We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice respite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Ranked #17 of 2,686 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very nice respite”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. It was nice to return to the 21st century after spending time in Zhangjiajie. The property is tired (stained carpet, chipped drawer in bathroom), but the night scape of Chengdu from our 18th floor room was absolutely spectacular!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the city (not the river) have the best nighttime view. Absolutely amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pling_13710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebe Lu FOM S, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Wanda Chengdu. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    362
    111
    42
    21
See reviews for
65
141
78
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I visited this hotel during my recent stay in Chengdu.
The door staff seem disinterested in (foreign) visitors, although the lady at Reception was very pleasant and helpful.

Lounge staff (especially Summer) really make an effort to please, and she managed to get me a selection plate of cheeses which was not on the menu. Well done!

Trying to get a taxi afterwards was an 'inconvenience' to the security/parking guy; the bell boys had disappeared.

I doubt whether I'd visit this hotel again, even though I am ACCOR PLATINUM.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AppleAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebe Lu FOM S, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Wanda Chengdu. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We will continue to training our Conciage staff, and improve our service standar. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

While attending the Fortune conference I stayed at this hotel for two nights. While the size of the room was good, the hotel is tired. The carpet is old and the room had a strong smell of smoke.

When heading out to dinner I left a towel on the floor and came back in the evening to find it in a pile next to the sink.

A good location and the staff try very hard to provide a good service.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebe Lu FOM S, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Wanda Chengdu. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem, we will do more training to our staff and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights for a business conference. Hotel was clean, near spotless, as was the room. Good amount of drawer and storage space for putting things away. Bath had both roomy shower and separate tub. Rooms seemed rather quit, never heard outside noise in the room except minimal level at window.

The only very minor issue would be the bed. The matress seemed quite firm, so much so I would wake up 3-4 times due to an ache. It wasn't that it was that bad, it's just I'm more used to top padding.

Otherwise I'd have absolutely no issues staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacJoeFQV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebe Lu FOM S, Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Wanda Chengdu. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Hebe LU
Front Office Manager
Sofitel Luxury Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I attended a technical conference here in late May. I usually stay at Shangri Las and Marriotts and after reading the reviews on this hotel I was unnecessarily apprehensive.

The cleanliness and service were on a par with anywhere in China. And if the employees keep their good attitudes and continue to work as hard as I saw them work then l would expect that in a few years they will be level with the best hotels anywhere. Yes, they are still ways off from this but think back to what it was like 5 years or 10 years ago. I think the air is even getting better. Certainly the noise pollution is greatly reduced since they converted all the 2-stroke scooters to battery power.

When I am in China I don't like to go out of the hotel in the evening. The Sofitel in Chengdu makes it easy to stay in with nice rooms, employees who will always smile as they stumble through responding in English to guests who refuse to learn even a few words of Chinese and TVs with a couple of good English language channels.

Not going out at night is ridiculous in Chengdu because it is a lovely and vibrant city with good food and friendly people. Unfortunately it is like every Chinese city in that the streets are ruled by rude and incompetent drivers who seem to have no inhibitions about running over grandmothers and small children.

Room Tip: I was upgraded to a suite. More frequent travellers tell me there is a correlation to whether or no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebe Lu FOM S, Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Wanda Chengdu on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Hebe Lu
Front Office Manager
Sofitel Wanda Chengdu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Good hotel in a good location, service is haphazard; two unneccesary issues with our bill that were resolved after we prompted. But a pleasant room. Taxi drivers in chengdu will frequently get foreigners to pay a flat fee as opposed to the meter (of course the passenger pays more), this is of course not the hotels fault, but conceirge staff should discourage taxi drivers from pushing this on guests at the front of the hotel. You should be looking after your guests and not encouraging an illegal activity.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelfromnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebe Lu FOM S, Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Wanda Chengdu. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will share your comments and suggestions with our management, and I'm sure it will help us to improve our service.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns and suggestions, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Hebe Lu
Front Office Manager
Sofitel Wanda Chengdu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stay pretty much exclusively at Sofitel hotels and I am very happy with the service and quality. The Sofitel Chengdu is in a good location, has great rooms and is up to the standard. Unfortunately I had some food troubles during my stay. These revolved around food. We found the room service food arrive fairly cold, and one night we attempted to eat at the Chinese restaurant on site. My wife and I went for dinner, ordered our meals, once our meals arrived, parts of the food were still frozen. We left and I spoke to the services manager, I was told the Chinese restaurant was no longer run by the Sofitel but was run by a 3rd party. We were advised to eat at the Sofitel restaurant where my wife waited about 30 minutes for a cheese and ham sandwich. Overall a great hotel but letdown a little by the food options.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ozbatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebe Lu FOM S, Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Wanda Chengdu. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.4 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,686 in Chengdu
313 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#11 of 2,686 in Chengdu
1,866 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,686 in Chengdu
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,686 in Chengdu
462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
#10 of 2,686 in Chengdu
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chengdu Taihe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chengdu Taihe

Property: Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Address: No.15 Binjiang Middle Road, Chengdu 610016, China (Formerly 索菲特万达大饭店)
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#13 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#25 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chengdu Taihe 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe luxury hotel is ideally located in the centre of the city on the picturesque Jinjiang River. The hotel is a 20-minute drive from Chengdu International Airport and 15-minute walk to Tianfu Square and the citys commercial centres.The 162 Luxury Rooms and 100 Suites accommodate guests in French elegance with a subtle Chinese touch. Every detail has been attended to for an extraordinary experience from the indulgent Sofitel MyBed to fragrance lighting entertainment and technology.Three inviting restaurants delight with Chinese Japanese and Western flavours while 3 bars offer a choice of fine drinks to savour. Leisure facilities include the spa fitness centre indoor swimming pool Jacuzzi and sauna for male guests,. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Chengdu Taihe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Wanda Chengdu Hotel Chengdu
Accor Wanda Chengdu
Sofitel Chengdu
Chengdu Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing