We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to normal Sofitel standards.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Ranked #19 of 2,652 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Not up to normal Sofitel standards.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is really a 3.5 star hotel.

The good things about it are.

1. Location. It is only 400 metres to the Metro. This is very useful. At the end of my stay I walked there and got the metro to the East Rail Station. It only takes 45 minutes. Much better than a taxi (Chengdu gets blocked up by traffic in the rush hour), nice and relaxed by metro so long as you do not have heavy bags. The hotel is also only 15 minutes walk north to Temple Square, so it is pretty central.

Well... thats the only good thing about it.

Average things:
1. The rooms- not as good as most Sofitels hotels, but average 3.5 star quality. At leaast there was a bath.

2. Breakfast. Not at all special, indeed very average. Not as good as brakfasts in other Sofitels I havce stayed at. Certainly n ot sufficient variety of fruits. No pineapple available. The one slightly good thing was that they did have good French bread. The problem was that is was not all that fresh.

3. Staff. On the positive side they do try to be helpful. Congratulations on most of the service. But it is the little things that really count. I was asked to sit at a table directly facing a column where the opposite seat should have been. Very strange when there were plenty of other free tables with a view.

4. Gym. The gym is very small. I just has the minimum equipment. I never saw any staff there.

Bad things:

1. No air conditining, just a warning or cooling system that you cannot control. I wanted much cooler air, this was not possible. I could not open the windows which were locked shut.

2. I wanted to upgrade to the Executive floor. This was not possible. The floor was being used for a corporate event when I went there. What a pity.


So for me a most forgetable experience. I will try the Fraser Suites next time.

Room Tip: Get a high room and ask that it does not overlook the main road (Renmin South Road)that will give yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nemo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager S, Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind and detailed feedback and we do take your review comments very seriously.

We do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the air conditioning and are taking positive actions to enhance our guest rooms, breakfast variety and improve the service of our team. Our priority is to delivery a high standard of service and quality throughout our hotel and we are making much efforts to provide our guests the personalised service.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to serve you with the quality improvements on your further stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    351
    103
    40
    21
See reviews for
60
130
71
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed one night in this hotel. It was a business trip. I arrived with a colleague at 3 30 pm. Our rooms were not ready.The receptionist told us we had to wait 40 minutes. He gave us two coupons to have a soft drink at the bar. We had to pay at the bar because I chose a capuccino, which apparently could not be order with the coupon and the other drink, a perrier, was charged by mistake. So they gave us for free another bottle of perrier (!)
The room (nr 1062, twin bed) overlooks a building under demolition. Bad smell in the room and I had to open the window for a while.
Never again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager S, Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for taking your time to write the review on our hotel and please accept our sincere apologies for your unpleasant experience in our hotel.

We take your comments very seriously in order to enhance our service and quality. We have reviewed the important issues with our Front Office, Housekeeping and Food & Beverage Teams, in terms of Check-in, Welcome Drink Coupon and the smell of the room.

We genuinely hope to have the opportunity to serve you with the quality improvements on your further stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had asked my tour operator to reserve us a nice hotel in Chengdu in a central location and with a non-smoking room. Upon our late arrival (past mid-night) at the Sofitel Wanda, we were informed that the standard non-smoking rooms were booked so they immediately upgraded us to a suite at no additional cost - nice! The suite was very large and a view of the river from the window. Free internet access in the room with decent speed. The included Breakfast was excellent - more than enough to last us through the morning. This hotel is located right next to the river walk which is very convenient for those interested in taking a stroll along the river. Outside the hotel, there are many choices to go for coffee shops and restaurants as well. We enjoyed our 3-night stay here at the Sofitel Wanda Chengdu - no complaints at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZCasualTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager S, Quality Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for staying at Sofitel Wanda Chengdu.

We are delighted to meet your expectation during your stay in Chengdu. Your positive comments regarding our hotel quality and standards as well as our teams service are much appreciated.

We hope you will be equally satisfied on your next stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Had a few issues when checking in as our room wasn't ready and even after taking lunch and the reception desk requesting the room be made up it still wasn't ready. It appears to be a problem with Housekeeping and no-one else but we were upgraded due to the problems. That aside if you need any help then the Front Manager Mr Richard Li couldn't have been more helpful in obtaining and returning my battery and charger from another hotel. He arranged for it to be sent to me at another hotel in time for my trip on the Yangste. Its this sort of attention that in my mind rates it more than worthwhile to stay here as well as the fact that its location is good. A short taxi ride brings you to either Walking Street or Ancient Street where you can shop to your hearts delight and I found the Chengdu on the whole was cheaper than most cities in China.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULIE36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager S, Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your stay experience at Sofitel Wanda Chengdu.

We regret the delays you experienced on checking in. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our Front Office Manager, Richard Li and his helpfulness and attention to detail.

We hope you will be equally satisfied on your next stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The location of this hotel was excellent. We were within walking distance of most things we wanted to do in the city area. We were upgraded to a suite due to a series of issues we had with the service in the restaurant. There were evidently a number of language problems which, given that it is a first class international hotel, need to be addressed.The moral of our story with this hotel was speak up when you have an issue. We were lucky enough to be travelling with a guide and the owner of that company assisted us to communicate our issues to the manager.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager S, Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We do appreciate you taking your time to share your experience at Sofitel Wanda Chengdu. Our priority is to delivery a high standard of service and quality throughout our hotel and we are working diligently to improve the training and supervision in particular for the English language level of our team.

We hope we will have the opportunity to have you staying with us again on your future visits to Chengdu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Overall this is a very good hotel that we found isolated staff members let down. A number of mistakes from the restaurant (among which was signing the bill and five minutes later our room doorbell announcing the arrival of a waitress accusing us of trying to avoid hotel charges by using the wrong name - Given name instead of Family name, not understanding we use our family name last and a string of "I am sorry sir, we have run out of the wine you have chosen" at the same meal ) took the shine off the stay. Upon telling our tour guide about our experiences he told his supervisor who contacted the hotel and arranged an upgrade to a suite without cost. In the end this was excellent recovery by both the tour company and the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenGAtOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager S, Quality Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for staying at Sofitel Wanda Chengdu.

We do appreciate you taking your time to share your experience at Sofitel Wanda Chengdu. We do take your review comments very seriously and apologise for the lapses in service and errors we made during your stay.

We sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to have you staying with us again to experience our improved quality of service on your future visit to Chengdu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

location hotel very good along the river,at night we can walk along the river enjoyed our time,
size room a little bit small compare with other Sofitel hotel ,room need to renovation because too old and cleanliness very poor example sofa and carpet dirty. comunication with local staff a little bit difficult in english language

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hengun_lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maie C, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback and we do take your review comments very seriously. Our priority is to delivery a high standard of service and quality throughout our hotel and we are making much effort to improve the training and supervision of our team, regarding to the improvement of English language of our staffs. As well as enhancing the cleanliness and maintenance to our guest rooms. We sincerely hope you have the opportunity to experience our improved quality on your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.9 mi away
Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#6 of 2,652 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,652 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#14 of 2,652 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,652 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.0 mi away
Niccolo Chengdu
Niccolo Chengdu
#3 of 2,652 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chengdu Taihe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chengdu Taihe

Property: Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Address: No.15 Binjiang Middle Road, Chengdu 610016, China (Formerly 索菲特万达大饭店)
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#12 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#23 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chengdu Taihe 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe luxury hotel is ideally located in the centre of the city on the picturesque Jinjiang River. The hotel is a 20-minute drive from Chengdu International Airport and 15-minute walk to Tianfu Square and the citys commercial centres.The 162 Luxury Rooms and 100 Suites accommodate guests in French elegance with a subtle Chinese touch. Every detail has been attended to for an extraordinary experience from the indulgent Sofitel MyBed to fragrance lighting entertainment and technology.Three inviting restaurants delight with Chinese Japanese and Western flavours while 3 bars offer a choice of fine drinks to savour. Leisure facilities include the spa fitness centre indoor swimming pool Jacuzzi and sauna for male guests,. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Chengdu Taihe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Wanda Chengdu Hotel Chengdu
Accor Wanda Chengdu
Sofitel Chengdu
Chengdu Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing