We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,044)
Filter reviews
1,044 results
Traveler rating
443
403
130
43
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
403
130
43
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews upgraded to a suite seen better days the club lounge noodle station restaurant staff western restaurant river view noodles breakfast buffet house keeping very nice hotel five star hotel lobby bar central location rooms are large sichuan opera shopping area
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,044 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

This was the third stop of four and one we enjoyed very much. The staff, particularly Cinno and Nancy in the lobby bar were lovely and very friendly and helpful. Room service was good and not too expensive for a 5 star hotel. Recommended

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank danhanjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie N, Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear danhanjon,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Taihe Chengdu. and sharing your comments in Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Sofitel Chengdu Taihe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

Sofitel Hotel (excellent ground staff). Clean room and healthy breakfast.

Behind hotel, there a butter spicy hot pot restaurant, deliciously tangy with choices of fresh ingredient.

Conveniently located near Metro and shopping mall.

We were travelling to Leshan early next morning, fulfilling breakfast were packed and ready for us, how awesome!! Cheers Sofitel.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie N, Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Taihe Chengdu. and sharing your comments in Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Sofitel Chengdu Taihe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

We checked in very late for a two nights stay in Sofitel Chengdu Taihe. As there was a change to our travel plan earlier, we had two separate bookings for the two nights. One was with Accor, their official website. The other was with CTrip, a China based travel website where everything is written in Mandarin. Now this is where the problem lies, the translation of Sofitel into mandarin. Confused by the very similar mandarin name of another hotel, we booked the wrong hotel. So at near to 12 midnight, we were still at the lobby, trying to sort out the mess. Sally Yi, the front desk staff who check us in is a gem. She was efficient with our check in, and responses to our requests professionally. Also sympathetic to our situation, she assured us that rooms are still available for tomorrow. We should get some rest first and sort it out tomorrow.

We were all on non-smoking floor but however smell of cigarettes smoke can still be detached along the corridor. I had emailed the hotel during booking about my sensitivity & allergies to the smell of smoke, they have taken care of my request professionally. I had a comfortable stay thanks to that. My room is on the 18th floor, luxury category on higher floor. Room is a bit tired and need a renovation soon to keep up with the international Sofitel’s standard.

Breakfast was with good varieties. Service staffs are attentive. Restaurant manager is helpful with our needs. We are looking forward to our next stay in two days time after our trip to Er Mei mountain.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
Thank IreneSah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018

We enjoyed our stay at this Sofitel. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were clean. (OK, there was a very slight toilet-y smell near the toilet.) The staff were helpful and eager to please. We ate dinner there twice--the Chinese restaurant was excellent (spicy tofu and a fried rice dish). We took a Western break the second night and sampled the pasta and pizza both were fine (teenaged traveler loved it).

Our only problem came when we used the door-knob order form found in the room to order an early breakfast because we were leaving before the restaurant opened. The order was never picked up. I ended up calling and we got the breakfast late, which made us a bit late for our pick up time. However, the hotel offered us free breakfast at the buffet the next morning to make up for it. And there was a huge variety of Eastern and Western food so we were happy.

The hotel is a short walk to stores and a mall, and is right across from the river. Very convenient! We would stay here again. All in all, great value for the money!

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018

Stayed for three nights to visit Chengdu.

Hotel overall was decent, but needed renovations.

STAFF

The staff overall were very kind and accommodating, Vivian was very nice, and gave us an upgraded non-smoking room. The restaurant staff were also very kind.

ACCOMODATIONS

The hotel room was very large, and had very nice decor. The bathroom was very large, and almost maze-like.

Initially there were, but on the second day, we found that the shower had a really foul odor that filled the room, probably because the hotel's old age. Also, upon close inspection, there was some mold lining the inside corners of the shower glass.

We notified the staff of the smell, and they offered us a room change, which we politely refused as we were leaving the next day.

FACILITIES

As many have said, the hotel has seen better days.

The gym's treadmills were perfectly fine, but the rest of the equipment was antique. The dumbbell bench was hard to adjust, and the strength training machine barely useable, and needed a replacement, as it seemed like something from the 90s.

We had breakfast buffet included. Breakfast had a variety of food including western cuisine, asian cuisine (Japanese and Chinese), noodles, pastries, fruits, etc.

We also had dinner buffet once, as there's not too much food in the immediate vicinity.

Dinner buffet wasn't super high-end, but was pretty good. One thing I didn't like was the sashimi, which was just a bit frozen.

Hopefully the photos can help.

Overall the hotel was decent, but needs some renovations/upgrades.

I might stay here again, as the price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Bathroom might have a foul odor, ask the staff for a room change.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tai Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews