We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Chengdu
Ranked #35 of 2,677 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed with friends at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu for a couple of nights. The facilities and food are excellent. The breakfast buffet is really extensive, with both Eastern and Western food. I am usually quite fussy but this was not the case at all in this hotel.
The service is really good too. We had a slight problem with our booking but this was resolved immediately.
I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSophieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echo L, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a positive review ! We appreciate your comments very much and will share your feedback with our team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu soon. If you need any assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact our guest relation team via guestrelation.chengdu@kempinski.com

Warm regards,

Iris Liang
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    379
    83
    16
    6
See reviews for
14
30
12
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2014

It's a excellent business hotel in a good location. Within walking distance to mass rapid transit, plus accessible to the business district.

Room is well equipped with amenities for the business travellers, Not a hotel for the leisure and family travellers though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echo L, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We hope you had enjoyed your stay with us at Kempinski hotel Chengdu, and we will try our best to offer more services for lesure and family travellers.

We look forward to seeing you at Keminski Hotel Chengdu in the near future, and do not hesitate to contact our Guest Relation Team through guestrelation.chengdu@kempinski.com for any further assistance.

With kind regards,

Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Kempinski Chengdu lived up to the expectations. Travelling frequently in China especially not always in the major cities like Beijing, Shanghai and Hong Kong, the Chengdu Kempinski
definitely has a touch of European service. Very friendly and helpful staff which is not always common in China.

Rooms were nice, large enough and most important, very clean.
The breakfast buffet was very good of course a bit on the Chinese side but everything fresh and tasty.
The Paulaner restaurant seems to be well established as many Chinese guests were there during my 4 day stay and the beer and the food were very good. Nice Beergarden.
In addition the hotel features a Kempi Deli Bakery shop with good bread and yummy cakes.
My late afternoon delight.
The hotel is located not far from the American and German consulate and other important venues and it took only 20 minutes from the airport to reach to the Kempinski.
There are taxi's on stand-by or if not the staff immediately went out to the street and called one.

Overall I felt extremely well taken care off and will definitely come back on my next trip to Chengdu.

Room Tip: Executive rooms! You can use the executive lounge for breakfast, some drinks and snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroundtheworldtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echo L, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive and memorable experience with us.

It's always a pleasure to read such complimentary comments and we will share your comments to all of our colleagues.

Your comments motivate us to strive for excellence and further improve the quality of our services and products in order to make sure the guests of our hotel are fully satisfied.

We hope having the pleasure of welcoming you soon again to our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your future stays, we would be happy to organize everything for you.

Warm regards,

Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was a 3 night stay business trip and the location was central to where the meetings were held. The general ambiance is more like a high end local hotel than one of an international brand. Also smoking is still permitted throughout the hotel which can be unpleasant at times. The rooms are well appointed but old, sleep quality is good if you are in a good room.
If you are planning on a short stay, this hotel or any others in its class will suffice but do not expect anything more.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the room due to traffic noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WWW138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echo L, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Kempinski Hotel Chengdu and taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We apologize for falling short of your expectations this time. We will make improvements on the areas where we have displayed a decline and we are currently in the process of preparing the hotel for major renovation to uplift the physical product.

We continually strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and very much appreciate such constructive feedback, which plays an essential role in helping us monitor our day-to-day operations.

We still hope to be able to welcome you to the Kempsinki Hotel Chengdu in the near future. Please contact us directly via guestrelation.chengdu@kempinski.com and we will be at your service.

With Best Regards

Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the Kempinski Hotel in Chengdu.
That was our 4th visit to China and we always try to choose Kempinski Hotels. We really like the European flair and the hospitality.
It is not the most modern hotel in the world, but it is very clean and maintained. 
We stayed on the executive floor and all the staff were brilliant, especially in the executive lounge. They were always willing to help with suggestions on where to visit and where to eat. The service was outstanding and their English very good.
Our room was excellent, a suite, with a very comfortable bed, marble bathroom with plenty of room.
The location is really good and for us was the best.
The club lounge serves food and drinks throughout the day, not just at night time so it is really worth spending the extra for a executive room. It's just nice to have somewhere to go and talk throughout the day.

The breakfast at Seasons was great and there was nothing missing. The service was always helpful and very friendly. We loved the Food at the Chinese Restaurant Harmony and went there twice. The Paulaner terrace is a really nice place for a warm summer evening with, I think, the best german food in town.
If you are looking for a luxury hotel at a great rate with excellent service then you could not go past the Kempinski.

Room Tip: executive floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smile19_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echo L, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your stay experience with us.

We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay with us, and will share your feedback with our staff members and concerned department heads.

Your comments motivate us to strive for excellence and further improve the quality of our services and products in order to make sure the guests of our hotel are fully satisfied.

We hope having the pleasure of welcoming you soon again to our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your future stays via email: guestrelation.chengdu@kempinski.com
, we would be happy to organize everything for you.

Warm regards,

Iris Liang
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

FeltonS hits the nail on the head with his review. I had a near-identical experience.

The place is run like a 80's state run guest house. Tired, crumbling and without a single smile.

AC doesn't work.
Breakfast is awful, both in selection and service.
Staff is so disinterested it's almost entertaining.

Internet is ok...but that's about it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerinshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echo L, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Kempinski Hotel Chengdu for your recent stay and taking the time to share your comments with us.

We are regrettably sorry for the unpleasant experience which happened to you this time, please accept our sincere apologies.

In regards to inattentive service and poor breakfast quality as you described there is no explanation to it as we clearly failed to deliver the service you are rightfully can expect from a Kempinski hotel.

As we are currently in the process of preparing the hotel for major renovation to uplift the physical product we can assure you that at the same moment we are fine tuning our services. We have just completed a new breakfast set up as well adjusted our food offerings in all other restaurants.

We can unfortunately not turn back time but are convinced that the experience you had does not reflect our service and product quality on a daily basis and we hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Chengdu in order to invite you for a true Kempinski stay.

Please contact us via guestrelation.chengdu@kempinski.com and the team will be at your service.

With kind regards from Chengdu,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I simply cannot understand why Kempinski allows this poorly run, run-down hotel to continue using its name. It is, without question, the poorest so-called five-star hotel that I've ever visited and I cannot in good conscience recommend it to anyone who believes that the Kempinski name guarantees a quality hotel stay. This hotel promises mediocrity, at best.

Among the issues encountered during my two night stay:

1. The thermostat in my room could not be adjusted, and thus I found myself trying to adjust to a room with a constant temp of 26.4 °C. I called the front desk, and they told me that nothing could be done about it. This, apparently, is the truth: other tripadvisor reviews of this hotel also note that the heat cannot be adjusted. Does management care? Well, on Nov 23, Echo L, a guest service manager with the hotel, responded to a negative review on tripadvisor with this: "[W]e deeply regret that our central air-conditioning system performance was not up to your expectations. We take this very seriously and will share it with the concerned department head." Five months later, nothing has changed and guests - including me - are having difficult nights because their rooms are too warm.

2. The breakfast buffet. On my first morning, I chose a chocolate muffin to go with my coffee. It was stale and dry - in fact, it crumbled into pieces when I tried to open it for buttering. That's a first in a "five-star."

3. Room service. At 10:30 PM, Saturday night, I called to have some dessert delivered to my room. There are five options on the menu; I called for the Apple Crumble. The operator said that she'd need to call me back to check if it was available. Five minutes later, she did, and told me that four of the five options on the dessert menu were not in stock - including ice cream. ICE CREAM! What kind of five star hotel doesn't have ice cream?

4. Hot water. Both mornings, I waited for five minutes before hot water emerged from my shower.

5. The general state of the rooms is clean, but crumbling. Wood is cracking; joinery is separating; caulking is peeling. That's reflective of the general state of the hotel's infrastructure. For example, the winding wooden stairway that leads up to the second floor restaurants is a creaking, cracking failure waiting to happen.

Is there anything good? Despite the fact that management appears to be committed to making their jobs difficult, staff of this hotel are warm, friendly, and helpful. They deserve much better.

In general internet is quick and readily accessible. Also, the dan dan noodles in the main restaurant - which I had in the restaurant - are excellent.

But otherwise this hotel is managed at a level so far below Kempinski standards that it shouldn't be called one. Management should be embarrassed at the decrepit, dated, and run-down condition of the physical facilities.

If you are considering a stay at this property, re-consider. This is an abomination. Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FeltonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echo L, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking valuable time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are extremely sorry to learn that you did not fully enjoy the products and services at our hotel.

Your comments about quality of the breakfast buffet, chocolate muffin and the room service performance are definitely far beyond our service promise and there are no excuses that we failed completely to deliver a Kempinski experience.

We have also taken good note of your comments regarding the aging infrastructure of our hotel, which may lead to some technical challenges for temperature control and hot water supply. Please be kindly informed that we are fully aware of the situation and necessary measures are currently in execution to improve this situation.

Furthermore we are pleased to share that we are finalizing a complete guest room renovation starting in fall this year.

We unfortunately cannot turn back time and regret that you had a very unpleasant stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the occurred inconvenience.

We always honor the feedback of our guests and would like to take on the challenge to welcome you back to the Kempinski Hotel Chengdu on your next visit to the city in order to proof that your recent stay was an exception.

Please contact us directly via guestrelation.chengdu@kempinski.com and we will be at your service.

With kind regards,

General Managers Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Chengdu Hotel
Renaissance Chengdu Hotel
#9 of 2,677 in Chengdu
251 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#16 of 2,677 in Chengdu
903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oakwood Residence Funder Chengdu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Chengdu
Millennium Hotel Chengdu
#19 of 2,677 in Chengdu
277 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel
2.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#8 of 2,677 in Chengdu
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Chengdu

Property: Kempinski Hotel Chengdu
Address: No.42 4th Section of Renmin South Road, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610041, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#19 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#39 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Chengdu 5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leading the way with remarkable European flair, the luxury Kempinski Hotel Chengdu is located in the "International South Core" of the city near consulates, shopping districts and high level office buildings. Hotel is 50 meters away from the subway station and a 20 minute drive, from Shuangliu International Airport, placing the Kempinski Hotel Chengdu the ultimate destination for your stay in Kempinski Hotel Chengdu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chengdu Kempinski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing