We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Giant Panda Breeding Research Base (Xiongmao Jidi)
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Private Day Trip: Chengdu Research Base of Giant Panda Breeding and Leshan...
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Chengdu Private Day Tour: Pandas, Kuanzhai Ancient Street, and Jinli Ancient...
More Info
$116.00*
and up
Private Day of Giant Panda Breeding Center and Local Life Experience Tour
Ranked #1 of 343 things to do in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pandas!!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This place is amazing if you love giant and red pandas! It is huge and beautiful park with more then 70 animals. In mid day you can also take pictures with them.
Go there in morning and stay there whole day. You won't see many pandas out on peak heat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jernej B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,385
    1,227
    253
    36
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Panda Love”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Come early (Pandas more active), take the tram (not missing any pandas on way up, just greenery), soak in the pandas. Had made reservations ahead of time (there are only a small # of reservations available daily) to hold a panda cub. Cost is $340 US or 2000 RMB and they only take cash (either US or RMB). This is for about a minute of sitting next to and touching, petting, hugging a panda cub. Worth it? YES! They will take pictures for you and only those who have paid can be present (my friend also took pics and movie of the event). There are more pandas to see as you wander the facility, including the newborns in the incubators if you arrive at birthing time. Also see the Red Bears. This is a great facility and your fees and donations help to continue the breeding program and caring for these beautiful giants. I will definitely go again if in the area and will pay the fee to hug a panda. This is a must see.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nvpdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This place is amazing!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We only came to Chengdu to see the panda reserve. The reserve was amazing! We paid $325 per per person extra to be able hold the pandas and it was well worth it!! This was an experience of a life time...I recommend it to anyone who wants a close encounter with a Panda. BTW the Crown Plaza Hotel is only a 5 minute drive from the reserve.

Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazing wish i had longer”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I booked through Viator to visit this place and cuddle a panda. Wow wow wow. Best tour ever, not only did i get a dedicated driver and tour guide but the tour guide knew all the short cuts in the park and which areas to visit when to ensure i missed all the crowds and saw the pandas before the heat of the day when they all go indoors. The panda cuddle was worth every penny and the sounveirs you get after it are a nice touch.... i just wish i had longer....but then the crowds all turned up at midday so gald we left then.......... if your in the area this is a must for all animal lovers and they really care about their animals such a joy to see!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Takemeaway173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely place to visit. How cute are those Pandas?”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Tricky to find using public transport ( just get a taxi - they are cheap for most of us tourists)

A little more way finding / signage would have helped us find our way around - but nevertheless the pandas were a delight to see.

It was well worth the effort to find the place and entrance price is extremely good value ( we would have paid much more to enter as it is so unique)

The museum and video are interesting and informative. An area for improvement would be to put the English subtitles to the video at the top of the screen as only those people near the front or standing to the back or sides of the room can read the words!

We really liked this place and would visit again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank andylandyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giant Panda Breeding Research Base (Xiongmao Jidi) also viewed

 

Been to Giant Panda Breeding Research Base (Xiongmao Jidi)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing