
Ranked #134 of 2,652 Hotels in Chengdu
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in February because of confidence in its location: on its own site (surrounded only by detached private villas) yet close to all we needed to be near to: airport (good for us as we were flying on to Beijing), city centre and the wonderful pandas and because of the photos' and reviews on this page. Echo the sentiments of those who praised the quality of the staff training: very well presented, courteous and sincere. We dined enjoyably at the hotel on arrival, breakfast next morning was a very fresh, appealing and copious buffet, a super variety (which meant that for three days we were very well satisfied with European staples and very nutritious and delicious tempting local dishes). Room service was attentive and very polite. As a treat we stayed in a room (suite) with its own his and her saunas - beyond what we had hoped with time to enjoy bowling alley (we enjoyed having a go!), and indoor pool and spa. In short, very very pleasant stay. Excellent, well done to all the staff, who had competency and cared!

Room Tip: Our suite with two double bedrooms, living room and his and hers saunas was very well appointed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryP_F_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    115
    25
    9
    0
See reviews for
2
5
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here just for one night between flights. It's well located for Chengdu airport, only 10 minutes in a taxi from/to the airport. It's one of these big old hotels that has seen better days, but I would happily stay again if needed.

The fact that it's close to the airport means it's a bit of a way away from downtown Chengdu, so maybe not the best location if you are staying for a few days sightseeing.

The room was spacious and clean and enough of the staff had a sufficient level of English that I got by without my usual translator. Even room service ordering was solved with the help of Google images :-)

The hotel has a large outdoor pool area that looks quite nice, although the time of year meant I couldn't use it. Breakfast was fine with a reasonable choice for Westerners. Complimentary in room wifi was also available.

All in all, an acceptable stay without any issues.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dyet92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you are in transit or have business near the airport this is a good hotel for you. If you have business in town (or need fluent English speakers) you probably want one closer in. There are no museums or cultural facilities anywhere near the place.

For background, I spent 3 stays totaling 9 weeks over a 4 month period during the spring of 2012. I was in Chengdu with a crew working at the airport.

When we first arrived the hotel had a limited number of people who spoke any English at all. By the end our month’s long odyssey there were several staffers who could get by and a couple who spoke quite good English. All very pleasant with a desire to help.

The first floor is an enormous open format party room which makes a good first impression. The guest rooms are fairly standard: Bed, 27” flat screen, mini-fridge, a small desk with hardwired Internet, and a closet. There are NO non-smoking rooms and the clientele has the habit of lighting up in their rooms then leaving the doors open so they can share the stench. Requesting an upper floor and/or being near the end of the wing helps as there are open-able windows at the end of the corridor next to the emergency stairs.

They were in the process of refurbishing several of the floors so some of us got rooms with pealing wall paper and badly worn carpet. Some got rooms that had a fresh coat of paint, carpet, new beds, and a full size picture window from the bedroom looking into the bathtub. I’m not kidding.

They give you two small bottles of drinking water each day (bathroom faucets marked as not potable). Right around the corner (approximately 100 yards) is an ATM and Ho-mart grocery store and where we obtained packs of water and sodas to put in the fridge.

The breakfast buffet is huge. There is a good selection of hot goods, fresh fruit, and bakery items. They have a noodle chef and an omelet chef. Note: They tend to make the eggs a lot runnier than most westerners prefer and drown their griddle in grease. The fried eggs usually had the whites just barely set and the yolk still cold. There is a good selection for dinner and the food was quite good until we’d all gone through the full menu a couple of times.

If you are with a large party they have several Chalets on the grounds behind the hotel. These are 2 story buildings with a full living room (big screen TV), dining room, and kitchen (no pots, pans, or utensils but a stove and fridge) on the first floor. There are 3 to 5 bedrooms on the second floor each with its own TV and full bath. We moved into one of these during my March trip and it was a great environment for relaxation after work. Bring a wireless router and your whole crew can surf anywhere in the building.

We will likely be back in CTU next year and will probably use the Homeland again due to proximity to the worksite and price.

Caveats: When you arrive at the airport taxi drivers might not want to take you to the hotel since it’s such a short fare. It’s about 20 RMB by the meter. We usually offered 50 and they were happy.

All of the western restaurants are downtown or at the mall. When you want to go back to the hotel we had a lot of taxi drivers decline to take us because the hotel is outside the last ring road and it’s hard for them to find a returning fare without sitting in an hour long cue at the airport. Start with an offer of 50RMB and they might agree to take you.

The desk only had one usable outlet since the lamp was plugged into the other. A run over to Ho-mart and 35 RMB later I had a four port power strip. Bring your own Ethernet cable and remove it before leaving each day. Housekeeping will wrap it up nice, tight, and pretty to make the room look neat but turning it into a really poor data cable.

Room Tip: Go for upper floors and try to get as far from the center of the building as possible. Ask for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viking_Cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
312 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Location
This hotel is also fairly close to Chengdu Airport (15 minute drive away). Its a hotel that you would only really want to stay there for one night. Although its 4 star its more 3 star. 
Room
I checked into a regular room which had to be changed because of the strong smell of dampness. 
The hotel is rather dated and that included the air conditioning system, presumably when a room is not used they do not have air con going in it so the room starts to get too humid especially in the summer resulting in the furniture smelling damp which leaves a very uncomfortable odour. After being allowed to move, the next room didn't have any toilet paper which was quite annoying and house keeping had to return. The room itself is of ok size but very dated furniture style, old trying to be elegant wooden counters but in need of a paint job. The bed is of ok soft ness but had felt like it sheets on the bed had been made a month ago and not used since. The air con is not great, very old style dials which makes it difficult to pin point desired temperature. The bathroom is also dated in style compared to other Asian airport hotels. The water worked ok and the shower and bath were fine but the counters just looked about 20 years old. 
Facilities
Didn't get to see much of the facilities of this hotel as there was a large trucker convention going on when I arrived but there is a couple of restaurants and a outdoor swimming pool seen from the room. Very bland nothing special about it. I did order room service and decided to go for a Pizza which was a bad option as it turned up almost stone cold, hard base and the cheese as you pick it up the food slides off without any effort. Microwavable ones are better.
Staff
The staff at the hotel were kinda of strange well at least the reception staff they were all girls in very short skirts and tights, i was a bit confused as if they doubled as other jobs for the guests?  The staff didn't speak much English unless its the area manager whom was helpful. Ordering room service was fairly difficult as they can't speak any english and you need to go through the area manager. 
All in all if I stayed in Chengdu again I probably would give this hotel a pass. 

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank docdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zlin, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We have only very good experiences. We must stay in Chengdu only for overnighting between flights.
The staff also helped us with our programme for rest of the day. The room was nice and big, really
very clean. Breakfast chinese and continental (up to chinese possibilities). We had no problems with
deposit in credit card. But I know that in China is sometime a big problem...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JARMILA V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

i wish to alert to traveller to who intend to stay at Chengdu Homeland International Hotel. I stayed in this hotel in January and few months later i realized that they actually charged my credit which i used as deposit but subsequently settled with cash when i checked out. i do not check my credit card statement that often as i travel too frequenly and has too many items on the bills. i guess i will have to be extra careful with china hotels especially those not belonging to international chain. i too had the same bad experience as rboelen1!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronnnie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waratah Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Hotel is convenient for overnighting between flights. I have stayed on 7 different occasions but last time I checked out at 5:30 am after arriving at 12:30 am and did not request return of my room deposit slip for CNY2000. This was then charged to my credit card on top the overnight charge of about CNY1200. Homeland ignored any emails from me requesting refund and I'm still waiting on my bank to have the disputed amount refunded.

Room Tip: Local guest clientele can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rboelen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chengdu
3.0 mi away
Chengdu Airport Hotel
Chengdu Airport Hotel
#30 of 2,652 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
7.0 mi away
Wangjiang International Hotel
Wangjiang International Hotel
#75 of 2,652 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
6.6 mi away
Serengeti Hotel
Serengeti Hotel
#2 of 172 in Shuangliu County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Renaissance Chengdu Hotel
Renaissance Chengdu Hotel
#9 of 2,652 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
6.6 mi away
Yinhe Dynasty Hotel
Yinhe Dynasty Hotel
#45 of 2,652 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
5.9 mi away
Wanda Reign Chengdu
Wanda Reign Chengdu
#13 of 2,652 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeland Hotel

Property: Homeland Hotel
Address: No.181 Jichang Road, Chengdu 610225, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#27 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#59 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#74 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Homeland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homeland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeland Hotel Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing