We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice german hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Chengdu
Ranked #32 of 2,668 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Belfort, France
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“nice german hotel”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was on business trip. I stayed 2 nights. It was a nice hotel with good bedrooms and a nice german restaurant, even if it takes time to get flamekuche, tarte flambées. Do not hesitate to book this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TryNewThingsAnytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YUKI L, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for such a positive review on Tripadvisor! We appreciate your comments very much and will share your feedback with our team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    378
    83
    16
    6
See reviews for
14
30
12
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here at the end of January as the first leg of our honeymoon. Our room was comforable enough although the airconditioning cooked us not cooled us with the solution of being offered either to open our window (rich is smog, fumes and endless noise) or having a fan which wasn't a solution at all and the bedside phone didn't work and never worked throuout our stay.
Breakfast was okay and varied although the sausages were just plain weird.
We loved the live music in the German Bar - a fantastic trio of girls who sang a great aray of music from the 1960's onwards with particular flare but the food was decidedly bland and very disapointing - considering the group is German then they really should be able to get that aspect spot on surely?
We come to Chengdu once or twice a year and have stayed in a number of 5* hotels but this was the most disappointing to date - is this just Kempinski Chengdu or are all in the group similar?
We dutifully filled out a Comments Form and left it with reception on leaving but no one bothered to email us with our concerns so we have left our expereince on Trip Advisor!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntsYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YUKI L, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear guests, we are sorry for this delayed response. First of all, we would like to thank you for your valuable opinions. Please allow us to express our sincere apologize for our neglect and the insufficient in our communication and management, which bring you the unsatisfied experience. And at the same time, we will do our best to try to regain your trust.

We’re still concentrating your feedback to try to improve both our service and food quality to sum up lessons. We hope you can feel the real service spirit of Kempinski Hotels which is “From Good to Best” in the future time. We sincerely looking forward you and your family's presence with our greatest pleasure, and we believe we will be better with your witness and supervision.

Please contact us @ guest.relation@kempinski-chengdu.com we hope we will have the opportunity to meet you on the next time you visit Chengdu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I've been wanting to write this review for a while and finally got around to it. My husband and I were invited to Kempinski Christmas brunch buffet, which I was really looking forward to. The reason we chose Kempinski is because it is close to our homes, and our friend made sure they had lobsters and imported beer for Christmas day brunch. Showing up on the 2nd floor and looked around, we were already disappointed. Not much of a selection of food, no lobster, no cheese plater, only local beer.We had to ask the server to get somebody in charge to cook us lobsters(that they were hiding somewhere in the back and not really were lobsters-very small) since they had promised when we made the reservation. I never got cheese (even though some friends said they got that after asking for it). My friend asked for imported beer. He got it-Heinekin. There was turkey though, but it was PINK!! I told the cook that the turkey wasn't properly cooked, he just ignored me. Well, those were the major disappointments. I will give points to the Movenpick ice-cream and the first batch of salmon (the second batch I had was flavorless).

I don't think I will spend 298 yuan per person for a buffet like this again. I just hope the management can pay more attention to details like this, to deserve to be called "German Management Company" on their big sign outside. Be fair to your customers, provide what you promised and keep the quality. I still love Palaner downstairs. Great sausages and beer. But No More Buffet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amour-ai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YUKI L, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear guests, first of all we are sorry for this delayed response. We would like to thank you for your valuable opinions. Please allow us to express our sincere apologize for our neglect and the insufficient in our communication and management, which bring you and your friends the unsatisfied experience. And at the same time, we will do our best to try to regain your trust.

Although it has already two months passed, we’re still working according to your feedback and try to sum up lessons. It is a pity that we missed an opportunity to communicate with you face to face deeply at the first time, and thus couldn’t let you feel the real service spirit of Kempinski Hotels which is “From Good to Best”. We sincerely looking forward you and your family's presence with our greatest pleasure, and we believe we will be better with your witness and supervision.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed once again at this property, as location and ease to main roads linking airport and local attractions is perfectly convenient. Due to short notice for travel planning, I once again chose the Kempinski. This recent visit in November, I was surprised to receive an upgrade to room on the club floor. This room had a partitioned bedroom from sitting area - very convenient and comfortable.The club floor amenities were fashionable though now showing signs of being a little dated. F&B service in the hotel and adjoining Paulaner beer hall was acceptable. Great coffee and Chinese Puer tea was delivered to the room as a complimentary service. Many Thanks and greatly appreciated. Club floor staff manager personally looked after some connecting flight travel changes on my behalf and with lightening speed. Concierge and bell captain desk could use some additional training in English, but inquiry was quickly solved with my limited Chinese skills. 1st time tourists visiting this property could confidently choose the Kempinski as well as returning business travellers looking for a convenient, safe and well informed location for extended stays. If you are looking for "Luxury" ...perhaps try the Shangri-La ? But, the location and management staff at this property deliver the "goods" this traveller expects on each visit. Have been staying at this property off/on since autumn of 2002. Oh.... should also mention that the club floor manager was kind enough to pack a small takeaway breakfast for me on my departure ( I forgot to request in advance ) It was a very kind and thoughtful gesture and I appreciated the food in the taxi ride in the early morning on the way to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZhongGuoTong53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague
Level Contributor
187 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Location near West China Medical campus of Sichuan University. Best wireless in China!! Coffee pretty good in buffet, which had excellent options. I found the staff spoke good English. I did not have any problem communicating. Staff consistently went out of their way to be helpful. Rooms spacious and clean. Comfortable bed. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

staff have a poor command of english and we often had difficulty in communicating with them. rooms are OK, your standard 4 star hotel room, there are many wall sockets for some reason. nice water pressure. comfy bed. the whole hotel looks tired and could do with some rejuvenating, especially the lobby.

location of the hotel was not good for sightseeing, have to take a taxi everywhere cos there is hardly anything within walking distance. however it is very near the airport , beware of taxi touts who station themselves near hotels like this one, always insist on having the meter turned on BEFORE they drive off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilybulb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiping, Malaysia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Rooms are great, location is good and easy to get Cabs. Paulaner is located on the ground floor which is very popular, so you get a good atmosphere! quite different to other business hotels where it can get quite quiet.

the pool is a highlight and if you want some entertainment, the bar/ktv is a good place to go as there is an open space where you can have a drink

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacGyver-SG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#19 of 2,668 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Chengdu Hotel
Renaissance Chengdu Hotel
#9 of 2,668 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Wanda Reign Chengdu
Wanda Reign Chengdu
#15 of 2,668 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hilton Chengdu
Hilton Chengdu
#6 of 2,668 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oakwood Residence Funder Chengdu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Chengdu

Property: Kempinski Hotel Chengdu
Address: No.42 4th Section of Renmin South Road, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610041, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#17 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#42 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Chengdu 5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leading the way with remarkable European flair, the luxury Kempinski Hotel Chengdu is located in the "International South Core" of the city near consulates, shopping districts and high level office buildings. Hotel is 50 meters away from the subway station and a 20 minute drive, from Shuangliu International Airport, placing the Kempinski Hotel Chengdu the ultimate destination for your stay in Kempinski Hotel Chengdu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chengdu Kempinski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing