We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tianfu Sunshine Hotel
Ranked #38 of 2,754 Hotels in Chengdu
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I am very pleased with my selection of this hotel during my recent trip to Chengdu, after reading the reviews. The room is nice and clean, with free Wi-Fi, and the buffet breakfast is quite good. The staff is friendly and eager to help. One even helped us to secure the seats for the opera on the night of our arrival. We were not able to learn to use the public transportation (unlike Shanghai), so we used the cabs most of the time. Some cab drivers do not know the hotel name, so make sure you have the hotel name/address with you. Overall, a nice hotel in Chengdu to stay in.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 369 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

For a one-night stopover in Chengdu to see the pandas, the Tianfu Sunshine Hotel offers a night’s stay at a very reasonable cost.

We had reserved a deluxe room with a king bed and were assigned a room in the business center of the hotel, which is a separate building across the parking area. We had a living room with couch, coffee table & sitting chairs, a separate bedroom and bathroom and kitchenette with table and chairs. The rooms were clean but they had a musty smell and feel. Free internet is offered if you have a laptop – a cable is supplied.

There is a plentiful breakfast buffet with American and Chinese foods including local specialties so if you are adventuresome, you can have an eating adventure. The western style food that we ate was barely warm and average in taste and preparation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Journeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Nice classy hotel, friendly and helpful staff, really clean and comfortable rooms with REALLY comfortable beds and a great breakfast. What more could you want!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aldersbarnboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We booked 3 rooms through Agoda with extra bed for one room and when we arrived, the rooms were ready and next to each other as requested. As we spoke Mandarin, the staffs were very friendly and able to explain breakfast arrangements, shopping centre and where to get Bus 902 to Panda Base Centre. Bus 902 takes a long time to get there. I believe they have English speaking receptionist too. The rooms were clean, breakfast was a mixture of Western & local dishes. Hot water shower is no problem and when we requested for extra towels, they delivered promptly. Hotel is nearby to all amenities, including 7 Eleven just across the road and shopping mall 20 minutes walk away. There are several local restaurants nearby and Pizza Hut and MacDonald are within walking distance. Taxi is readily available. You can arrange local tours from the tour company inside the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors but we do not hear any traffic even though you can see lots of cars from the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DoctorOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed three times here. The hotel tries very hard to please and doesn't disappoint. The breakfast is varied and good (crispy bacon, noodle soups cooked to order!) and as noted by others, the beds are divine by China standards. The ala carte western food at the restaurant is also surprisingly decent if you need a change from local fare. The staff are very helpful and the hitch we had on one occasion with pre-booked interconnecting rooms being unavailable was compensated with an offering of fruit. It deserves the four star rating in my book (unlike many other so-called four star properties in China). A few mins by taxi to the major shopping areas or walk using the hotel-provided walking map.

Room Tip: Book and re-confirm - occupancy levels seem high
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMLTreadlightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

The Tianfu hotel has the most comfortable beds we have come across in China till so far. Did we have a couple of good night sleeps! The hotel doesn't look much from the outside, but once you are inside, it is quite classy. Althought the hotel is at a busy intersection, you don't hear the traffic at all.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Qcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Very nice hotel with bed comfortable which is unusual for China. Small room but well organize. You have everything you need. Internet with cable in the room, TV with english channels, pool was closed, good breakfast. We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank milorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
0.7 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#13 of 2,754 in Chengdu
366 reviews
1 mi away
Tibet Hotel
Tibet Hotel
#21 of 2,754 in Chengdu
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
#34 of 2,754 in Chengdu
74 reviews
3.7 mi away
Oakwood Residence Funder Chengdu
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tianfu Sunshine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tianfu Sunshine Hotel

Address: No.2 Taisheng North Road, Chengdu 610017, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range: $50 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tianfu Sunshine Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Tianfu Sunshine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tianfu Sunshine Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing