We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
3 unforgetable days in Nepal

My friend had some business in Kathmandu and invited med to come along. We decided to stay for a... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Kari L
,
Lyngor, Norway
Chengdu area World Heritage Tour

Yuki from WindHorse Tours helped us organise our fantastic private World Heritage Tour in Chengdu... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed December 19, 2018
Erika V
Read all 151 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Chengdu
from $51.00
More Info
from $20.00
More Info
from $560.00
More Info
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveler rating
125
21
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
21
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews customized trip a local sim card day trip unforgettable trip tibetan culture helped us organise private trip last minute changes silk road whole process always on time travel agent china trip driver mr forbidden city went smoothly two hours
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 151 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2018

Yuki from WindHorse Tours helped us organise our fantastic private World Heritage Tour in Chengdu area. She helped us decide on our itinerary giving us great advice. Very fast and easy communication, no hassle at all. We had a very skilled driver on our tailor-made tour and the hotels booked by Windhorse Tour were also perfect! We will definitely use their services when we come back to China! Thank you Yuki and the team for the great job!

Date of experience: November 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Erika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClientR2, Guest Relations Manager at Windhorse Tour, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2019

Hello Erika V,

Thanks for your stirring words for Yuki, driver and the rest of the team, it's our honor to arrange this memorable trip for your group, we're overjoyed to receive your compliments and appreciation, and we will keep providing the best service for future groups. Look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018

It was a tailormade trip;everything was as requested and even betterVery recommended agencyNice hotels and restaurants,english speaking guides paying attention to the requests of clients

Date of experience: December 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Micaela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClientR2, Guest Relations Manager at Windhorse Tour, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2018

Hello Micaela B,

Thank you for your lovely note. we so appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on your past Yunnan trip in December. We are so glad everything from the tour arrangement to the service surpassed your expectations, especially our guides’ effort during your trip. We will keep providing the best service to our clients like you. We look forward to serving you for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2018

The *one* thing I was sure I wanted to do was spend a day volunteering at one of the panda centers. Within two hours of Chengdu are three places to see the pandas: the Giant Panda Breeding Center just on the outskirts of the city; the Wolong Panda Center, a UNESCO-recognized sanctuary; and Dujiangyan Panda Base, the newest of the three. I chose to go to Dujiangyan, not only to avoid the crowds, but because it was the only center currently offering a volunteer program. (Book as early as you can as there is a limit to the number of volunteers per day.)

I originally tried emailing the Dujiangyan Panda Base directly for information about the volunteer program, but got no response, so was very glad to find Windhorse to help arrange everything from completing a medical clearance form (your doctor needs to sign it in your home country) to securing a car and driver for the day and dropping me off at the airport afterwards.

I had to email back and forth to arrange for logistics, and found e-mail communication with Windhorse to be quick and easy (and in very good English) and the information provided was very detailed and accurate, even including a flowchart of activities and timing as I needed to make a late-afternoon flight. I got sent the telephone number of the driver ahead of time, but it wasn't needed, as he was at my hotel 10 minutes early. Drive there was uneventful and the driver knew exactly where to take me at the center. The guides at the volunteer center speak very good English.

The volunteer program was great. There were a few dozen of us and we all put on work suits and split into small groups to look after the panda enclosures. I’ve never been so happy sweeping up panda poop (mainly blobs of fibrous bamboo, not gross at all) all within feet of the beautiful creatures. There’s an option for visitors to pay around USD 300 to sit next to a juvenile panda for 20 seconds for pictures and a quick back rub, but I was happy spending about a one hour break just walking around the enclosures to view the pandas. The best part of the day comes when we got to hand feed the pandas snacks through a fence. The cleaning work and feeding was repeated in the afternoon with a break at noon for lunch and a documentary.

Overall, found the service provided by Windhorse to be professional, exceeding expectations!

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank jt10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClientR2, Guest Relations Manager at Windhorse Tour, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2018

Hello Jt10s,

Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful and detailed review. We are glad that you enjoyed your volunteer time at Dujiangyan Panda Base and were satisfied with our arrangements, our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise. They work very diligently and it will provide them with great encouragement to keep providing the high-quality service.

If you or your friends want to visit Chengdu or other places of China next time, please feel free to contact us and we can't wait to serving again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2018 via mobile

Anita from WindHorse Tours helped us organise a great two week tour of China. She helped us decide on our itinerary making suggestions of the best places to visit and how to link it all together in the best order and offering excellent advice.

She then applied for our permit to travel to Tibet and took care of booking all hotels, travel and excursions. She selected very nice hotels for our stay which we very much enjoyed.

She was very responsive to feedback and made changes to the tour as we needed.

While in country she was available on WeChat to help answer questions and where we needed help finding a hotel or if we needed a change to an itinerary. This was invaluable.

I would highly recommend Anita and WindHorse tours. We had a brilliant holiday in a fascinating country because of Anita. She made sure we used our time most efficiently to experience China.

Thank you very much Anita.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Watkins_ea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClientR2, Guest Relations Manager at Windhorse Tour, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2018

Hello Watkins_ea,

Thank you so much for this great 5-star review. We really appreciate you being with us for your China trip and helping to share the word about us. it's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We agree, Anita is truly a gem to have on our team, and we will be sure to let her know how much of an impact she made on your experience.

Don't hesitate to contact us again if you plan to visit China in the future! We’re here for you anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2018 via mobile

Appreciate their prompt and efficient service. English speaking group tour without breaking the bank. Easy payment by paypal. shout out to Murphy. Will def use them for all my china trips.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank maxiea2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClientR2, Guest Relations Manager at Windhorse Tour, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2018

Hi Maxiea2018,

Thanks for your feedback, the join-in group tour is a good alternative option for solo travelers. We’re very happy to hear that you enjoyed your day with us. Hope you could keep us in mind when you plan your next trip to China.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews