We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chengdu Flipflop Lounge Hostel
Ranked #2 of 419 Specialty Lodging in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The best thing about this hostel are the staff!!! They are so helpful and really go the extra mile to help you out! And trust me, you need it in china if you can't speak chines! (One girl wrote down a food dish we liked on a pice of paper...and it so saved us many times in restaurants! So thank you!)
The hostel is great, great lounge room, you can meet a lot of new people, great tours (panda tour, really good, early to beat the crowed), good activities, good prices on food and drinks, good options for washing your clothes however the beds are horrible hard!! We stayed for 3 nights and we survived... So I would recommend this place just cuz the staff is amazing and you might need some English speaking chines guiding on your way through china... And the hard mattresses will only make you stronger and appreciate the bed back home!!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank annaedlund83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 250 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Flipflop. The staff were all lovely and helpful, and we enjoyed speaking to them. The Chinese food served in the restaurant/bar was excellent quality which was great for when we arrived and were too tired to go out restaurant hunting. The double room we stayed in was excellent. Sparkling clean, a good size with a great shower. The beds are quite hard but that's pretty standard in Asia. Easy walk to the metro, and to the bus station where we were dropped off. The hostel run lots of tours, but we visited things on our own so can't comment on the quality of them. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatyandAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This hostel has a huge social area in the main floor with a bar, pool table, football table and loads of different seating areas so its great to meet loads of people like we did.
The rooms however were not that great, we stayed in a 4 bed dorm and the bunk beds were metal & really squeaky every time you climbed onto the top bunk, the mattresses were thin & rock hard and the privacy curtain was hanging off in places. The lockers were way too small to actually lock a backpack in so we just had to lock our valuables in there.
The hostel put on cycling & walking tours which are good and also do a trip to the panda breeding research centre. Entry is normally 53RBM and the hostel do a trip for 118RBM which included entry & transportation which we thought was reasonable. They also take you really early (pick up at 07:10) so that you see the pandas whilst active and you beat the crowds which believe me is a god send as when we were leaving the centre at midday, there was a sea of people arriving! The hostel also do a free Dumpling party every Friday and they will teach you how to make traditional Sichuan dishes for 100RBM.
All in all this hostel is in a good location and is very social so is great to meet people

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NaiomiMollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Flip Flop Lounge Hostel for 4 nights mid September.
We originally booked a double room with Mix Hostel but quickly got a confirmation of our reservation that also said that Mix Hostel has no double rooms so we were automatically moved to Flip Flop which is under the same management. We didn't care about the switch, especially after seeing that Flip Flop had a better location.
When we made our reservation we said we were going to be in China for our honeymoon and when we got to Flip Flop we got a couple of free beer coupons and a discount coupon as a honeymoon gift.
The staff at reception had very good English and they were all very helpful with idea for what to do, how to get places (writing us notes for taxi drivers and for getting tickets at the bus station), etc.
Flip Flop is located above a small market that mainly sells fruit and vegetables but also has a nice place to buy steamed buns and other goodies (it’s the 3rd or 4th stand on your left and we highly recommend the “jian bing” which is like a sort of crepe but not sweet).
The hostel is about 5 minutes walk to a line 2 metro that’s located in a mall and to the pedestrian street that’s near it. It’s also about 5-10 minutes walk to the Xin Nan Men bus station where you can get the bus to Leshan (where the world’s tallest Buddha is).
There are several grocery stores near by and if you’re like us and want to buy a 4L water “bottle” the only place to find it (at least from what we've learnt) is the small shop about 2 minutes walk from Flip Flop – turn right from Flip Flop to the main road, then turn left and left again on the first street (where there’s a bridge to cross to the other side but don’t cross). The shop is the first on the left.

Flip Flop supplied towels, hand soap but not for washing, mosquito repelling tablets, toilet paper (though the rolls were tiny and lasted only a couple of visits to the toilet so you should buy a proper roll in one of the near by stores or at reception) and obviously flip flops :-)

The room wasn't huge but big enough and the bed was comfortable. The shower was right next to the toilet and had no curtain.
The problems with the room (at least with ours, room 411) were that the AC was directed right in our faces where we were in bed and the fact that our window faced the park that’s next to the hostel. It was nice to hear the kids playing and the music the old ladies were playing for their dancing during the afternoon and evening but it was very annoying to hear all kinda weird noises during the night and waking up from it.

The hostel has all sorts of activities, such as a dumpling party, rents bicycles and has 2 computers in the common area and you can even get Facebook on them (which is very rare in China) but they’re pretty slow. It also has a couple of laundry machines on the roof and a load is 20 RMB.
The common area is spacious and nice and the food we saw people eat looked very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ifat_and_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This place surprised me. It was in a really great location and they were very accommodating to weird lao wai questions. They also helped us with tour guides and drivers. Most of the staff spoke a little bit of english and they were eager to help with any question or problem. The rooms were great, there was air-conditioning which is a must in this city of humid heat. The beds were nice and had big curtains that blocked light on the top and bottom bunks. The best part of this place was the clientele. Meeting people is always a fun part of travel and places like this make it so easy.

Room Tip: There are female only rooms if you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is so comfortable, stylish, convenient and value for money. We stayed here 3 nights in a private double room.

The hotel has a wonderful atmosphere with a very large comfortable lobby and dining area set out like a community centre. Pool table, workstations, lounges, stools, cafe and reading tables, hanging plants everywhere, a donation library. One free beer between 7-9pm. It's a really pleasant place to hang out and use the wifi which we couldn't seem to get working while in our room. The rooftop terrace looks like it's still in the making and is mostly used for the hotel's free laundry facilities (a washing machine and a large area to hang your clothes) but it provides a wonderful view of the surroundings. There seems to be an impromptu Bollywood dance class in the park next to the hotel every night which was very entertaining. Even the hallway is wood floored and cosy. There are nice views on the surrounding neighbourhood from the stairs.

Our actual room was just as stylish, bright and comfortable. Quite small but lovely. Clean with hot water, TV, western toilet. We had a small window which overlooked the park below.

The hotel is a 7 minute walk to Xinnanmen Bus Station and 5 minutes walk to Chunxi Lu - the giant shopping street. It is right in the middle of the city with every kind of amenity you could want.

Reception is very friendly, helpful, around 24 hours and speak good English. The kitchen is slow and the food is reasonable as well as reasonably priced - especially with the daily specials for 25Y for a set meal. The hotel seems to provide a wealth of tour booking and info but we didn't use these services.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wallabyandwhirlwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Chengdu Flipflop Lounge Hostel is more than what I would expect a hostel to be, and they have done everything right!
Convenient location, efficient service, clean & adequate room, helpful & friendly staffs, value-for-dollar tour packages & a lounge with excellent ambient! I couldn't ask for more!
Thank you Chengdu Flipflop Lounge Hostel, definitely my choice when I'm back in Chengdu!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.8 mi away
Chengdu Lazybones Hostel Templeside Poshpacker (Wenshuyuan)
2 mi away
Mix Hostel
Mix Hostel
#3 of 419 in Chengdu
271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chengdu Lazy Bones Backpackers Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
2030 Hostel
2030 Hostel
#8 of 419 in Chengdu
7 reviews
2.1 mi away
T&Q Hostel
T&Q Hostel
#4 of 419 in Chengdu
19 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hello Chengdu International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chengdu Flipflop Lounge Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chengdu Flipflop Lounge Hostel

Address: No.98, Dongsheng Jie, Chengdu 610021, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 419 Specialty Lodging in Chengdu
Price Range: $10 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chengdu Flipflop Lounge Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lounge hostel located 5 mins walk from ''Chunxi Road'' - the "center of center" of downtown. 5 mins walk to ''Chunxi Road'' metro station, 10 mins walk to ''Xin Nan Men Bus Station'' and city's primer bar quarter! Super convenient and lots of fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld and Orbitz so you can book your Chengdu Flipflop Lounge Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing