We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Giant Panda Breeding Research Base (Xiongmao Jidi)
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Private Day Trip: Chengdu Research Base of Giant Panda Breeding and Leshan...
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Chengdu Private Day Tour: Pandas, Kuanzhai Ancient Street, and Jinli Ancient...
More Info
$116.00*
and up
Private Day of Giant Panda Breeding Center and Local Life Experience Tour
Ranked #1 of 343 things to do in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Panda Visit”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The Chengdu Panda centre is a well run and maintained attraction. Although we went mainly for the kids, it was facinating to see the pandas and we were lucky to have seen 5 baby pandas together. There was also an opportunity for the kids to take individual photos with the pandas for about $200 each. It was well worth the visit

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,434
    1,255
    258
    38
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Redland City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Panda experience”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

These pandas at the research station were very cute and extremely well looked after in beautiful natural surroundings. They were such fun to watch .

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hulloAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“you'll gotta love the pandas”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I have seen pandas in the zoo before. Went to the research center without many expectations especially because i thought it was too late since recommendations were to get very early in the morning. What can i say... loved it!! It was the perfect day, sunny but not warm, therefore all the pandas and little pandas were outside enjoying the surroundings and eating. Best time in chengdu! There are pandas for all your likes. I didn't know what was the funniest, the pandas having fun and making a show (there was one that really liked to climb a tree despite falling down, cute!!! Just like kungfu panda :)... ) or watching all the people (including myself) saying awwww... wow... hahaha. It really, really worth to go there. I didn't hold a panda because the donation is quite a steep price but was very close to the babies and to all if them. Highly recomnend the experience, even if you are not a fan, you will become one without doubts. Now i understand why chinese people love them. Pandas behave like humans! Take your time and you can easily understand their behavior. If you can go during winter time it is better since all the pandas are very active around. The red pandas look like racoons and they are very sporty! You have to run from one side to the other just to catch a good pic. A lot of families go to the lake and feed the fishes (kids were crazy about that). Overall a nice place to enjoy and relax. Walk through it, best way to enjoy, get a map in the tourism office and they will recommend you the best spots and in what order go there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“An amazing large and informative research centre”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The only reason we chose to stop in Chengdu was for the kids to see the pandas. The research base is the only one left in town after a few other were destroyed in relatively recent earth quakes. The facility is surprisingly large and caters well for the elderly by providing an electric tram to travel the longer distances if required. We chose to walk around the grounds which were really pretty. There were many enclosures containing pandas and panda species. I think the highlight was seeing baby pandas in humidicribs in the nursery section. This was the only time we had to queue. It is good to arrive early so you witness the pandas being fed and being more lively as they tend to want to sleep after feeding.
The stalls outside the base do not help support research but the shops inside the centre do. If you apply well in advance you can work with the research base for a day also. We spoke to a couple who were doing this.Sounded really interesting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank marbelemclaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Panda Research”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Panda research is a big area, you walk or used electric car to move around is faster. Some part of the garden is beautiful and nice view too. The Panda is beautiful and not afraid of people looking at them.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank EricMiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giant Panda Breeding Research Base (Xiongmao Jidi) also viewed

 

Been to Giant Panda Breeding Research Base (Xiongmao Jidi)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing