We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Giant Panda Breeding Research Base (Xiongmao Jidi)
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Giant Panda Breeding Research Base (Xiongmao Jidi)
from $45.00
More Info
from $115.00
More Info
from $110.00
More Info
Reviews (5,974)
Filter reviews
4,336 results
Traveler rating
3,121
961
204
32
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,121
961
204
32
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baby pandas red panda swan lake climbing trees early in the morning black swans arrive early adult pandas eating bamboo pandas eating natural habitat cute pandas beat the crowds young ones panda breeding shuttle bus research center
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 4,336 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

We decided to visit mid-morning to escape the ever present Chinese crowds! So glad we did as it was pleasantly ‘quiet’ and we were able to see pandas at our own leisure without having to jostle for space. They may be less active at this time but it really didn’t bother us and we saw plenty of pandas who were very entertaining in their various stages of sleep/play!!

Spent about 3 hours here and saw lots of pandas including babies. The reserve is really nicely done and the pandas look very well cared for.

We got the Metro to Panda Avenue, bought our tickets at the office there and jumped on the free shuttle bus. Really quick & easy!

Thank LondonBezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Rainy weather but lesser crowd if u go early. joined a small grp tour by windhorse n ghere were only 5 of us all foreigners. Della our english speaking guide was friendly n informative. Panda was hvg breakfast. lots of walking required. the docu movie is good. pandas are sooo cute.

Thank maxiea2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Enjoyed my trip a lot at the Panda park but should have came earlier. Try to go before the park opens by 10 min so you can enjoy a more peaceful time.

Thank emirati_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Pandas galore- pandemonium of the best kind! The babies were especially cute. Red pandas also worth seeing.
Loved this day!

Thank petreamedland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

This was one of the highlights of our trip. We arrived early before it became too crowded and were immediately rewarded with a stunning view of a giant panda. We saw all sizes from babies through to teenagers and several adults. They either slept or ate, enjoying their relaxed lives.
An additional bonus was being able to see and photograph the red pandas who were far more elusive.
Without a centre like this the giant panda would probably be extinct.

1  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Advantage is this place is near city centre so easily accessible. Also, seniors above 60 years old get free admission.
Not many pandas though even when we visit early morning.

1  Thank lilyrosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

This Panda Breeding Research base is extremely well done. The grounds are a very nice respite from the hardscape of Chengdu, the Pandas are easily accessible, we had a nice lunch at the Bamboo Restaurant and everybody was friendly.

Thank mtnferraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Apart from everything everybody can tell you about this wonderful huge mono zoo I was most impressed by the movie shown at the entrance ( and also a bit further in the park)
We saw a giant panda feeling a bit restless and then - floop - the birth of a tiny pink sort of piglet. and... another one!
In real life pandas only can take care of one newborn because of the amount of bamboo she will have to gather....
Here the researchers immediately took the second baby away from the mom and put her in the incubator. and then - please note!!: every three hours they changed the babies, so each youngster spent 3 hours with the mother plus three hours in the incubator
so the mother was rainig TWO babies wihout ever seeing them together.
I thought that was very clever.....! and a solution for the future of the panda's!

1  Thank SVPviolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Totally enjoyed the visit here. The panda viewing was much better than expected due to the large open enclosures. Had to be patient for photos sometimes due to the large number of mainly Chinese tourists. Morning is the quietest time to come. The tiny baby pandas were rather cute, but not much activity from them in their bassinet. totally recommended, fabulous.

Thank BryanCll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went on a group tour with Trip A Deal to this panda base. Was fantastic, were lucky enough to watch the adult pandas playing around. Lovely park and for those that struggle walking there is a courtesy golf buggy type train. Would highly recommend this tour.

Thank Krystyna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews