We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from Windhorse Tour tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Chengdu
from $45.90
More Info
from $109.00
More Info
from $47.00
More Info
from $20.00
More Info
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveler rating
125
21
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
125
21
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews customized trip a local sim card day trip unforgettable trip tibetan culture helped us organise private trip last minute changes silk road whole process always on time travel agent china trip driver mr forbidden city went smoothly two hours
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 151 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2018

The *one* thing I was sure I wanted to do was spend a day volunteering at one of the panda centers. Within two hours of Chengdu are three places to see the pandas: the Giant Panda Breeding Center just on the outskirts of the city; the Wolong Panda Center, a UNESCO-recognized sanctuary; and Dujiangyan Panda Base, the newest of the three. I chose to go to Dujiangyan, not only to avoid the crowds, but because it was the only center currently offering a volunteer program. (Book as early as you can as there is a limit to the number of volunteers per day.)

I originally tried emailing the Dujiangyan Panda Base directly for information about the volunteer program, but got no response, so was very glad to find Windhorse to help arrange everything from completing a medical clearance form (your doctor needs to sign it in your home country) to securing a car and driver for the day and dropping me off at the airport afterwards.

I had to email back and forth to arrange for logistics, and found e-mail communication with Windhorse to be quick and easy (and in very good English) and the information provided was very detailed and accurate, even including a flowchart of activities and timing as I needed to make a late-afternoon flight. I got sent the telephone number of the driver ahead of time, but it wasn't needed, as he was at my hotel 10 minutes early. Drive there was uneventful and the driver knew exactly where to take me at the center. The guides at the volunteer center speak very good English.

The volunteer program was great. There were a few dozen of us and we all put on work suits and split into small groups to look after the panda enclosures. I’ve never been so happy sweeping up panda poop (mainly blobs of fibrous bamboo, not gross at all) all within feet of the beautiful creatures. There’s an option for visitors to pay around USD 300 to sit next to a juvenile panda for 20 seconds for pictures and a quick back rub, but I was happy spending about a one hour break just walking around the enclosures to view the pandas. The best part of the day comes when we got to hand feed the pandas snacks through a fence. The cleaning work and feeding was repeated in the afternoon with a break at noon for lunch and a documentary.

Overall, found the service provided by Windhorse to be professional, exceeding expectations!

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank jt10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClientR2, Guest Relations Manager at Windhorse Tour, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2018

Hello Jt10s,

Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful and detailed review. We are glad that you enjoyed your volunteer time at Dujiangyan Panda Base and were satisfied with our arrangements, our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise. They work very diligently and it will provide them with great encouragement to keep providing the high-quality service.

If you or your friends want to visit Chengdu or other places of China next time, please feel free to contact us and we can't wait to serving again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2018 via mobile

Anita from WindHorse Tours helped us organise a great two week tour of China. She helped us decide on our itinerary making suggestions of the best places to visit and how to link it all together in the best order and offering excellent advice.

She then applied for our permit to travel to Tibet and took care of booking all hotels, travel and excursions. She selected very nice hotels for our stay which we very much enjoyed.

She was very responsive to feedback and made changes to the tour as we needed.

While in country she was available on WeChat to help answer questions and where we needed help finding a hotel or if we needed a change to an itinerary. This was invaluable.

I would highly recommend Anita and WindHorse tours. We had a brilliant holiday in a fascinating country because of Anita. She made sure we used our time most efficiently to experience China.

Thank you very much Anita.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Watkins_ea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClientR2, Guest Relations Manager at Windhorse Tour, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2018

Hello Watkins_ea,

Thank you so much for this great 5-star review. We really appreciate you being with us for your China trip and helping to share the word about us. it's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We agree, Anita is truly a gem to have on our team, and we will be sure to let her know how much of an impact she made on your experience.

Don't hesitate to contact us again if you plan to visit China in the future! We’re here for you anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2018 via mobile

Appreciate their prompt and efficient service. English speaking group tour without breaking the bank. Easy payment by paypal. shout out to Murphy. Will def use them for all my china trips.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank maxiea2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClientR2, Guest Relations Manager at Windhorse Tour, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2018

Hi Maxiea2018,

Thanks for your feedback, the join-in group tour is a good alternative option for solo travelers. We’re very happy to hear that you enjoyed your day with us. Hope you could keep us in mind when you plan your next trip to China.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2018

Really appreciate the high quality of their english speaking guides,excellent drivers,efficient windhorse staff,Victoria who make our travel smooth and truly enjoyable.Highly recommend them

Date of experience: November 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Junep587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClientR2, Guest Relations Manager at Windhorse Tour, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2018

Hello Junep587,

Thank you for your time to leave us such a good review on your past enjoyable trip in China. We are more than happy to hear that you are satisfied with the service that Victoria & our guides & our drivers provided you! We will keep focusing on providing the best local services.

Thank you for being with us and hoping to meet you again in somewhere of China in the near future and we are always here to serve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2018

Great arrangement by Victoria, always appreciate her help and advise. Lovely guides 陈 and 小周 were good and attentive. Wuyi mountains is a scenic, quiet and relaxing place, suitable for those who are looking for some time in the nature and away from the hustle and bustle of cities.

Date of experience: October 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank samantha_lowsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClientR2, Guest Relations Manager at Windhorse Tour, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2018

Hello Samantha_lowsh,

Many thanks for leaving us your thoughts on your memorable trip to Fuzhou & Wuyi Mountains. We totally agree that Wuyi Mountains are definitely worth a visit for its beautiful nature and it is also one of the best places to escape from the cities' hustle and bustle. In addition, thank you for your recognization to the service of Victoria and the guides (陈 and 小周) provided you, it will definitely motivate them to keep providing the best service to our future clients.

Please feel free to contact us whenever you need any information for your future trip planning, we are always here. Wish you a beautiful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews