We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Chengdu
Ranked #36 of 2,714 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Have been to this hotel on a number stays in Chengdu.
Staff are friendly with a good level of English.
Nice lobby area and good German beer house although expensive.
Plenty of good restaurants within walking distance from the hotel and much cheaper.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BENSPRINGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitashi, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2011

Thank you very much for staying with Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, and thank you again for aways staying with us to be a regular guest!
Hotel locates in the core area of international South Chengdu, where a lot of restaurants and entertainments are. We are looking forward your next stay and come with more valuable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
There are newer reviews for Kempinski Hotel Chengdu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 705 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2010

I`d like to write about Paulaner brewery located at the ground floor of Kempinski hotel. It`s an interesting place with a big copper boiler in the center and a bar around it. There`re also a lot of tables in the hall.

Firstly, it`s worth to visit it because of beer that is brewed here. Probably, it`s not that Paulaner which you can taste in Munich, but it`s also very nice.

Then, as this hotel is a part of world 5-star Kempinski chain, the service is very good.

There`re also some show programm on weekends and other significant days.

Even if you`re not staying in this hotel in Chengdu, you may be interested of visiting this hotel and it`s restaurant with its Paulaner beer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boris_texnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitashi, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2010

Dear Boris_texnic,

Thank you for your contribution and review of our Paulaner Braeuhaus in the Kempinski Hotel Chengdu.

We keep as much as possible to our traditional standards. As you mentioned, the beer in every micro-brewery will be slightly different and therefore one-of-a-kind! Our Bavarian Brewmaster ensures that our beer quality is of the highest level and that the brewing process follows the Rheinheitsgebot of 1516. We offer everything from lagers to boks.

If you are looking for more, than turn to the menu with classic dishes such as pork knuckle and schntizel. Our live entertainment, delicious food and quality beer are sure to delight you on your next visit.

We will continue with our traditional standards and hope to please more guests such as yourself in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I stayed at the Kempinski for one night while in Chengdu for business. The rooms are good - with comfortable beds, fast internet connection and clean bathroom. The breakfast buffet is good, with lots of Chinese and western choices. My rating is only 3 stars because the hotel felt a bit old/tired, there was no health club available (it is "under construction") and the value for the money was only average.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BK-1K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitashi, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2010

Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing and staying with Kempinski Hotel Chengdu.
We are always pursuing a delicated and attention to detail service to asure you a confortable stay from A-Z in the hotel.
Hotel has opened for 6 years, we are planing and under taking a hotel facility renew now this year and in the upcoming 2011.
I hope hotel could impress you with its new fresh look and feeling upon your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

I've been to this hotel last year during my business trip in the Sichuan area.

I've just spent one night here.

The hotel looks great. Frankly speaking I cannot map this hotel, if it is close or far away to the center since I've not been to Chengdu but visited the shifang area.
The hotels has nice modern rooms with confortable and clean baths full of various amenities.

A good thing is that inside the hotel there is a Paulaner Brewery and for me after several days of Asian food eating a good sausage and a nice draft beer it was like being in heaven.

The hotel is about 15 minutes far away from the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dottorsocrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitashi, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2010

Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing and staying with Kempinski Hotel Chengdu.
We are glad that our service and hotel made you a pleasant stay in Chengdu.
Our Paulaner Braeuhaus & Restuarant locates on 1F is populared by many expatriates in Chengdu who loves authentic German food and fresh brewery beer.
We are looking forward your next stay with us and your valuable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

I stayed at the Kempinski last month and was very impressed. The hotel was clean, affordable, and cozy, just what I needed in Chengdu. I do have to say that the staff was the icing on the cake. I ate dinner at Kempinski many nights during my stay, and I was always greeted by a smiling, friendly staff in the dining area in particular. They made my dinners quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank adailyadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitashi, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2010

Thank you very much for choosing and staying in Kempinski Hotel Chengdu.
It is lovely to hear about your compliments. We are pround of our smiliing, friendly staff.
I will pass over your comments to our restaurant staff that it will be their drive to deliver more excellent service to every single guest .
Thank you again and with all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Though this hotel is no way near the business center, it is easy to get a taxi to downtown. The hotel reception service is good, hotel room is big and looks clean. The breakfast buffet has variety and it also has a chinese restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yfuwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

I have been to Chengdu a few times on business and I think it is an ugly concrete monstrosity of a city. I therefore didn't hold out much hope for the Kempinski Hotel....but I was pleasantly surprised! I thought the rooms were very good for the price that I paid and I had no problems with the service.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Katlesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#16 of 2,714 in Chengdu
923 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#11 of 2,714 in Chengdu
1,968 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Chengdu Hotel
Renaissance Chengdu Hotel
#9 of 2,714 in Chengdu
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
#4 of 2,714 in Chengdu
168 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#3 of 2,714 in Chengdu
564 reviews
3.0 mi away
The St. Regis Chengdu
The St. Regis Chengdu
#6 of 2,714 in Chengdu
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Chengdu

Address: No.42 4th Section of Renmin South Road, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610041, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#20 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#37 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range: $93 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Chengdu 5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leading the way with remarkable European flair, the luxury Kempinski Hotel Chengdu is located in the "International South Core" of the city near consulates, shopping districts and high level office buildings. Hotel is 50 meters away from the subway station and a 20 minute drive, from Shuangliu International Airport, placing the Kempinski Hotel Chengdu the ultimate destination for your stay in Kempinski Hotel Chengdu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chengdu Kempinski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing