We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Chengdu
Post
Inbox
Search
Giant Panda Breeding Research Base (Xiongmao Jidi)
Open today: 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Giant Panda Breeding Research Base (Xiongmao Jidi)
from $40.00
More Info
from $70.00
More Info
from $16.00
More Info
from $45.00
More Info
Reviews (6,457)
Filter reviews
6,457 results
Traveler rating
4,471
1,559
342
55
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,471
1,559
342
55
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baby pandas red panda swan lake research base early in the morning black swans adult pandas arrive early climbing trees eating bamboo pandas eating natural environment cute pandas shuttle bus young ones panda breeding fun to watch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 6,457 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were fascinated by the thousands of visitors and the order the staff controlled the crowds.The pandas were beatifull and we were lucky to see a baby panda as well. A must visit place.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Nick and Stella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lots of opportunities to see these amazing creatures! Some of them are sleeping of course, because they do a lot of that, but we were able to see some eating (their favorite thing), and some were playing. We visited in September and the line to see the baby pandas was very short. Our guide from China Discoveries said that it can sometimes take 2 hours to get in the nursery and walk by the babies. But by September, things slow down considerably so I would recommend not going during the summer when the kids are not in school and it is very busy and of course, much hotter than in the fall or spring.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 323cora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at 7:15, fifteen minutes before the base opened. The taxi ride from downtown Chengdu was only a 30 minute journey and cost less than 100 rmb, so we would recommend doing the same rather than faff with buses/tours. Arriving early was essential, as we had heard all the pandas would be fed immediately and then be sleepy by mid morning. Don’t bother with the shuttle bus in the site - it’s not necessary or particularly quick given the queues. On arriving we walked to the back of the site first and, for a magical 15 minutes, had a group of five adolescent pandas all to ourselves whilst they were being fed, without hordes of tourists taking photos - this experience alone is why this gets five stars, otherwise it probably would have been given a 3/4 due to the amount of people there. By about 10 am the place was very busy and the pandas were subdued, so we left. Two hours was enough. There is no need to pay for a guide.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank ScottJ736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The place is a little misleading, it looks like a zoo, and acts like a zoo (behind and exhibit, you learn very little about the animal and the research they do.)

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Tomer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2019

Highly recommended to spend up 2-3 hours enjoying the walk around and admiring the giant pandas. Be there by 730am on weekdays to avoid the crowd that starts to come through by 10am.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews