We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveler rating
492
96
40
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
492
96
40
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews metro station electric curtains great hotel mapo tofu separate shower and tub high floor sitting area rooms were very clean king room central location western standards hot pot restaurant three nights hotpot restaurant welcome drink free upgrade english channels
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 635 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

We've been stay at this hotel last month.This hotel is a good place .It's convenient .It was late when we arrived there,but the receptionist of this hotel Gabby zhong is So nice And enthusiastic.The room was clean and enough space. I'll recommend this to my friend Who will been visit chengdu recently.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank JungYoonjae K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl_COMM, Communications at Dorsett Grand Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Dear JungYoonjae K,

Thank you for your kind review!

We truly appreciate your kind words towards Gabby. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We will be sure to let Gabby knows that she has made an impact during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon!

Thank you.

Regards,
Belinda Fung
General Manager
Dorsett Grand Chengdu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

Hotel was absolutely fantastic. The room was clean, the lobby was bright and lovely, and the location was so convenient to bring me to the centre of Chengdu City. The front desk agent Gabby Zhong was a true delight and was attractive to all details regarding to the overall betterment of my stay. Overall I had an excellent experience. It is great to see this level of World Class customer service in such a competitive market.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Naomi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl_COMM, Communications at Dorsett Grand Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Dear Naomi,

Thank you so much for sharing this review with us.

We appreciate your kind compliments towards our team member- Gabby. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We will be sure to let her know that she has made an impact during your stay.

Looking forward to your next stay for us to be in service to you again.

Regards,
Belinda Fung
General Manager
Dorsett Grand Chengdu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

My friend and I stayed for 5 nights and glad we did! Hotel is located steps away from Luomashi metro station exit F. Walkable distance to city center and other sights (although about 40 mins).

We got 2 twin beds but the rooms are cool and clean. Staff is courteous. Unfortunately, we didn't get to check out the pools or spa due to lack of time. Would definitely stay again!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank thewendymak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl_COMM, Communications at Dorsett Grand Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Dear thewendymak,

Thank you for sharing this review with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during your last trip to Chengdu. Will definitely looking forward to your next stay so that you can experience more of our facilities.

Thank you and hope to be in service to you again.

Regards,
Belinda Fung
General Manager
Dorsett Grand Chengdu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018

For the price this hotel was very pleasing but I certainly wouldn't consider it a 4 star hotel. Stayed 2 nights. Receptionist spoke good english.

The room was a king room - huge! Amazing city views from the bedroom and the bathroom. The carpet was stained and quite dirty, the decor certainly hasn't been updated in some time. Bed was super comfy though! WiFi connection was good.

I wouldn't recommend the restaurants if you are only English speaking. The staff didn't speak any and it was quite hard to communicate what we wanted to order or ask any questions on the menu. There are however so amazing restaurants directly opposite the hotel which are well worth trying!

Location is good - right next to a metro station which accessed us to the Panda Research Base and to the main stations to get the train to Leshan.

Room tip: Get a city view room!
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hfwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl_COMM, Communications at Dorsett Grand Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Dear hfwatson,

Thank you for sharing this review with us.

I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive. However, I am disappointed to know that our cleanliness as well as the English language proficiency among the team members didn't meet your expectations. This critical feedback will be used in training our staff.

Thank you once again and looking forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Belinda Fung
General Manager
Dorsett Grand Chengdu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

Our stay at Dorsett Grand was lovely.
I can’t believe it’s a 4 Star hotel, felt like 5 star.

We booked very last minute - literally an hour before we check in (we had problem with our AirBnb and decided to move out), and got upgraded from Standard to Suite.
We’re very lucky.
Initially we only booked one night as a temporary accomodation until our AirBnb house is sorted, but ended up extending to 4 nights.
The hotel lets us keep the upgraded room for the extra 3 nights which is really amazing, unexpectedly great service!

The Hotel itself is clean, staffs are very polite and very helpful. Our room is always cleaned everyday, even on days where we literally left house at 4pm, impressive.
The bed was comfortable, they also provided 6+ different kind of pillow if you’re into it.
The location is great, literally next to the Luo Ma Shi metro station, which is 3 stops with 1 change to Chunxi Road, probably about 15 minutes journey end to end.

Staffs booked a taxi for our early morning flight, everything was taken care of. No fuss checkout.

If there’s a downside, the cleaners don’t speak English, only the front desk staffs spoke English. No big deal as the cleaner simply calls front desk to explain to us on English.

Overall it was a fantastic classic hotel. I don’t even know why we didn’t choose this hotel to start with.
The price was only slightly more expensive than an Airbnb with superhost, and we could’ve got excellent service!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank MsBubbleMint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl_COMM, Communications at Dorsett Grand Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Dear MsBubbleMint,

Thank you so much for sharing this review with us.

I am sorry to hear about your encounter with Airbnb but am glad that you have chosen to stay with Dorsett Grand Chengdu during your last visit to Chengdu. It is our pleasure to ensure that your stay was a memorable one.

Thank you once again and looking forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Belinda Fung
General Manager
Dorsett Grand Chengdu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews